PDA

View Full Version : Homeplugs



Trevor
2007-04-05, 07:32
Hello everyone!
I bought a Squeezebox last week and think it's brilliant! The only problem is that I haven't done much work for the last week!
Anyway, I'm thinking about buying some Homeplugs for my network to get a better signal between my SB and router.

I'm thinking of getting a pair of
Fla85 - HomePlug TURBO 85Mbps
http://www.homeplugs.co.uk/acatalog/Solwise_HomePlugs.html
for just 46.6 + VAT

Does anyone have any experience of these?
Or should I go for one of the more expensive types?

Cheers,
Trev

Smiffy
2007-04-05, 08:12
Hi Trevor,

I have been using three of those for over 6 months and have had no problems at all streaming music or Radio.

Go for the bulk buy option it's cheeper. :-)

Grumps
2007-04-05, 08:28
Hi Trevor
I've had no probs with the NetgearHDXB101-100UKS. Been running with them since last Oct.

Heuer
2007-04-05, 08:51
I have been using the Devolo 85Mbit High Speed units for about 12 months - great bits of kit and they work perfectly with the SB3 (mine is in a Wi-Fi black spot in a metal equipment rack).

Ur[s]uS
2007-04-05, 15:59
i can recommend solwise - but i got mine direct from them
http://www.solwise.co.uk/net-powerline.htm
the 85mbps beats my wifi-g network
i got a triple ethernet plug for the living room (htpc, sb3 and spare)
i have had no problems at all - plug and play

Pale Blue Ego
2007-04-05, 16:36
I've been using the Netgear XE-102 units for several years with zero issues.

Andyb01
2007-04-06, 09:10
Been using the 14Mbps ones for ages - in fact sold all my wireless kit and swapped to these - not a single network problem since. I love 'em - you plug them in and they just work - straight out of the box.

Got mine here:

http://linitx.com/product_info.php?cPath=13&products_id=927&osCsid=5dc25831e33929c9f7c7921320543f6e

If you are not loading huge files across your network the 14Mbps solution is fine for squeezebox and cost a good deal less.

Andy

Trevor
2007-04-10, 11:24
Thanks for all your comments everyone.
It seems that no-one has any problems with home-plugs
I've decided to go for
Fla85 - HomePlug TURBO 85Mbps
(2 * 23.30 + VAT)
As I probably will need to transfer large amounts of data across my network.
I'll let you know how I get on.
Trev

Club1820
2007-04-10, 11:50
Forgive my ingnorance...but what are home plugs and how do they work?

Thanks!

bpa
2007-04-10, 11:59
Just like wireless - homeplug have a variation in speeds depending on your wiring - 85Mbps is the theoretical max.

See the following for an idea on perf.

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/24208/51/

bklaas
2007-04-10, 12:01
Forgive my ingnorance...but what are home plugs and how do they work?

Thanks!

ethernet over power lines. in other words, using existing outlets in your house to push IP data. For more, wikipedia is your friend:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HomePlug

cheers,
#!/ben

Club1820
2007-04-10, 13:37
ok. thanks. that's what I thought they were - just wasnt sure. thanks again.

davidcotton
2007-04-11, 00:27
Thanks for all your comments everyone.
It seems that no-one has any problems with home-plugs
I've decided to go for
Fla85 - HomePlug TURBO 85Mbps
(2 * 23.30 + VAT)
As I probably will need to transfer large amounts of data across my network.
I'll let you know how I get on.
Trev

Was just wondering where you ordered from?

Trevor
2007-04-16, 04:43
Update:
I bought 2 homeplugs from :
http://www.homeplugs.co.uk/acatalog/homeplugs.html?gclid=CK3jn4bcq4sCFQTtlAodOxSrNg

And they worked perfectly.
I just connected one to my router upstairs and plugged the other into the electricity socket downstairs - immediate network!
Both plugs came with CDs but I never bothered looking at them.

Highly recommended!
------------------


Perhaps some of the more adventurous of you would like to try out connecting your slimserver to the new Google Toilet Internet Service Provider (TiSP) technology:
http://www.google.com/tisp/install.html

weager
2007-04-16, 04:54
Hey trevor..

I'm thinking about getting some of these myself... Did you go for the
wireless version or is it plugged directly into your SB...

Are you going straight into the walls or through extension leads too?

Thanks

Richard


On 16/4/07 12:43, "Trevor"
<Trevor.2p4scz1176723901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> Update:
> I bought 2 homeplugs from :
> http://www.homeplugs.co.uk/acatalog/homeplugs.html?gclid=CK3jn4bcq4sCFQTtlAodO
> xSrNg
>
> And they worked perfectly.
> I just connected one to my router upstairs and plugged the other into
> the electricity socket downstairs - immediate network!
> Both plugs came with CDs but I never bothered looking at them.
>
> Highly recommended!
> ------------------
>
>
> Perhaps some of the more adventurous of you would like to try out
> connecting your slimserver to the new Google Toilet Internet Service
> Provider (TiSP) technology:
> http://www.google.com/tisp/install.html
>

Trevor
2007-04-16, 08:27
Hi Richard.
The version I bought connects direct to my Squeezebox using a standard ethernet cable.
I don't have it connected via any extension leads as I read somewhere (maybe in the instructions, I can't remember) that this was not recomended. Also, definately, don't have the Homeplugs running through a surge-protected extension lead.

Good luck.
Trevor

Ur[s]uS
2007-04-16, 13:34
Hi Richard.
The version I bought connects direct to my Squeezebox using a standard ethernet cable.
I don't have it connected via any extension leads as I read somewhere (maybe in the instructions, I can't remember) that this was not recomended. Also, definately, don't have the Homeplugs running through a surge-protected extension lead.

Good luck.
Trevor

it would have been in the instructions and in this forum, regarding extension/surge-protection leads
really happy with them - I got mine from Solwise in the UK

Pale Blue Ego
2007-04-16, 13:47
Both plugs came with CDs but I never bothered looking at them.


Right, they work perfectly just by plugging them in.

BUT - you may want to check the CD anyway. My Netgear homeplugs came with software that allows you to encrypt and password-protect the network. That might be a good idea, just for safety's sake.

bergek
2007-04-16, 14:08
I don't have it connected via any extension leads as I read somewhere (maybe in the instructions, I can't remember) that this was not recomended.

I read that too but tested with 150ft of extension cords. Even connected a microwave oven and a hair blower in the middle of the extension cords without noticing any degradation of quality. Zero packet loss, 50Mbps throughput and <5ms latency.

What I did have problem with was certain outlets and I think it was due to being on different electrical circuits.

YMMV of course.

pedalvet
2007-04-16, 16:00
I used this technology very happily for some time, then it suddenly quit working. Could never figure out why. I upgraded from the 14 mbps type to the 85 mbps ones and it didn't help.

It was rock solid for over a year, and a huge improvement over a very flaky (long distance) wireless connection.

I gave up and ran ethernet.

For anyone who's interested, I have 2 Netgear XE103s I'd be happy to sell. They are 85 mbps. No problem with the hardware (they work for most rooms in my house, just not the den where my squeezebox is!).

I also have 3 Belkins (not sure of the model, but they're 14mbps).

PM me if interested.

gw43
2007-05-08, 07:51
I'm thinking of going down this route, as my wireless can be a bit flaky, with signal strength between 20% - 60%.

Do you connect router -> homeplug and homeplug -> Squeezebox with patch cables or crossover cables?

Pale Blue Ego
2007-05-08, 09:58
You just use regular ethernet cables.

lyteroptes
2007-05-16, 07:52
I've no idea why but my SB3 is rubbish over Homeplugs. It would be connecting to a SlimServer also on a Homeplug and that works well when going wirelessly for the SB3 part.

Curious - the plug itself seems OK as it's in use the rest of the time on my son's laptop.