• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • saneangel
    • Dec 2006

FLAC gapless with 106e problems

newbie here, so please be gentle :-)

Title says it all really.
    I have a 106e (slimserver 6.3.1) with about 500 albums encoded in FLAC playing to an 'all black' wireless squeezebox.
    When playing back albums (like pink floyd) that require gapless transitions only the first transition is gapless. If I start half way through an album then the first transition of the plkayback is gapless (so if I start on track 3, track 3->4 is gapless 4->5 has 3 second pause, 5-> pause etc).
    This is also noticeable on other albums, first gap is tiny subsequent gaps are about 3 seconds.
    I do not have the web browser connected since this puts a significant load on the 106e during track changes.

I have turned on the buffer display on the squerezebox and notice that the buffer runs empty between tracks yet fills within 3-5 seconds of the start of a track - so the data rate over wireless is no problem.
    I would have thought that the next track would be sent before the end of the last to eliminate any critical timing issues - this doesn't appear to happen. Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere ?

All thoughts and ideas welcome, I love the unit but not sure if I can live with big pauses where there shouldn't be

Thanks
  • RichardEvans
    • Oct 2006

I don't know if this is any help, but I also have some problems with gaps between tracks.

If I have just one Squeezebox running then I get perfect gapless transition between tracks.

If I have both of my 2 Squeezeboxes running (they are synchronised) then I get gaps between tracks.

If I have both Squeezeboxes running, and I'm using Random Song selection, then I have even bigger problems. In that case there is a pause actually during the first few seconds of each track, and then the 2 Squeezeboxes often loose synchronsation.