PDA

View Full Version : Any good tuning guides for slimserver ? Very slow browse response times on Linkstatio

ben2e
2007-03-30, 22:04
I've got Slimserver running on a Gigabit Linkstation (PowerPC) with < 4000 tracks. I've searched for suggestions tuning but only seen lengthy arguments on MySql or Perl. I have some experience with both pieces of software and it's hard to believe either would take 10 seconds to respond to a browse command (browse music folder being the slowest) under any normal circumstance. I realize a linkstation doesn't have a super fast processor but a top command shows very little memory being used. I was hoping someone had posted a tuning guide since it seems there are reasonably savy Linux folks out there.

Thanks,

Ben

ben2e
2007-03-31, 01:46
I just did some simple browse tests and they seem to peg the CPU. %idle goes to 0 and the slimserver process spikes. I've also seen folks mention a my.tt file but I'm unable to find it. I have a slimserver/SQL/mysql directory but I can find no mysql configuration files. Perhaps the version I'm using (6.5.0 I believe) uses SQLite.

erland
2007-03-31, 01:52
I just did some simple browse tests and they seem to peg the CPU. %idle goes to 0 and the slimserver process spikes. I've also seen folks mention a my.tt file but I'm unable to find it. I have a slimserver/SQL/mysql directory but I can find no mysql configuration files. Perhaps the version I'm using (6.5.0 I believe) uses SQLite.

6.5.0 uses MySQL.
The my.tt file is found in slimserver/MySQL directory (not slimserver/SQL/mysql), but I'm not sure if its placed somewhere else on Linkstation.

ben2e
2007-03-31, 09:51
Which is probably why I don't see MySql. I'll have to investigate if there is any way to update things. I'm clumsy with Debian. If I try to install mysql-server-5.0 I get a zillion dependency failures. Perhaps due to FreeLink for the Linkstation being old ? I'll investigate further.

shake-the-disease
2007-05-02, 22:11