PDA

View Full Version : SB3 freeze and reset after 6.5.2 upgrade



Tarus
2007-03-16, 22:52
I have two Squeezebox v3 (~18 months old). Until last Sunday I was using the Slimserver v6.2.1 and everything was fine. I've then decided to install the Softsqueeze 3.3 which made me upgrade to the slimserver to v6.5.2.(or at least I thought I did but I ended up apparently with 6.5.1)

Since then one of the Squeezebox keeps hanging then resetting as soon as a play a file (FLAC) (i.e. anywhere between 2secs and 2 minutes into playing the song) from the slimserver or from Internet radios. Navigating through the menus doesn't cause the reset. Sometimes when the box hangs the display flashes or displays garbage or display lines (noise) in every direction then turns blank the the box resets. The sound turns sometimes into noise too. I've changed the power supply (using the other one) but it still hangs then resets.
I have the impression that the box resets because I see the Squeezebox logo when it comes back up. Also sometimes it comes back up instantly, sometimes it can take 1 or 2 minutes or so. The remote at that time isn't responsive so I can't turn it back on with it. But if I unplug the power cable (after it has hang) and plug it back on it boots instantly.

The other Squeezebox runs as good as before. I didn't changed any of the hardware configuration when these problems started to appear but just as a test I've swapped both squeezebox. The faulty one keeps faulting even at the new "location".

Here is some information on my setup:
Faulty Squeezebox v3:
- Connected through wireless to a linksys router (this always worked before the slimserver upgrade). No hardware changes were made.
Signal Strength:~70%
- Gets IP address through DHCP
- Slimserver appears to be v6.5.1 (although I've installed a 6.5.2 archive)running on Windows XP SP2
- Firmware version: 72
- Mac address: 00 04 20 06 3D CF
- Connected through the analog outputs to a Harman/Kardon AVR340 and also tried to a Harman/Kardon AVR7300.

The working Squeezebox v3:
- Connected through wireless to a linksys wireless router (this always worked before the slimserver upgrade). No hardware changes were made.
Signal Strength:~80%
- Gets IP address through DHCP
- Slimserver v 6.5.1 running on Windows XP SP2
- Firmware version: 72
- Mac Address: 00 04 20 06 3C 3E
- Connected through the analog outputs to a Harman/Kardon AVR7300.

Slimserver:
- I'm pretty sure that I have installed the 6.5.2 archive (I still have the archive so I can send the checksum if necessary) but I read:
SlimServer Version: 6.5.1 - 11206 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252
Server IP address: 155.165.175.110
Perl Version: 5.8.8 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt
- Running on a Celeron 1.6GHz (dedicated to just that. CPU load 2-3%)
- 512MB of RAM
- 98% of Data is encoded with FLAC. The rest are MP3s.

Basically how can I debug this? Is there a way to log what's happening in the squeezebox before the resetoccurs? The fact that one works and the other doesn't, puzzles me.

So far I've ran slimserver with debug (C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server>slim.exe --d_startup) and I've checked in all the debug messages in the server settings "debugging". This is the ouput that I get:

C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server>slim.exe --d_startup
Got @INC containing:
C:/Program Files/SlimServer/server
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server

Extended @INC to contain:
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\CPAN\arch\5.8\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\CPAN\arch\5.8\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\auto
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\CPAN\arch\5.8.8\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\CPAN\arch\5.8.8\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\auto

<snip>...(no errors)

Loaded module: [Time::HiRes] ok!
Loaded module: [DBD::mysql] ok!
Loaded module: [DBI] ok!
Loaded module: [XML::Parser::Expat] ok!
Loaded module: [HTML::Parser] ok!
Loaded module: [Compress::Zlib] ok!
Loaded module: [Digest::SHA1] ok!
Loaded module: [YAML::Syck] ok!
Loaded module: [GD] ok!
Loaded module: [Locale::Hebrew] ok!

<snip>...(no errors)

Loaded module: [Slim::Utils::PerlRunTime] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Rescan] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RS232::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::PreventStandby::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::MusicMagic::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Visualizer] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::CLI] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Snow] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Rhapsody::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RandomPlay::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RPC] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Health::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::DateTime::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RadioIO::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::SavePlaylist] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Podcast::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::DigitalInput::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::xPL] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Picks::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RssNews] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Live365::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::LMA::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::ShoutcastBrowser::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RadioTime::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Visualizer] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::iTunes::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::CLI] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Snow] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Rhapsody::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RandomPlay::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RPC] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Health::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::DateTime::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RadioIO::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::SavePlaylist] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Podcast::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::SlimTris] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::MoodLogic::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::DigitalInput::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::xPL] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Picks::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RssNews] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::Live365::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::LMA::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::ShoutcastBrowser::Plugin] ok!
Loaded module: [Plugins::RadioTime::Plugin] ok!
2007-03-15 22:53:45.6240 The URL to access SlimServer is now:

http://Squeeze-server:9000/
Loaded module: [Slim::Display::Squeezebox2] ok!
Loaded module: [Slim::Display::Squeezebox2] ok!
Loaded module: [Slim::Formats::FLAC] ok!

After this the file played for about 20sec. Then the board reset and it continued to play and reset again... but strangely it is not logged here.
Then I've synchronized the two squeezebox to play the exact same song. One keeps playing and the other one keeps resetting every 20seconds.

I've let this run all night last night and I got this additional information this morning:

2007-03-16 07:56:47.0648 Backtrace:

frame 0: Slim::Utils::Misc::assert (/PerlApp/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 68)
frame 1: Slim::Hardware::IR::enqueue (/PerlApp/Slim/Networking/Slimproto.pm l
ine 469)
frame 2: Slim::Networking::Slimproto::_ir_handler (/PerlApp/Slim/Networking/S
limproto.pm line 387)
frame 3: Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (/PerlApp/Slim/Networki
ng/Select.pm line 238)
frame 4: (eval) (/PerlApp/Slim/Networking/Select.pm line 238)
frame 5: Slim::Networking::Select::select (slimserver.pl line 492)
frame 6: main::idle (slimserver.pl line 445)
frame 7: main::main (slimserver.pl line 58)
frame 8: PerlSvc::Interactive (perlsvc.pl line 1486)
frame 9: PerlSvc::_interactive (slimserver.pl line 0)
frame 10: (eval) (slimserver.pl line 0)

Here's the problem. /PerlApp/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm, line 68:


2007-03-16 08:06:29.0027 Backtrace:

frame 0: Slim::Utils::Misc::assert (/PerlApp/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 68)
frame 1: Slim::Hardware::IR::enqueue (/PerlApp/Slim/Networking/Slimproto.pm l
ine 469)
frame 2: Slim::Networking::Slimproto::_ir_handler (/PerlApp/Slim/Networking/S
limproto.pm line 387)
frame 3: Slim::Networking::Slimproto::client_readable (/PerlApp/Slim/Networki
ng/Select.pm line 238)
frame 4: (eval) (/PerlApp/Slim/Networking/Select.pm line 238)
frame 5: Slim::Networking::Select::select (slimserver.pl line 492)
frame 6: main::idle (slimserver.pl line 445)
frame 7: main::main (slimserver.pl line 58)
frame 8: PerlSvc::Interactive (perlsvc.pl line 1486)
frame 9: PerlSvc::_interactive (slimserver.pl line 0)
frame 10: (eval) (slimserver.pl line 0)

Here's the problem. /PerlApp/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm, line 68:

Does that error message mean something to anyone? It seems to indicate an issue with the IR interface.
Any help in debugging this issue would be appreciated. Hopefully I don't have a faulty hardware device.

Thanks
Tarus

RichardG
2007-03-17, 08:05
Have you tried to factory reset the faulty SQB? Factory reset is when you unplug the power, press and hold the ADD (+) button on the remote while plugging the power back in, and release the ADD (+) button when you see the SQB flash "factory reset". Note that the first time the SQB tries to connect to the server after a factory reset, it may reset itself once again - that should be ok.

If the web interface says 6.5.1, that's what you have - unless there was a mistake in the nightly build..

Also, you said that you tried to connect the faulting SQB to radio and regular slimserver streams. Can you recall if you also tried to connect the non faulting SQBen to radio streams after you upgraded to version 6.5.1?

Richard

Tarus
2007-03-17, 08:43
I've just tried to reset the faulty SB3 with the procedure you've described below. I saw the "factory reset" message then I had to reprogram my network setting.
Unfortunately this didn't help. Once connect to the slimserver or the internet radio channel, it resets almost instantly (2secs)

The other working SB3 is currently playing the same radio stream without a problem. In fact I had it running for 3 hours earlier this week on this same internet radio stream without a failure.

I've noticed that I have a RS232 pluging and CLI pluging installed. Does anyone know how to use them? I'm hoping to get the debug info from the Squeezebox directly if I can connect a serial terminal to it...

I can also try to install 6.5.2 but I'm starting to doubt that this is a software issue.

Thanks,
Tarus

RichardG
2007-03-18, 04:03
Sounds like duplicate IP address trouble. Or two slimservers that think they should be responding to that SQB. The reset is happening very quickly. Have you shutdown all devices in the network (unplug switches/wireless AP/etc). And then restarted?

Do you have another computer that you can install slim 6.5.2 and just test the faulty SQB?

Also, the SQB recieves a firmware update as part of newer versions of slimserver. An update of the server may change how the SQB responds.

I have not used the RS232 interface. The CLI interface is a plugin for controlling slimserver through a command line (telnet) interface. "Telnet {slimserverip} 9090". Launch the web interface for a running slimserver, and you can find detailed information on the CLI interface from "Help/Technical Information".

Have you ever tried to play ogg files or connect to an ogg based radio stream?

Richard

Tarus
2007-03-18, 13:40
Thanks Richard for all your tips. They give me some ideas for further investigation :)

I have two other computers on which I can install the slimserver. (BTW, I've double checked and I had indeed installed the 6.5.1 archive which seems to impose a firmware upgrade version 70).

I've triple check the network for duplicated addresses and I'm convinced that I don't have any. I've also verified the router setting and I've restarted the slimserver (dedicated PC) as well as the two SB3, the switch and the router. I've turned down all other computer systems on the network (BTW they all get DHCP addresses except for the Slimserver PC which has a unique static IP address).

In any case, the problem still persists. One SB works flawlessly and the other one keeps rebooting 2 seconds into playing a song. I haven't tried ogg files yet. But I'll try this next along with a different PC to host the server.

For now just to verify that I didn't have a bad hardware device, I've reinstalled the Slimserver v6.2.1. Both SB3 now work perfectly well as they used to. Both SB3 have automatically "downgraded" the firmware to version 28. I haven't changed the rest of the hardware or network configurations.

So this is definitively related to installing v6.5.1 in conjonction to the firmware 70.

For now I'm okay and I'll do more experiments (with a different PC) with 6.5.1 or even 6.5.2 as I've liked the new features of the v6.5.1. I'll also play around a bit more with the CLI.

Thanks a lot for your help Richard. I'll let you know if I make any progress with 6.5.1 on a different PC.

Cheers
Tarus