PDA

View Full Version : Media monkey with slimserver?



rchris
2007-02-26, 07:24
Is it possible to use Media Monkey to control my SB3. If so how.

Thank you,

Chris

Mark Lanctot
2007-02-26, 09:20
No. You can only use SlimServer.

rchris
2007-02-26, 11:14
I guess I should have said that correctly. Sorry if my lingo is off. I would like to use MM as the interface to choose songs to play etc. but obviously control the squeezebox with slimserver. Is this possible. How do people use itunes with slimserver?

Thanks,

Chris

Broosta
2008-01-24, 10:46
You mean you want to create a playlist in Media Monkey and then make it play through the SB3?
If so thats a very good question and one I'd like to know the answer to as well!
Is there a plugin for Media Monkey that does this?

erland
2008-01-24, 11:16
This sounds like what you want:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21124

I haven't tried it myself, so I have no idea if it works.

Siduhe
2008-01-24, 11:23
You mean you want to create a playlist in Media Monkey and then make it play through the SB3?
If so thats a very good question and one I'd like to know the answer to as well!
Is there a plugin for Media Monkey that does this?

Not that I'm aware of, but Slimserver will play .m3u or .pls files, so if you create these in MediaMonkey and save them in the Slimserver playlist directory they will get picked up on a Playlist Rescan.

A few caveats though, Slimserver needs to "see" the paths to your files in a playlist in the same way as it sees the files in your Music Library. This will only be an issue if your music files are stored somewhere other than the place that Slimserver is installed, like a network drive for example.

So, if your Music Library is "\\server\Music\song.mp3" and your playlist points to the same song as "E:/Music/song.mp3", the playlist won't work. Slimserver also currently doesn't support relative paths for playlists, you have to use an absolute path
(i.e. the full "\\server\song...").

A playlist is just a text file with links to your songs, so if you open your playlist files up in a text editor like Notepad or Editpad you will be able easily to see if the file paths need changing to match your Music Library setup. You can either use Find and Replace (depending on your text editor) and resave the playlist (then do a playlist rescan), or use a batch script to automate the process. If you run Windows and are interested in a simple script with a frontend that someone very kindly made available to me, let me know.

In terms of playlist creation actually in Slimsever, the forthcoming new version of Slimserver (Squeezecenter 7.0 which is in beta testing right now), is step forward. It supports drag and drop playlist creation for example.

There's also MusicIP which is integrated with Slimserver in the same way as Itunes, and supports mood and automatic playlist creation.

nacmacfeegle
2008-01-25, 01:35
In the past I have created playlists in Mediamonkey and saved the m3u files into my playlist directory which is then picked up by Slimserver, no problems. I keep my playlist files in the same directory as the main main music, FWIW my directory is called AA1 playlists so it is always near the top when I browse music folder via the SB3 remote. Obviously Slimserver is told to look here for playlists.
I'm not at my home so can't go through the process step by step, but its pretty straightforward, which is just as well really.....