PDA

View Full Version : What is the development model?

awy
2007-04-05, 08:08
I started using SlimServer and SoftSqueeze at the end of last year. The functionality of the server convinced me, at least for some part of my audio requirements, that buying some hardware SlimDevices products was worthwhile. I have since acquired a couple of SliMP3s off eBay and am looking for another one and a wireless SqueezeBox.

I am not however, likely to become a significant SlimDevices customer. The price point of an SB3 (never mind a Transporter) does not pass the value-for-money test for my personal requirements. With the possible addition of wireless, the SliMP3 has just the functionality I need I guess that is an SB1. I particularly like the ease with which one can remove the supplied facia and built it into some other enclosure.

I am very interested in improving the functionality and usability of the complete solution. I am an experienced programmer, including the delivery of commercial solutions written in Perl. My current major point of interest is multi-player synchronization (see http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=192235), but I suspect that I am likely to be interested in other issues too.

I am struggling to understand the development model for SlimServer. How much is it a SlimDevices piece of software (leaving aside plugins), developed and maintained (almost) exclusively by SlimDevices staff, versus an open-source community project? I understand the commercial issues involved here, having previously worked for an company whose product was part community-developed and maintained. What I would like to get a better feeling for, is the practical reality with regard to the degree of cooperation and involvement of non-SlimDevices staff.