PDA

View Full Version : No audio from Squeezebox



Jason
2003-12-25, 23:13
Many TVs have the limitation that you describe in which they will only
select in input source if there is a video source as well.

I really don't know what you can do to work around it although I imagine you
could somehow split another video signal from your video game console or
what have you to "fool" the TV into switching over to the input with the
squeezebox.

Really though, your TV probably has pretty bad speakers (nearly all TVs do)
you would do yourself well to get a good set of small powered speakers for
the squeezebox or even better yet get yourself a 2nd hand amplifier and some
real speakers.

I'm glad your squeezebox isn't broken anyway (didn't think it was).

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Jason Dixon
Sent: Thursday, December 25, 2003 9:27 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] No audio from Squeezebox

On Thu, 2003-12-25 at 23:21, The1FastCar wrote:
> Well that's a start...
> You 'could' patch the headphone cable into RCA jacks and feed
> that into your Stereo to 'hold' you over...?
>
> I must confess, I had to go look to see if there was really a headphone
> jack on the unit... I had no idea it was even there :)

Good news, bad news.

Good news, the squeezebox is innocent. Works fine, even through the RCA
outputs.

Bad news, the TV only reads in audio from the AV inputs when it senses a
video signal (or so it seems). I took the squeezebox upstairs, fed it
through a GE junction/adapter box that feeds in my DVD outputs to a coax
input on my old TV. Video displays Office Space, audio feeds Staind.
:-}

Off-topic, anyone have any suggestions how to work this into my current
setup with the Samsung? The TV supports three AV (L/R audio, video) RCA
input feeds and two composite(?) input feeds. Any way to have this feed
into the TV without a video signal?

Thanks everyone!

--
Jason Dixon, RHCE
DixonGroup Consulting
http://www.dixongroup.net

Jason Dixon
2003-12-27, 21:40
On Fri, 2003-12-26 at 01:13, Jason wrote:
> Many TVs have the limitation that you describe in which they will only
> select in input source if there is a video source as well.
>
> I really don't know what you can do to work around it although I imagine you
> could somehow split another video signal from your video game console or
> what have you to "fool" the TV into switching over to the input with the
> squeezebox.
>
> Really though, your TV probably has pretty bad speakers (nearly all TVs do)
> you would do yourself well to get a good set of small powered speakers for
> the squeezebox or even better yet get yourself a 2nd hand amplifier and some
> real speakers.

Just a quick summary of the recent events since the end of this thread.
I was able to get the squeezebox working through my TV by swapping the
audio cables from the DVD to the TV to the squeeze, as a temporary
measure. I went and picked up a decent receiver/home-theater setup
today, one with plenty of inputs and outputs. Everything sounds
incredible now, makes me really appreciate the squeezebox. :)

Great product!

--
Jason Dixon, RHCE
DixonGroup Consulting
http://www.dixongroup.net