PDA

View Full Version : Broken Slim



Matt Shaw
2003-12-30, 15:23
Held down the brightness button (not much happened - other than it
seemed to pause for a bit - so I think I did that bit right) but
unfortunately it still makes popping sounds.

Ideas anyone? Or a UK contact I can send it to, to get it fixed....

Yours unhappily

Matt.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Bruce
Hartley
Sent: 30 December 2003 22:05
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Broken Slim


just hold down the brightness button and it reloads the firmware from
the server.

"Matt Shaw" <Yahoo (AT) chercott (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:000201c3cf16$23a51f40$0200a8c0 (AT) Chercott (DOT) local...
> Thank you Felix, no, it hasn't been suggested before..... And it might

> be a stupid question - but where do I find a file to refresh the
> firmware?

kdf
2003-12-30, 15:32
Quoting Matt Shaw <Yahoo (AT) chercott (DOT) com>:

> Held down the brightness button (not much happened - other than it
> seemed to pause for a bit - so I think I did that bit right) but
> unfortunately it still makes popping sounds.
>
> Ideas anyone? Or a UK contact I can send it to, to get it fixed....
>
> Yours unhappily
>
> Matt.
brightness works for squeezebox. for slimp3, you have to unplug the power,
press and hold a button on the remote while you plug back in. It should then
display the MAC address. Find the upgrade_firmware.pl file, or the "update
firmware" button 9for win32 or osx). run upgrade_firmware.pl or click the
update button and follow the instructions. If asked for the MAC address, use
the one displayed on the slimp3

cheers,
kdf

kdf
2003-12-30, 15:32
Quoting Matt Shaw <Yahoo (AT) chercott (DOT) com>:

> Held down the brightness button (not much happened - other than it
> seemed to pause for a bit - so I think I did that bit right) but
> unfortunately it still makes popping sounds.
>
> Ideas anyone? Or a UK contact I can send it to, to get it fixed....
>
> Yours unhappily
>
> Matt.
brightness works for squeezebox. for slimp3, you have to unplug the power,
press and hold a button on the remote while you plug back in. It should then
display the MAC address. Find the upgrade_firmware.pl file, or the "update
firmware" button 9for win32 or osx). run upgrade_firmware.pl or click the
update button and follow the instructions. If asked for the MAC address, use
the one displayed on the slimp3

cheers,
kdf