PDA

View Full Version : left/right channels reversed?



ephemere
2007-02-07, 13:31
I'm going nuts with the following problem....

I have a Tact S2150, which is a computerized DSP/DAC/amp that takes S/PDIF input only. It's hooked up to a SB1.

I just got the Tact unit back from a factory upgrade, hooked it up, and found the channels reversed. The left channel was coming out of the right speaker, etc. At first I thought it was a software bug in the Tact amp introduced in the upgrade.

For unrelated reasons, I had to reboot my computer and power cycle the squeezebox (SB1). I then found to my surprise that the channels were correct. I can no longer reproduce the problem.

My theory is that the SB1/slimserver was swapping the left/right channels. But I've never seen this documented or come across it in any menu.

I hope someone can help clear this up, because I'd like to confidently absolve the Tact unit of any blame or wrongdoing.

Ben Sandee
2007-02-07, 14:04
On 2/7/07, ephemere <ephemere.2lnjkb1170880501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I'm going nuts with the following problem....
>
> I have a Tact S2150, which is a computerized DSP/DAC/amp that takes
> S/PDIF input only. It's hooked up to a SB1.
>
> I just got the Tact unit back from a factory upgrade, hooked it up, and
> found the channels reversed. The left channel was coming out of the
> right speaker, etc. At first I thought it was a software bug in the
> Tact amp introduced in the upgrade.
>
> For unrelated reasons, I had to reboot my computer and power cycle the
> squeezebox (SB1). I then found to my surprise that the channels were
> correct. I can no longer reproduce the problem.
>
> My theory is that the SB1/slimserver was swapping the left/right
> channels. But I've never seen this documented or come across it in any
> menu.


This is a known bug with the SB1 hardware (vendor-supplied chip).

http://forums.slimdevices.com/archive/index.php/t-11213.html

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=839

Ben

ephemere
2007-02-07, 14:36
Thanks for the lightning-fast response. Now I feel better.

It makes sense that it's only the SB1 because I had been using the SB2 before this upgrade, but just moved the SB2 elsewhere in the house.

I'll probably ditch the SB1 because of this.