PDA

View Full Version : Not all is rosey in Squeeze Box land



thesil
2007-03-15, 08:14
When I first got my SB3 back in Nov. of '06, I thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Now, it is becoming very frustrating to deal with. This is what I am experiencing latley: Player stops for no apparent reason, screen goes blank, and then after a few minutes, starts up again. It will sound great for a while, and then start to skip. I thought that I would never use my CD's again, but I glad I didn't sell my CD player. I don't know what the problem is, it seems to have a mind of it's own. I was going to buy another, but I am going to hold off for awhile and see if the performance improves on my current player. I am running iTunes on a MAC OSX with a wireless SB3 v. 6.5.1. Any one care to comment or comiserate?

bpa
2007-03-15, 08:23
Are you wired or wireless ?
If wireless have you tried changing channels ?
If wired have looked at network stats to see if there are any network errors ?

hunta
2007-03-15, 09:51
I am running iTunes on a MAC OSX with a wireless SB3 v. 6.5.1. Any one care to comment or comiserate?

I can commiserate, but I bet the wireless is to blame not the SB. I had issues recently and thought it couldn't possibly be anything to do with the network since I was still getting good internet access. I changed channels just to be sure and hey presto, all was wonderful again.

NetStumbler is indispensible for diagnosing this on Windows - don't know if there's a Mac flavour or something similar.

The other thing to look at is your network architecture. Presumably you're wireless because you don't want wires, but is your Mac wired to your hub? If not, would you be able to? This makes a big difference in traffic and therefore packet loss. There's an article in the wiki about it: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?NetworkDesign

Good luck!

thesil
2007-03-15, 11:59
I am wireless and my MAC is as well. How would I go about changing channels?

Thanks, guys

snarlydwarf
2007-03-15, 12:01
It should be a setting on your router. (The clients sort of sweep the channels when they start, looking for a friendly router to connect to... so changing the routers channel should be picked up by the clients.)

ceejay
2007-03-15, 12:08
With both server and SB wireless, that's a lot of wireless hops for the data, especially at high data rates.

Depending on what you are driving with it, you might want to consider setting the server to transcode to MP3 at say 320kbit/s - this will sound nearly as good as lossless with a much lower bitrate.

But first do change the wireless channel. Or see if there is some way you can wire one or both devices. Maybe consider home-plug type devices (ethernet over mains).

Oh - and are there by any chance other wireless devices on the same network such as a PDA that might be dragging you down to 11b speeds?

Ceejay

azinck3
2007-03-15, 12:09
I'll second the notion that it's likely a wireless interference problem.


I am wireless and my MAC is as well. How would I go about changing channels?

Thanks, guys

Via your access point's interface. You likely have a combination access point/router so it can probably be reached at http://192.168.1.1 - Some brands default to 192.168.0.1 - In most normal network configurations it will be the same as the IP address of your default gateway. I'm not a mac user so I'm not sure how to find that info on a mac but you should be able to look in your network settings or properties and root it out.

Once you've found the appropriate address you'll need to log into the interface (if you never set a password then you'll need to find the default password in the manual that came with your equipment or look online). Every access point has a different interface but you should be able to sort it out pretty easily once you're in.

You may have to reconnect to the wireless network with your Mac and your SB but they'll probably deal with the channel change pretty transparently.

Finding a good channel is largely a matter of trial and error.

bpa
2007-03-15, 12:13
Channels go from 1 to 11 or 13 depending on region but they overlap so initially choose 1 or 6 or 11/13 (depending on region) as this will minimise overlap.

If you can get the Mac onto a wired connection it would be better. This is especially true if you are formats which have a higher bandwidth requirement such as WAV or Flac.

egd
2007-03-15, 12:27
If you can get the Mac onto a wired connection it would be better. This is especially true if you are formats which have a higher bandwidth requirement such as WAV or Flac.

I second this. When I first received my Squeezeboxen I set things up for wireless and found the performance to be extremely variable based on time of day, weather, etc. I switched to a homeplug solution and have never experienced so much as a hint of a dropout. You can just about bet your bottom dollar that the issues you are experiencing are due to wireless as opposed to the Squeezebox.

Anne
2007-03-15, 15:27
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31566

See this thread also

agentsmith
2007-03-15, 23:26
The above posters are right, this kind of problems usually are network connection related or server computer locking up.

Did you try the Network test plugin?

I had similar problems when I placed my Slimserver WiFi in another room away from the wireless access point. When I move the machine closer to the wireless access point, problem goes away.

Also had similar problem when I had Aztec Ethernet over power Homeplug, which was having problem with my home electricity. After I install the Panasonic HD Homeplug adapters and cleaned up the home power, it has been running fine.

Mark Lanctot
2007-03-17, 13:21
Finding a good channel is largely a matter of trial and error.

If you use NetStumbler you can graph signal strength. It's a little tricky to do, basically you filter out everything but your own network using the filters on the left, then you double-click it.

It'll give you a continuous graph. You can then change channels and see the effect. In my case, the change was so dramatic that I just had to look at the graph to know when I changed channels. However you can "mark" the graph by grabbing both antennas in your hands for a second or two, which will cause a very low signal "tick" on the graph to mark it.

Look for a channel with high strength, but constant and not in bursts.

Zten
2007-03-18, 20:00
From an old post of mine when I was seeing "random dropouts". I root caused much of my trouble to the microwave oven:

avoiding Microwave oven and adjacent WLAN Interference

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I looked into things tonight. My Microwave oven is running at 2450MHz. This is approximately WiFi channel 8.5 . Turn out I was using channel 7 on my WLAN. It makes sense that I get interference from the microwave. I doubt a the WiFi recevier has that great of rejection to strong energy only 1.5 channels away, Also, I am no expert on Microwave ovens, but I suspect the are not the most spectrally pure of noise generators. Running at 2450MHz, they are still probably pumpin out some junk at 7 or 8 MHz away.

So then what channel should I use? To answer that question I took my laptop computer and used it as a receiver to measure my neighbors WiFi Channels they are using. I am in ear shot of signals from my neighbors on channels 1, 3, 6 (several folks on Ch 6), and 11.

So, I changed my WLAN to channel 4. Seems to be a channel that no one near by uses and best of all, no more drop outs when my wife runs the microwave oven!

bobschneider
2007-03-23, 18:57
When I first got my SB3 back in Nov. of '06, I thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Now, it is becoming very frustrating to deal with. This is what I am experiencing latley: Player stops for no apparent reason, screen goes blank, and then after a few minutes, starts up again. It will sound great for a while, and then start to skip. I thought that I would never use my CD's again, but I glad I didn't sell my CD player. I don't know what the problem is, it seems to have a mind of it's own. I was going to buy another, but I am going to hold off for awhile and see if the performance improves on my current player. I am running iTunes on a MAC OSX with a wireless SB3 v. 6.5.1. Any one care to comment or comiserate?

I occasionally have a similar problem with mine, which is also wireless (although the server is hardwired to the wireless router). Usually it's rare, but the other evening it got so bad that the SB3 was unusable, and I had to fire up my CD player. It just so happened that evening was the first bad thunderstorm we've had since I got the SB3. I'm also figuring this is a network problem, not a SB3 problem.

Mark Lanctot
2007-03-24, 10:59
It just so happened that evening was the first bad thunderstorm we've had since I got the SB3.

Just as Raid kills bugs dead, thunderstorms kill wireless networks dead.

At least for me. My wireless network is extremely unstable and more or less unusable if there's a thunderstorm in the area.

Thankfully that won't happen here for another 3 months yet. But when it does, it can sometimes be every night for weeks on end.