PDA

View Full Version : Audio archive server



Todd Fields
2003-12-31, 14:57
--- Jason Holtzapple <jasonholtzapple (AT) yahoo (DOT) com>
wrote:
> I would definitely consider a mirror (either RAID 1
> or
> cold mirror w/rsync) instead of RAID 0. It is twice

I've been using RAID 0 on my last three systems. It
finally bit me when my latest motherboard failed. I
bought a new motherboard but because it does not have
the same RAID controller I cannot get any of the
information from the drives. Luckily I had backed up
my 80GB of music but there were some files on there
that were not backed upn (although nothing critical.)

I'm not sure if I had been running RAID 1 if I would
still be in the same boat or not. Can you take a
drive that was in a RAID 1 and just plug it into any
IDE channel and access the data or once it's been put
into an array do you need the RAID controller to
access the drive?

In any case my computer I'm building now has RAID but
I'm not using it. I like the RAID system because I
can connect more devices but I'm not setting up any
arrays. I'm just buying bigger hard drives. I will
have to manually back up though (which I'm pretty good about.)

__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Protect your identity with Yahoo! Mail AddressGuard
http://antispam.yahoo.com/whatsnewfree

Jack Coates
2003-12-31, 15:13
On Wed, 2003-12-31 at 13:57, Todd Fields wrote:
> --- Jason Holtzapple <jasonholtzapple (AT) yahoo (DOT) com>
> wrote:
> > I would definitely consider a mirror (either RAID 1
> > or
> > cold mirror w/rsync) instead of RAID 0. It is twice
>
> I've been using RAID 0 on my last three systems. It
> finally bit me when my latest motherboard failed. I
> bought a new motherboard but because it does not have
> the same RAID controller I cannot get any of the
> information from the drives. Luckily I had backed up
> my 80GB of music but there were some files on there
> that were not backed upn (although nothing critical.)
>
> I'm not sure if I had been running RAID 1 if I would
> still be in the same boat or not. Can you take a
> drive that was in a RAID 1 and just plug it into any
> IDE channel and access the data or once it's been put
> into an array do you need the RAID controller to
> access the drive?

There are two types of RAID -- software RAID and hardware RAID. Soft
RAID is generally fairly reliable but performance is relatively poor.
Hardware RAID is generally expensive, but works well.

Then there's what comes integrated on the motherboard, which goes by a
lot of names, generally all four-lettered. Ain't no point buying that
junk.
--
Jack at Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
************************************************** ********************
* "We both said I love you, the Shriners loaned us cars, we raced up *
* and down the sidewalk twenty thousand million times." *
* -- She's An Angel by They Might Be Giants *
************************************************** ********************