PDA

View Full Version : PDA remote for SB3 rather than Slim Server?



Countryman
2007-01-08, 09:41
Hi,

I am getting pretty close to ordering some SB3s but have a question regarding remote controls. I have looked at the various threads concerning PDAs and either Michael Herger’s or TelCanto’s software. These interact directly with Slim Server so am I correct in assuming that they are only controlling the output from the PC? What I am looking for is the ability to browse my music library with the PDA and have my selection played from the SB3 in that room only.

Cheers!

CCRDude
2007-01-08, 09:47
I couldn't get the TelCanto software to run on my PDA (Windows Mobile 2005) and don't like Java, but I'm interested in other possible solutions as well.

About your question: interacting with Slimserver can control the output of every Squeezebox attached. You could install Slimserver and use Softsqueeze (a software player that acts as if it would be a real Squeezebox) to test how the web interface controls a player.

mherger
2007-01-08, 10:10
> These interact directly with Slim Server so am I correct in assuming
> that they are only controlling the output from the PC?

SlimRemote can control any player connected to the slimserver. You can
even sync them if you want.

> What I am
> looking for is the ability to browse my music library with the PDA and
> have my selection played from the SB3 in that room only.

That's exactly SlimRemote's purpose.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mherger
2007-01-08, 10:12
> I couldn't get the TelCanto software to run on my PDA (Windows Mobile
> 2005) and don't like Java, but I'm interested in other possible
> solutions as well.

There's no java involved, is there? The fact that there is a version
running with a Java runtime doesn't mean it's developped in java ;-).
SlimRemote is available as a 1MB Windows binary.

And why would you, from a user's point of view, care whether it's Java or
not?

(I'm really interested in this question: what makes _users_ think Java was
no good?)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Countryman
2007-01-08, 10:13
About your question: interacting with Slimserver can control the output of every Squeezebox attached. You could install Slimserver and use Softsqueeze (a software player that acts as if it would be a real Squeezebox) to test how the web interface controls a player.
Hi CCRDude,

I hope that I am understanding you correctly! I can understand how you can control the output of every Squeezebox. I only want to control one, i.e. the one in the same room as me. I have Softsqueeze installed, but you can only run one instance of it at any one time. I guess my real question is how does the software know which SB3 to control? If I set up an IR connection with one SB3 can I use the PDA as a normal remote but with the Album art displayed? (This is how I tend to browse my music collection using my current set up using Foobar2000.)

Brian

CCRDude
2007-01-08, 10:49
@Countryman: I know only about the default skin, but there, the right half of the browser window is dedicated to the player, and it has a pulldown list to select the player you want to control. Couldn't be simpler :)

Did a Google images search and found a screenshot:
http://www.rpsys.net/openzaurus/temp/slimserver.png
See the box showing "Lounge" in the upper right corner showing which one it would control.

@mherger: I'm a user, but I'm also a developer ;) And as that, I've used nearly a dozen languages now, and Java is still one of the worst. May be coming from the slow speed in its early days or whatever - when I first played around with VB, I thought there could be nothing more slow - and then came Java ;)
And even if its just "runtime"... well then its interpreted code, not native code, and that means its slower than necessary ;)

Still, on a small device, it imho matters to users as well. A language that knows no destructors is an absolute NO for me on a device that doesn't have a lot of memory.

And why I think Java would be involved is that I found a Java and an "Ewe" version of your page(I was looking for a version to run on my PocketPC), and even for Ewe, you wrote "Ewe is a programming system that allows you to write applications, using Java".

Did I misunderstand that? If so, I'll gladly give it another try :=)

Countryman
2007-01-08, 11:11
@Countryman: I know only about the default skin, but there, the right half of the browser window is dedicated to the player, and it has a pulldown list to select the player you want to control. Couldn't be simpler :)

Did a Google images search and found a screenshot:
http://www.rpsys.net/openzaurus/temp/slimserver.png
See the box showing "Lounge" in the upper right corner showing which one it would control.

CCRDude,

Many thanks, all is clear now! Because I don’t own any physical SBs yet, my instance of SlimServer did not have the all important pulldown list. The picture makes it all clear.

Thanks again.

mherger
2007-01-08, 14:01
> And why I think Java would be involved is that I found a Java and an
> "Ewe" version of your page(I was looking for a version to run on my
> PocketPC), and even for Ewe, you wrote "Ewe is a programming system
> that allows you to write applications, using Java".
>
> Did I misunderstand that? If so, I'll gladly give it another try :=)

Nope - you got me. While Ewe uses a language based on Java it uses its own
runtime which is a lot smaller than anything you'll see in Java. But
basically you're right :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

CCRDude
2007-01-09, 01:40
Tried anyway and got quite persuaded against it I'm afraid ;)

2.5 MB for the runtime - ok, so I installed it to the memory card. What's that? It doesn't use the main start menu, but creates a folder structure for the windows folder and start menu on the memory card. And not only that, it puts the executable, libraries and config files all into that start menu. Will obviously never appear in the start menu that way.

So then I started the ewe.exe file from the start menu, and could add a menu item for SlimRemote. Clicking that just killed Ewe without any message.

Could finally start SlimRemote directly from TotalCommander - it actually looks nice :) Still reacting a bit slow though (are the lists virtual? the hourglass on every scroll action was a bit annoying), but that's probably due to Slimserver running on a NAS. Too bad the runtime behind it doesn't behave nice ;)

mherger
2007-01-09, 01:54
> Tried anyway

Thanks :-)

> and got quite persuaded against it I'm afraid ;)

Your choice.

> Could finally start SlimRemote directly from TotalCommander - it
> actually looks nice :) Still reacting a bit slow though (are the lists
> virtual? the hourglass on every scroll action was a bit annoying), but
> that's probably due to Slimserver running on a NAS. Too bad the runtime
> behind it doesn't behave nice ;)

I'm communicating with slimserver through the CLI. The lists are built
about one screen at a time to get the fastest reaction possible. Once
fetched data is cached for a minute. But while scrolling you'll see the
hourglass for every element not fetched yet (usually well below a second,
I hope). The faster the backend server, the less you see the hourglass
(the same applies for the frontend machine as well).

Thanks for the feedback. I'd prefer something native myself. But native
for Zaurus, Windows and Linux desktop is a lot of work ;-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

CCRDude
2007-01-09, 03:53
FreePascal+Lazarus allows - with the same code - to compile for Windows 32/64 native, Windows CE (aka Mobile), Linux Gtk1, Gtk2, and imho there are even Qt-for-Win+Linux+Mac widgets. Have already started a CLI class in FPC, but haven't implemented and tested more than a dozen calls (didn't have much time and adding them all was kind of... stupid typing only, so I put that aside for other more important work ;) ). When it's ready, I'll GPL it and upload somewhere :)

psykoptic
2007-02-09, 17:50
I've manged to get Slimremote running in Ewe on my PDA, and connecting to Slimserver (http://[ip address]:6000/) but its doesn't show any tracks or playlists - everything is just blank.

My PDA is an Orange M600 running Windows Mobile 5.0, OS 5.1.195 with an OMAP850/195MHz processor.

I'm using a Squeezebox 3 with Slimserver 6.5.1

Is this supported?

mherger
2007-02-10, 00:38
> I've manged to get Slimremote running in Ewe on my PDA, and connecting
> to Slimserver (http://[ip address]:6000/) but its doesn't show any

Where did you put this address in? First: 6000 must be a type - web
interface usually is on 9000. Second: SlimRemote uses the CLI, which is
_not_ http, and which is running on port 9090.

So... do you have the CLI plugin enabled (Server Settings/Plugins)? Please
turn on d_cli in Server Settings/Debugging and watch the slimserver log
file while you're playing with SlimRemote. What do you see?

> My PDA is an Orange M600 running Windows Mobile 5.0, OS 5.1.195 with an
> OMAP850/195MHz processor.
> Is this supported?

There's an issue with the SIP on Windows Mobile 5.0, but otherwise it
should be fine.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR