PDA

View Full Version : No audio from Squeezebox



The1FastCar
2003-12-25, 21:21
Well that's a start...
You 'could' patch the headphone cable into RCA jacks and feed
that into your Stereo to 'hold' you over...?

I must confess, I had to go look to see if there was really a headphone
jack on the unit... I had no idea it was even there :)

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Jason Dixon
Sent: Thursday, December 25, 2003 11:08 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] No audio from Squeezebox


On Thu, 2003-12-25 at 22:46, Jason wrote:
> You should also just try plugging in a cheap pair of headphones to the

> headphone jack and see if that is working.

Yes, the headphone jack output works great. So, we've *officially*
ruled out any communication problems with the slimserver. I've already
tested the cables with a known working set, and tried known working
alternative audio inputs on the "stereo". The only possible remaining
iteration is the RCA outputs on the squeezebox.

--
Jason Dixon, RHCE
DixonGroup Consulting
http://www.dixongroup.net

Jason Dixon
2003-12-25, 21:27
On Thu, 2003-12-25 at 23:21, The1FastCar wrote:
> Well that's a start...
> You 'could' patch the headphone cable into RCA jacks and feed
> that into your Stereo to 'hold' you over...?
>
> I must confess, I had to go look to see if there was really a headphone
> jack on the unit... I had no idea it was even there :)

Good news, bad news.

Good news, the squeezebox is innocent. Works fine, even through the RCA
outputs.

Bad news, the TV only reads in audio from the AV inputs when it senses a
video signal (or so it seems). I took the squeezebox upstairs, fed it
through a GE junction/adapter box that feeds in my DVD outputs to a coax
input on my old TV. Video displays Office Space, audio feeds Staind.
:-}

Off-topic, anyone have any suggestions how to work this into my current
setup with the Samsung? The TV supports three AV (L/R audio, video) RCA
input feeds and two composite(?) input feeds. Any way to have this feed
into the TV without a video signal?

Thanks everyone!

--
Jason Dixon, RHCE
DixonGroup Consulting
http://www.dixongroup.net

deanmullin@mac.com
2003-12-25, 21:38
I would examine your samsung set up screens for audio input parameters.
You could use a vcr or dvd for the video input and just have it go to
a screen saver.

On Dec 25, 2003, at 8:27 PM, Jason Dixon wrote:

> On Thu, 2003-12-25 at 23:21, The1FastCar wrote:
>> Well that's a start...
>> You 'could' patch the headphone cable into RCA jacks and feed
>> that into your Stereo to 'hold' you over...?
>>
>> I must confess, I had to go look to see if there was really a
>> headphone
>> jack on the unit... I had no idea it was even there :)
>
> Good news, bad news.
>
> Good news, the squeezebox is innocent. Works fine, even through the
> RCA
> outputs.
>
> Bad news, the TV only reads in audio from the AV inputs when it senses
> a
> video signal (or so it seems). I took the squeezebox upstairs, fed it
> through a GE junction/adapter box that feeds in my DVD outputs to a
> coax
> input on my old TV. Video displays Office Space, audio feeds Staind.
> :-}
>
> Off-topic, anyone have any suggestions how to work this into my current
> setup with the Samsung? The TV supports three AV (L/R audio, video)
> RCA
> input feeds and two composite(?) input feeds. Any way to have this
> feed
> into the TV without a video signal?
>
> Thanks everyone!
>
> --
> Jason Dixon, RHCE
> DixonGroup Consulting
> http://www.dixongroup.net
>
>