PDA

View Full Version : Short bursts of white noise



Braidy
2007-03-20, 15:15
I've been very impressed with the SB3 but I'm suffering from very short bursts of white noise or spikes at fairly frequent and irregular intervals.

I've upgraded my broadband service to the fastest available and no microwave or phone is being used when it happens.

My router channel is 1 and my neighbours (I live in an apartment block) are either 6 or 11 (does that counts as close?).

Can anyone help with diagnosing this - my enjoyment of the music is being rather curtailed.

Thanks.

snarlydwarf
2007-03-20, 15:50
Interference on the 802.11g side won't cause white noise: it will cause ... silence. (ie, there are a few layers of error correcting going on, if the data is mangled by a microwave oven, the packet will be retried until it gets through or the network is deemed unable to exist...)

What sort of connection do you have between the SB and the amp? Sure everything is tight? What sort of file are you playing? Does it sound okay on a PC with Winamp/WMP/iTunes/whatever?

Braidy
2007-03-21, 01:38
The SB3 is connected via Coax to a Perpetual Technologies DAC which then goes into my CD input of my amp.

I've just checked all connections at the back and they are solid but the interference does sound like a dodgy cable being moved around. Except that nothing is being moved.

I ripped about 4000 songs with AIFF until I realised that I should have used Apple Lossless so there's now an additional 5000 tracks on that format.

The music is on a QNAP TS201.

Thanks for help!

Braidy
2007-03-21, 01:39
Oh, and the noise isn't inherent on the tracks themselves. They play fine on my 'puter.

ceejay
2007-03-21, 01:47
The next thing I'd try would be to link the analog out from the SB directly to the amp. If you amp has a spare input you could just run it in parallel and switch between the two, both SB outputs are always active.

I appreciate this may not be your desired config, but it would potentially allow you to eliminate some or all of the files, the link from server to SB, the DAC and the cable as being at fault.

Ceejay

cliveb
2007-03-21, 04:40
Oh, and the noise isn't inherent on the tracks themselves. They play fine on my 'puter.
There are so many possible points of failure that the first thing you need to do is figure out at what stage the problem is being introduced. You need to be systematic about diagnosing this.

1. Do you get a burst of white noise at the same point every time you play a specific track? If you do, then there's something about the data in that file which is tripping up the Squeezebox (irrespective of the fact that they play OK on your computer). If you don't (ie. the bursts seem random), then...

2. Do you get white noise bursts from the Squeezebox analogue output? If you do, then it sounds like an intermittent fault inside the Squeezebox. If you don't, then...

3. Try a different coax cable between SB and DAC. If that fixes things, then it was a dodgy cable. If you still get the white noise, then either the SB digital output is faulty, or the DAC is somehow having a hard time locking on to it. If you can borrow another DAC from someone else, try that. If the white noise goes away, it means the problem is with your DAC; if it stays, the problem is with the SB.

Braidy
2007-03-21, 05:10
Thanks so much for the advice. I'll try and found out where the culprit is over the next few days. Really don't want it to be the DAC as it sounds so good!

Braidy
2007-03-22, 11:36
I'm currently listening to Alien BBC (both Radio 6 and 5) and am still experiencing the short bursts of interference.

Also, I've plugged the analogue cables directly into the amp so have ruled out all of the following ....

The coax. cable
The DAC
The tracks themselves

Can anyone help explain where the interference may be coming from?

Tarn
2007-03-22, 12:01
If you've got one, you could try a different amp.

MrSinatra
2007-03-22, 12:55
i use analog outs.

i have noticed lil bits of white noise or pops or whatever you want to call them pretty regularly on the SB, and have just gotten used to the annoyance. (i don't mind it too much since usually my stereo is no more than moderately loud and b/c it doesn't seem to happen often during the music)

for me, they seem to happen most when SB is having trouble playing a net stream, ~ when it starts or stops.

i've also noticed it other times, like when you stop it suddenly.

i'll try to pay better attention and let you know when all it does it for me, if its beyond what i said above.

Millwood
2007-03-22, 14:23
Not withstanding the previous poster, the SB3 should not be making white noise, or any other artifacts. Mine certainly don't, and I'm sure that others working properly don't either.

cliveb
2007-03-23, 01:28
I'm currently listening to Alien BBC (both Radio 6 and 5) and am still experiencing the short bursts of interference.

Also, I've plugged the analogue cables directly into the amp so have ruled out all of the following ....

The coax. cable
The DAC
The tracks themselves

Can anyone help explain where the interference may be coming from?
And I take it that your amp doesn't produce these bursts of noise when it's playing from other sources? If that is true, then something is amiss inside the Squeezebox.

Before assuming that it's faulty, there are a number of things you can do. Perhaps reprogramming the Xilinx processor is worth trying. I've never had to do it myself, so don't remember the exact procedure, but I think you hold down the '1' key on the remote while applying power to the SB - someone else will be able to clarify this.

There were also some reports of daughter boards working loose, so you could try opening up the SB to check that everything is seated securely.

Braidy
2007-03-23, 01:56
My QNAP has now died (last night). Do you think the interference might have been caused by a NAS on its way out?

cliveb
2007-03-23, 04:31
My QNAP has now died (last night). Do you think the interference might have been caused by a NAS on its way out?
I don't use AlienBBC, and don't know how much the server is involved when playing those streams. (I seem to have the impression that it has to transcode the data - but I might have completely misunderstood).

Perhaps the next thing to try would be to play something over SqueezeNetwork - that would eliminate your SlimServer from the equation.

Braidy
2007-03-23, 06:00
Good idea. My Slimserver is dead now, though. I'll see whether I get the same problem when I get my QNAP back.

Mark Lanctot
2007-03-23, 12:41
Good idea. My Slimserver is dead now, though. I'll see whether I get the same problem when I get my QNAP back.

SqueezeNetwork should still work though - and if it's OK, that eliminates the Squeezebox hardware.