PDA

View Full Version : DIY Powersupply suitable for 230V

mangew
2007-03-09, 00:53
I´m pretty new to using Squeezebox. I have a pretty good sounding Hifisystem an thinking of use Squeezeboz as a part of that.

As stock unit the Squeezebox does not sound as nice as my CDP but i have read there´s a lot of imporvement to get from DAC and also new power supply.

At beginning i thought i have to buy a powersupply since i have no knowledge of making them but i have a friend that DIY a lot of music stuff for guitars (amps etc.) So he has promised to make one for me.

I need a good description, what powersupplys that fits for 230V (think many of them here are for 110V?) Wiring diagram and all useful information.

Would appreciate if someone has good choices to share, mabye what threads here that has 230V powersupplys of good quality.

As i understand the Squeezebox needs a 5V linear powersupply?

Skunk
2007-03-09, 07:53
Most people who want a linear supply that's better than a wall wart, but doesn't cost $500+, use an open frame linear power supply. Single output 5V 3A units are very common, so there are lots of models available from local electronic supply places (new or surplus), or from ebay but the age may be questionable.

The circuit diagram is usually printed on the power supply itself, and gives instructions for wiring and fusing it for 110 or 230. Precautionary and application notes are sometimes available from the manufacturer in PDF form, so I'd recommend buying the bare PS and printing the material to give him.

I'd recommend short thick DC cable to the squeezebox, with a switchcraft DC connector on the end. Make sure he fuses the metal enclosure properly or risk electrocution. Be sure to test that it's putting out 5.0V, with positive on the center and neg on the sleeve going to SB.