PDA

View Full Version : Do you need to subscribe to Last.FM to run via SB?



jeffarm
2006-12-22, 19:00
Do you need to subscribe to run Last.FM through Squeezebox?

I've downloaded the Last.FM plugin and it shows up under Internet Radio but when I select through the remote I get:

1. Connecting...
2. playeruser/jeffarm/neighbors

and then nothing. I press play again and I get "update sent to LastFM".

atlslim
2006-12-22, 20:59
Do you need to subscribe to run Last.FM through Squeezebox?

Yes - you will need an account w/ user name and password entered into the plugin settings but it is free - don't need to have a paid subscription for the plugin to work

mattybain
2006-12-23, 04:52
However (although I have not tested this) LastFM is under considerable strain at the moment and they are *suppposed* to give preference in streaming to paid subscribers.

jeffarm
2006-12-23, 08:21
It must be the demand because I'm having trouble accessing through my desktop now. Getting message "this content is only available to subcribers".

Last.FM got a nice plug in Time Magazine (which is how I found out about it) which could explain the surge.

I'm going to subscribe and see if I can get it going that way.

jeffarm
2006-12-23, 10:56
I was able to get it going without subscribing. It looks like it was the recent "strain" on the servers. Thanks!

chiefersone
2007-01-09, 05:49
I got it going yesterday without subscribing so I know it works very well indeed.