PDA

View Full Version : Broken Slim



David Drummond
2003-12-30, 15:43
Kevin,

Why is it that the MAC address shown by my SliMP3's differs from that shown
in the logs of my Linux DHCP service? There appears to be no correlation at
all between the two addresses (well, 4 addresses, I have two SliMP3s)....

David

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of kdf
Sent: Wednesday, 31 December 2003 8:33 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Broken Slim


Quoting Matt Shaw <Yahoo (AT) chercott (DOT) com>:

> Held down the brightness button (not much happened - other than it
> seemed to pause for a bit - so I think I did that bit right) but
> unfortunately it still makes popping sounds.
>
> Ideas anyone? Or a UK contact I can send it to, to get it fixed....
>
> Yours unhappily
>
> Matt.
brightness works for squeezebox. for slimp3, you have to unplug the power,
press and hold a button on the remote while you plug back in. It should
then
display the MAC address. Find the upgrade_firmware.pl file, or the "update
firmware" button 9for win32 or osx). run upgrade_firmware.pl or click the
update button and follow the instructions. If asked for the MAC address,
use
the one displayed on the slimp3

cheers,
kdf

dean
2003-12-30, 15:52
The MAC address shown in the user interface is for the ethernet
interface in the unit, which we use to uniquely identify the player.

That may not be the MAC address used by the wireless card to
communicate with the server, and depending on other devices in your
network (bridges, NAT) the MAC address may get munged again.

-dean



On Dec 30, 2003, at 2:43 PM, David Drummond wrote:
> Kevin,
>
> Why is it that the MAC address shown by my SliMP3's differs from that
> shown
> in the logs of my Linux DHCP service? There appears to be no
> correlation at
> all between the two addresses (well, 4 addresses, I have two
> SliMP3s)....
>
> David
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of kdf
> Sent: Wednesday, 31 December 2003 8:33 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Broken Slim
>
>
> Quoting Matt Shaw <Yahoo (AT) chercott (DOT) com>:
>
>> Held down the brightness button (not much happened - other than it
>> seemed to pause for a bit - so I think I did that bit right) but
>> unfortunately it still makes popping sounds.
>>
>> Ideas anyone? Or a UK contact I can send it to, to get it fixed....
>>
>> Yours unhappily
>>
>> Matt.
> brightness works for squeezebox. for slimp3, you have to unplug the
> power,
> press and hold a button on the remote while you plug back in. It
> should
> then
> display the MAC address. Find the upgrade_firmware.pl file, or the
> "update
> firmware" button 9for win32 or osx). run upgrade_firmware.pl or click
> the
> update button and follow the instructions. If asked for the MAC
> address,
> use
> the one displayed on the slimp3
>
> cheers,
> kdf
>

seanadams
2003-12-30, 15:58
What MACs are you seeing? All of our addresses should start with
00:04:20

And no, we're not stoners, that's just the number we got.


On Dec 30, 2003, at 2:43 PM, David Drummond wrote:

> Kevin,
>
> Why is it that the MAC address shown by my SliMP3's differs from that
> shown
> in the logs of my Linux DHCP service? There appears to be no
> correlation at
> all between the two addresses (well, 4 addresses, I have two
> SliMP3s)....
>
> David
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of kdf
> Sent: Wednesday, 31 December 2003 8:33 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Broken Slim
>
>
> Quoting Matt Shaw <Yahoo (AT) chercott (DOT) com>:
>
>> Held down the brightness button (not much happened - other than it
>> seemed to pause for a bit - so I think I did that bit right) but
>> unfortunately it still makes popping sounds.
>>
>> Ideas anyone? Or a UK contact I can send it to, to get it fixed....
>>
>> Yours unhappily
>>
>> Matt.
> brightness works for squeezebox. for slimp3, you have to unplug the
> power,
> press and hold a button on the remote while you plug back in. It
> should
> then
> display the MAC address. Find the upgrade_firmware.pl file, or the
> "update
> firmware" button 9for win32 or osx). run upgrade_firmware.pl or click
> the
> update button and follow the instructions. If asked for the MAC
> address,
> use
> the one displayed on the slimp3
>
> cheers,
> kdf
>

kdf
2003-12-30, 16:01
Quoting David Drummond <D.Drummond (AT) sga (DOT) edu.au>:

> Kevin,
>
> Why is it that the MAC address shown by my SliMP3's differs from that shown
> in the logs of my Linux DHCP service? There appears to be no correlation at
> all between the two addresses (well, 4 addresses, I have two SliMP3s)....
>
> David
>

Well, that could depend on how your network is wired, I suppose. Do you have a
wireless bridge connected to the slimp3? If so, some bridges will only allow
firmware update over wireless if you use the bridge MAC during the update.
Others work with the slimp3 MAC. If you have the slimp3's each wired to a hub,
which in turn is also connected to your server, then the MAC addressed should be
the same.

kdf