PDA

View Full Version : Another LAME question

thesil
2007-01-24, 10:42
Well I finally downloaded LAME, and I have two questions. First, What quality level should I choose, and what bitrate level. Thanks everyone for all your help, I am a little new at this

snarlydwarf
2007-01-24, 10:58
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=LAME is a reasonable start. (Though they should have boldfaced that "archiving" with mp3 is silly.)

-V0 --vbr-new is probably what you want. You may be able to survive with -V1 or -V2 as well, depending on your hearing, but the disk space isnt that important even on a portable.

JJZolx
2007-01-24, 11:00
Well I finally downloaded LAME, and I have two questions. First, What quality level should I choose, and what bitrate level. Thanks everyone for all your help, I am a little new at this

Quality level - I'd definitely increase it from the default 9, but it will increase the load on your server. Depends on how busy the server is and whether or not it's performing other tasks. Move it the whole way to 0 and see if the server falters at all. Back it off if the CPU load seems too high.

How will you be using the transcoded MP3 stream? Will you be streaming outside of your home network? If so, keep it low enough that it can be accomodated by your outgoing bandwidth. At home I have 768kbps outgoing on a cable connection, but I have a tough time seemlessly streaming to work at anything above 160kbps. If we're talking about on the home network, I'm not sure why you'd transcode to MP3 at all.

thesil
2007-01-24, 11:06
I am sorry, but I don't understand, please bear with me. I have already downloaded Lame, you gave me another website for downloading. I just need to know what bitrate level anf what quality level to set my player at. Thanks in advance

snarlydwarf
2007-01-24, 11:10