X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • hajji
    • Mar 2007

Connecting to SlimServer... *stuck*

Hi all,

I have been using the SB3 for about 3 months now, on some derivation of 6.5.2.

Recently though the unit stops at "Connecting to SlimServer..." but only when connecting through wireless.

If I plug the ethernet cable it, it works fine. Wireless, it gets an IP as always, but when targetting the server it just hangs.

Any insight here? I have downgraded to 6.5.1 and updated the firmware but with no luck.

Any help would be appreciated. Is there additional information that I can provide that can help troubleshoot?
  • Mark Lanctot
    • Oct 2005

If it gets as far as connecting to SlimServer, that means your wireless encryption settings are good.

However your IP address might not be. Are you getting it by DHCP or is it static? Any possibility of a duplicate?

What does the player say its MAC address is? Does it match the one printed on the bottom?

Did you have good wireless bandwidth and strength when it used to connect? Has a neighbor moved in with a strong wireless router? Any possible interference from microwave ovens or cordless phones?

Does your router have a function that shows what wireless clients are connected and does it ever show the Squeezebox as connected?
    Boom (PQP3 - late beta, PQP1 - early beta), Squeezebox Radio (PB1 - early beta)

Comment

• hajji
      • Mar 2007

Hi Mark, alright, I have answered in line below:

Originally posted by Mark Lanctot
      If it gets as far as connecting to SlimServer, that means your wireless encryption settings are good.

However your IP address might not be. Are you getting it by DHCP or is it static? Any possibility of a duplicate?
      I am using DHCP and it is receiving a unique IP address and the router sees the device as a wireless DHCP client.

What does the player say its MAC address is? Does it match the one printed on the bottom?