PDA

View Full Version : How to have two music folders



marvid
2007-03-13, 16:57
I need help - I have 2 music folders that I want my library to scan. How can I do this? I just want to use two sub-directories in the same folder.

adamslim
2007-03-13, 17:53
On Windows, just put a shortcut in the scanned one to the other. Similar policies work with Linux and Mac.

Adam

marvid
2007-03-13, 18:37
Thanks Adam...I tried this and it did not work

tyler_durden
2007-03-13, 20:42
Are the two music folders on the same HDD or on different machines on your network?

TD

BigTony
2007-03-14, 05:46
As I was just about to ask the same question, I thought I'd tag onto the end of this thread.
I have my music on 3 HDD, all on the same machine.
I have added shortcuts to the 2 other HDD and put those SC's in the root of nthe scanned drive. I then told SS to rescan my music folders.
Didn't work for me either :-(

BT

MillmoorRon
2007-03-14, 05:59
Works for me on different HD's!

BigTony
2007-03-14, 06:01
Ok,

I've just uninstalled SS.
Reinstalling, then scanning music files.

Will report back the results.

BT

BigTony
2007-03-14, 07:19
ah .. it does work.
I can browse my music folders and its all ok - must be a tag issue I guess. (Naughty me)

BT

tyler_durden
2007-03-14, 07:30
I recall having a problem accessing a HDD on a different machine on the network. The problem was related to starting SS as a service under win2k (don't ask me about XP). IIRC a service can't access another HDD across a network for security reasons. There was some trick required, and I'm sure I found it in the documentation somewhere, that enabled SS to start in a way that would allow it to access the other HDD. Anyway, once the trick was applied, the problem was cured.

I know, this is a not very useful response, completely lacking in accurate info, but there is a simple cure. I just don't remember what it is. There, now I'm starting to ramble. Getting old sucks.

TD

ChrisB
2007-03-14, 07:45
It's all to do with permissions. By default, a windows service runs
under a local system account that doesn't have the required privileges.
You need to edit the services properties and change the Log On account
to a user who has access to the network (administrator would do it, but
may not be the most secure choice).

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of tyler_durden
Sent: 14 March 2007 14:31
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: Re: [slim] How to have two music folders


I recall having a problem accessing a HDD on a different machine on the
network. The problem was related to starting SS as a service under
win2k (don't ask me about XP). IIRC a service can't access another HDD
across a network for security reasons. There was some trick required,
and I'm sure I found it in the documentation somewhere, that enabled SS
to start in a way that would allow it to access the other HDD. Anyway,
once the trick was applied, the problem was cured.

I know, this is a not very useful response, completely lacking in
accurate info, but there is a simple cure. I just don't remember what
it is. There, now I'm starting to ramble. Getting old sucks.

TD


--
tyler_durden
------------------------------------------------------------------------
tyler_durden's Profile:
http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2701
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=33580

marvid
2007-03-14, 08:21
I need help - I have 2 music folders that I want my library to scan. How can I do this? I just want to use two sub-directories in the same folder.

My file structure is simple. On my C drive under My Music I have two sub directories that contain music that I want to scan. I can't get this to work and need some advice. I placed a shortcut from the first to the second without the desired result.

tyler_durden
2007-03-14, 10:26
Try pointing SS at the "C:\My Music" directory instead of pointing it at one of the subdirectories under My Music.

My library is set up with hundreds of subdirectories (one for each CD) and SS finds them OK if I simply point it at the highest level directory.

TD

tyler_durden
2007-03-14, 10:28
It's all to do with permissions. By default, a windows service runs
under a local system account that doesn't have the required privileges.
You need to edit the services properties and change the Log On account
to a user who has access to the network (administrator would do it, but
may not be the most secure choice).


That was it!

TD

Studio_Two
2007-03-16, 10:04
On Windows, just put a shortcut in the scanned one to the other.

Adam

If you are running as a service, it's important to use a the full "Share Path" within the shortcut rather than just a "Mapped Drive Letter". The Service WON'T know how to find (say) "L:\Slimserver", but it WILL be able to find "\\MyServerName\Slimserver".

HTH,
Stephen