PDA

View Full Version : SB3 Display



thesil
2007-02-09, 07:49
Is there any problem leaving the display on at full power overnight when the player is off? I usually turn the brightness down all the way, but I am wondering if that is necessary. Any thoughts?

audio53
2007-02-09, 07:55
I have mine set to turn the display off when not in use. My thought process is that I am extending the life of the display. I don't have a need to see anything on the display when not listening to music. There are already four other clocks in the room :-) And I am not interested in having news feeds running.

Bob

Mark Lanctot
2007-02-09, 07:56
The display does have a finite life, and turning the brightness down does extend that life. Also in very rare instances the screen can be burned in.

However the only other VFDs we can compare the SB3 display to are VCRs and microwave oven displays. 10 or 15-year old VCR displays are generally still OK, just dimmer.

thesil
2007-02-09, 08:11
Audio, That's my feeling as well; if you are not going to be in the room for 10 hours or so, why have it on. And Mark , thanks , you make a good point about microwaves, etc. I think that I will continue to turn it down at night. Too bad there is not an auto setting for that. Maybe the tekkies can work on that.

Mark Lanctot
2007-02-09, 08:20
I think that I will continue to turn it down at night. Too bad there is not an auto setting for that. Maybe the tekkies can work on that.

I just set it to "1" on off. I use the date/time screensaver and with the largest font it's very readable with room lighting even a fair distance away.

thesil
2007-02-09, 08:34
Thanks Mark

peter
2007-02-09, 09:01
thesil wrote:
> Audio, That's my feeling as well; if you are not going to be in the room
> for 10 hours or so, why have it on. And Mark , thanks , you make a good
> point about microwaves, etc. I think that I will continue to turn it
> down at night. Too bad there is not an auto setting for that. Maybe the
> tekkies can work on that.
>

There's a plugin for it called Auto Dim Display, I use it to dim all my
SB's at night.

Regards,
Peter

thesil
2007-02-09, 12:58
Peter, where do I find that plugin? Thanks

matthijskoopmans
2007-02-09, 14:09
Peter, where do I find that plugin? Thanks



http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/dev_software.htm#autodisplay

Regards,

Matt

thesil
2007-02-10, 09:03
Strange!, I go to that site, click on the link and nothing downloads. any advice?

mherger
2007-02-10, 09:07
> Strange!, I go to that site, click on the link and nothing downloads.
> any advice?

It does for me. Can you right click and "save target as..." or similar?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

thesil
2007-02-10, 09:12
I am on a MAC; that could be the reason. I am new to MAC, and not so sure on downloading as yet.

mherger
2007-02-10, 09:17
> I am on a MAC; that could be the reason. I am new to MAC, and not so
> sure on downloading as yet.

So you're using Safari? The file probably downloaded to you desktop.
Alternatively I think alt-click is the same as right click (or
shift-click... just try those buttons to the left of the space bar - I
don't have a mac to test with :-))

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

thesil
2007-02-10, 09:18
Hey guys, never mind , I finally figured out how to do that on my MAC. Thanks