PDA

View Full Version : Lame



thesil
2007-01-23, 15:34
In my slimserver settings,I noticed that LAME was not installed, so I tried to download with no sucess. Do I really need LAME?

Mark Lanctot
2007-01-23, 15:50
If you transcode you do.

Did you follow the instructions in http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?LAMEForTranscoding?

bpa
2007-01-23, 15:53
Lame is needed if you need to convert a stream into MP3. The main cases are

1. Destination device is a SliMP3 or possibly SB1
2. Want to use bit rate limiting (e.g. connecting an SB to Slimserver over internet)
3. Want to send a Slimserver stream to a non Squeezebox device device (e.g. PDA)

What OS are you using ?

norman12
2007-01-23, 15:57
Lame is needed if you need to convert a stream into MP3. The main cases are

1. Destination device is a SliMP3 or possibly SB1
2. Want to use bit rate limiting (e.g. connecting an SB to Slimserver over internet)
3. Want to send a Slimserver stream to a non Squeezebox device device (e.g. PDA)

What OS are you using ?

4. Want smooth non-jerky analogue VU meters when streaming alienbbc to squeezebox3 ;-)

thesil
2007-01-23, 16:49
I use windows xp

thesil
2007-01-23, 16:59
It seems that the LAME file is password protected. Now what?

bpa
2007-01-23, 17:26
Try this source

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Lame_Encoder.htm

Try version 3.96.1

thesil
2007-01-23, 17:43
Found it, but it's still asking for a password. This is frustratin

bpa
2007-01-23, 18:05
I was never asked for a password !
Are you sure it is not associated with your system ?

Edit:
Just checked the file - no password needed to unzip.
Are you trying to update it ?

thesil
2007-01-23, 20:36
No password is associated with my system. What do you mean by update? Now I am having trouble playing music; the player is skipping and the scrolling is jerky. What's going on??