PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Wired or wireless?



Mark Lanctot
2007-01-21, 12:08
A recent thread (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31880) shook my belief that most Squeezebox users use wireless.

So I'm wondering: do you use your Squeezebox/Transporter wired or wirelessly? I've included a third option for users with several units who mix the two.

If you're using a wired unit, say a SliMP3, with a wireless bridge, count that as wireless.

In order to get an accurate cross-section of respondents, I'll be bumping this a few times during the week.

Thanks!

Mark Lanctot
2007-01-21, 12:14
Oh and HomePlug users: count that as wired. Thanks.

shabbs
2007-01-21, 12:22
All wired, all the time.

CatBus
2007-01-21, 12:28
Hated having to go wireless for one of my players, but my kitchen was just in no condition to wire. Wired everwhere else, though.

aubuti
2007-01-21, 12:30
In order of acquisition:

- wireless SB3 in the main listening room (living room/lounge)
- wired-only SB2 in the kitchen
- wireless SB2 (but running off ethernet) in the basement/rec room, playing through a good hifi with lousy WAF...

And I'm still kicking myself for not running cat5 to the living room when we had the basement ceiling open for remodeling last year....

Nostromo
2007-01-21, 12:43
I use it wirelessly.

Andyb01
2007-01-21, 13:47
I started my home network with wireless (luckily before I bought a SB) and it drove me round the twist with dropped connections and poor signal. I then discovered homeplugs and sold the whole set of wireless kit on eBay and replaced it with wired and added a SB. Never fails - I would never consider wireless again. Mains networking is so maintenance free in comparison - you plug it in and it just er - works.

Andy

ModelCitizen
2007-01-21, 14:09
Three wireless Squeezeboxes playing Flacs.
SB2 - Bedroom alarm clock etc.
SB3 - Kitchen. Main gassing, social room.
Transporter - Lounge. Leisure room with the hifi.

House server/desktop in upstairs office (wired).
Squeezeboxes controlled almost always by remotes and very secondarily by PC and iPaq wireless handheld.

All Squeezeboxes wireless, all robust, no drop outs.
6.5.1 on Windows XP.

MC

egd
2007-01-21, 14:13
I started my home network with wireless (luckily before I bought a SB) and it drove me round the twist with dropped connections and poor signal. I then discovered homeplugs and sold the whole set of wireless kit on eBay and replaced it with wired and added a SB. Never fails - I would never consider wireless again. Mains networking is so maintenance free in comparison - you plug it in and it just er - works.

Andy

My sentiments on wireless down to a tee.

Secret Squirrel
2007-01-21, 16:42
not a wireless believer. I ran CAT-5e everywhere when I built this house three years ago. NO plans for witless...er...wireless (sorry folks I couldn't resist the opening) :)

SS

Eric Seaberg
2007-01-21, 18:04
Wired on the Transporter in the livingroom, and both on the SB3 in the master bedroom. I usually keep the SB wireless EXCEPT when I want to sync the two, then I'll switch to wired.

I, too, had many issues when the two pieces were first connected, but had already wired my house.

Michaelwagner
2007-01-21, 20:06
I am probably (in)famous for my anti-wireless rants. None-the-less, I must admit to a small hypocracy. I have 1 wireless unit (I don't own my own walls, I rent). The wireless unit is by far the most unreliable of the squeezeboxes. Ironically, an audio streamer needs better reliability than, say, a wireless laptop computer.

jfo
2007-01-21, 20:16
Two SB2's: One wired and one wireless

Jim

SteveEast
2007-01-21, 20:32
Two SB3s: one wired a few feet in front of me as I type, one wireless in the lounge. I could run cat5 to the lounge in less than a couple of hours and maybe one day I will, but both my wireless SB and wireless Buffalo LinkTheatre have been extremely reliable. I put it down to my Belkin Pre-N router which has been pretty much rock solid for almost 2 years.

Steve.

Kevin O. Lepard
2007-01-21, 20:37
>------------------------------------------------------------------------
>A poll associated with this post was created, to vote and see the
>results, please visit http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31930
>------------------------------------------------------------------------
>Question: Do you use your Slim Devices equipment wired or wirelessly?
>
>- All wired
>- All wirelessly
>- I have several units, some operate wired, some wireless
>------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 wireless SB2, 2 wired SB2s, 1 wired SB3
--
Kevin O. Lepard

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

Mitch Harding
2007-01-21, 21:17
One wired SBG.
One wired SB2.
One wireless SB3.

No problems with the wireless, but I prefer to use wired if I can manage to
cable it.

On 1/21/07, Mark Lanctot <
Mark.Lanctot.2kryan1169406601 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> A poll associated with this post was created, to vote and see the
> results, please visit http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31930
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Question: Do you use your Slim Devices equipment wired or wirelessly?
>
> - All wired
> - All wirelessly
> - I have several units, some operate wired, some wireless
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> A recent thread (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31880)
> shook my belief that most Squeezebox users use wireless.
>
> So I'm wondering: do you use your Squeezebox/Transporter wired or
> wirelessly? I've included a third option for users with several units
> who mix the two.
>
> If you're using a wired unit, say a SliMP3, with a wireless bridge,
> count that as wireless.
>
> In order to get an accurate cross-section of respondents, I'll be
> bumping this a few times during the week.
>
> Thanks!
>
>
> --
> Mark Lanctot
>
> "It's like, you know, a New Age religion, but with better treble
> response." - Jon Heal
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Mark Lanctot's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2071
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31930
>
>

Recoveryone
2007-01-21, 22:23
Wirelessy, Works great on the network from the server, but does drop signal when using the Squeezenetwork. But I believe its more of the internet stations themselves than the SB.

Skunk
2007-01-21, 22:48
My tightly stretched ethernet cable barely reaches the router, which then connects to the cable modem dangling mid-air from coax in the basement; demonstrating that the worst wired setup imaginable can at least run inguz eq :p

EDIT: One Sb3, some wireless web interfacing (voted 100% wired)

cliveb
2007-01-22, 01:47
Oh and HomePlug users: count that as wired.
I'm not sure that's appropriate. The point about wired ethernet is that it's carried via a medium that's completely under your control and is therefore immune to interference from third parties.

Homeplug uses a shared carrier - the mains wiring. If a neighbour whose home is on the same phase as yours fires up something that injects loads of noise back into the mains (an arc welder, for example), then your Homeplug packets may possibly get trashed. (I don't know what happens if a neighbour on the same phase also has a Homeplug network - do his packets get back out past his meter and compete for the bandwidth you're trying to use?)

Therefore, in terms of potential for dropouts I'd say Homeplug, while certainly less vulnerable, is more akin to wireless.

peter
2007-01-22, 03:25
Andyb01 wrote:
> I started my home network with wireless (luckily before I bought a SB)
> and it drove me round the twist with dropped connections and poor
> signal. I then discovered homeplugs and sold the whole set of wireless
> kit on eBay and replaced it with wired and added a SB. Never fails - I
> would never consider wireless again. Mains networking is so
> maintenance free in comparison - you plug it in and it just er -
> works.
>

Funny isn't it. I'm a sceptic by nature. So after my SliMP3 - which had
no wireless option - I started out with a wired SB1 (bought it wireless
just in case). Eventually I switched to wireless to get rid of the
unsightly 10 m. cable running along the living room wall (I have two
double cat5 sockets in the living, but they're never where you need
them). I had no problems at all. The kitchen SB keeps playing even with
the microwave on.

Then I upgraded to 4 SB3's. Started out with two of them wired and two
wireless. None of them gave any problems. When I added a 2nd WAP to the
2nd floor of the house (to serve a webcam with marginal wifi reception)
I switched the other two to wireless as well. Playing Flacs or internet
radio gives no problems.

Well actually I've had one wireless problem when my downstairs WAP
switched to 2Mbit for no apparent reason. Power cycling fixed that.

So I started out sceptical but I'm slowly turning into a believer. ;)

Regards,
Peter

jeffmeh
2007-01-22, 04:33
2 SB3's on wireless here.

geraint smith
2007-01-22, 05:01
Is wired via ethernet bridge from Airport Express wired or wireless? Both at once? That's how my (working) SB2 is set up (and the spare one isn't!). Works well. Mostly.

Geraint.

Mark Lanctot
2007-01-22, 07:37
I'm not sure that's appropriate. The point about wired ethernet is that it's carried via a medium that's completely under your control and is therefore immune to interference from third parties.

Homeplug uses a shared carrier - the mains wiring. If a neighbour whose home is on the same phase as yours fires up something that injects loads of noise back into the mains (an arc welder, for example), then your Homeplug packets may possibly get trashed. (I don't know what happens if a neighbour on the same phase also has a Homeplug network - do his packets get back out past his meter and compete for the bandwidth you're trying to use?)

Therefore, in terms of potential for dropouts I'd say Homeplug, while certainly less vulnerable, is more akin to wireless.

OK, but I had to fit it in the poll somehow. ;-) And there is copper between the HomePlugs, so I thought of it as wired. Plus apparently it seems to behave like wired for most people, I've only heard of 1 or 2 problems on this forum.

Mark Lanctot
2007-01-22, 07:38
Is wired via ethernet bridge from Airport Express wired or wireless? Both at once? That's how my (working) SB2 is set up (and the spare one isn't!). Works well. Mostly.

Geraint.

As I stated in the second post, please consider that wireless. The SS -> SB packets are still going through thin air at one point.

Nikhil
2007-01-22, 08:27
I travel with my SB2 and use it wirelessly in one place and wired in another. Does this count as 'I have several units, some operate wired, some wireless' ?

Mark Lanctot
2007-01-22, 08:34
I travel with my SB2 and use it wirelessly in one place and wired in another. Does this count as 'I have several units, some operate wired, some wireless' ?

Wow, this is getting tough.

But I'd say - the poll describes how you use your SB in what you would consider to be your home.

magnanimous
2007-01-22, 09:33
One SB3 and one TP both wireless. TP acting as a wireless bridge for my Tivo. No problems at all.

Cheers Richard

schiegl
2007-01-22, 10:43
One SB3 and one TP both wireless. No problems streaming 96/24-flac-material.

GoCubs
2007-01-22, 11:33
In my new place I had to go wireless and to my surprise I rarely have any issues. I stream MP3 and Flac and at times have various players synced.

SB2, SB3, and TP all running via 802.11g.

-Greg

sfraser
2007-01-22, 13:22
Two wired and two wifi units . I am surprised at the anti wifi comments? I have never had any real problems with the wifi units, and I have up to 7 wifi devices running off the same AP at any given time.

All four work equally well, in fact the one I use in my audio room for serious listening, is wifi equipped. I bought the wired only models because I knew they both would be within 8 feet of a Ethernet Switch.

RalphO
2007-01-22, 14:09
Running wireless and move the squeezebox from living room to garden. Playing mainly FLAC with no issues.

JJZolx
2007-01-22, 14:25
One of the Squeezeboxes that I own is an SB2 in my home office, and sits less than five feet from my network switch and my wireless access point. I run it wirelessly. Never even occured to me to attach a cable. :) I don't think it's ever had a dropout, but needless to say it gets 100% wireless signal strength.

Ur[s]uS
2007-01-22, 15:06
I have two wireless SB3, but have switched the living room to homeplug (to avoid interference from microwave and improve signal strength). Am happy with homeplug (specifically, the units from www.solwise.co.uk).

aaronwt
2007-01-22, 17:25
I've had a Gigabit network since 2001. Both of mine are wired.

RiccardoR
2007-01-23, 15:49
My first SB1 (Graphic) was wired (to save some money beacause my HiFi is near the router); my second SB3 is Wireless but is now in the same place, wired as "main" HiFi player. So the SB1 is now travelling through my house: my daughter room, cabled with CAT5 and my kitchen were I use a Netgear homeplug but (I ask You) the slowness of homeplug don't permit to sincronize the SB's (?).
So I'm waiting Logitech to start the distribution also here in Italy and buy another SB3 (or SB4 !!) without the weight of duties and import taxes.
Riccardo

Michaelwagner
2007-01-28, 08:19
Well, I must say, you could blow me over with these results. More people operate all wirelessly than the other 2 categories, almost a majority on it's own. Woulda never thunk it.

tedfroop
2007-01-28, 08:29
Wireless to my Squeezebox only, it lets me move it outside when we entertain in the summer. When we go next door for a poker game - we can play music everyone likes and not hear the same song the entire time we play.

Michaelwagner
2007-01-28, 09:08
I'm curious. For those using wireless, are they SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?

The reason I ask is, my wireless SB1 has yet to stay connected more than a day or so. Ever. It's kind of a pain for me, a techy. I imagine it would be totally offputting to a newbie.

Are others getting better results? Or do people just learn to live with it?

If you are getting better results, is it with SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?

adamslim
2007-01-28, 11:09
I'm curious. For those using wireless, are they SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?

The reason I ask is, my wireless SB1 has yet to stay connected more than a day or so. Ever. It's kind of a pain for me, a techy. I imagine it would be totally offputting to a newbie.

Are others getting better results? Or do people just learn to live with it?

If you are getting better results, is it with SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?

I have a wireless SB3, and it's connected wirelessly via 2 hops to the server. It always just works - I just turn it on and it works. The whole wireless thing is totally transparent (literally!).

Saying that, I do live an a flat, so signal strength should be good. There are several other wifis nearby though.

If I'd've had to run cables I would have been deeply irritated :)

Adam

JJZolx
2007-01-28, 11:16
Well, I must say, you could blow me over with these results. More people operate all wirelessly than the other 2 categories, almost a majority on it's own. Woulda never thunk it.

I wouldn't read too much into polls like this. It's only a very small sampling of the ten's of thousands of Squeezebox owners.

Michaelwagner
2007-01-28, 11:26
I do live an a flat, so signal strength should be good. There are several other wifis nearby though.

Not being a brit, I'm not sure of the subtleties of "flat", but I thought that was just an apartment.

I live in an apartment. It's 18 stories high, and adjacent to 2 others of about the same size. There's a community college across the street.

Between the 3 apartment buildings and the college, there are at least 5 strong wifi zones in the area and another 5 or so that drift in and out on the winds. Not an ideal situation. And yet, apartments where you don't own the walls are exactly what wifi is for, aren't they?

peter
2007-01-28, 14:03
Michaelwagner wrote:
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> A poll associated with this post was created, to vote and see the
> results, please visit http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=31930
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Question: Do you use your Slim Devices equipment wired or wirelessly?
>
> - All wired
> - All wirelessly
> - I have several units, some operate wired, some wireless
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> I'm curious. For those using wireless, are they SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?
>
> The reason I ask is, my wireless SB1 has yet to stay connected more
> than a day or so. Ever. It's kind of a pain for me, a techy. I imagine
> it would be totally offputting to a newbie.
>
> Are others getting better results? Or do people just learn to live with
> it?
>
> If you are getting better results, is it with SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?
>

I used to have one wireless SB1 about 3 meters from the access point. It
worked flawlessly. I now have wireless 4 SB3's all over the (3 floor) house
with WAP's on the first and second floors. All work well.

Regards,
Peter

Ur[s]uS
2007-02-11, 03:49
I'm curious. For those using wireless, are they SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?

The reason I ask is, my wireless SB1 has yet to stay connected more than a day or so. Ever. It's kind of a pain for me, a techy. I imagine it would be totally offputting to a newbie.

Are others getting better results? Or do people just learn to live with it?

If you are getting better results, is it with SB1s, SB2s or SB3s?

SB3 - no 1/2 to compare. V Happy with SB3 connection, save for microwave interference close to kitchen.