PDA

View Full Version : NetGear DG834v2 Set up ...HELP!

EasilyConfused
2006-12-22, 06:58
Errr...Hi again guys..Luddite alert!
I am getting nowhere trying to set up recently purchased DG834v2. I am by no means a computer expert but usually manage to set up and install most hardware and software without having to even glimpse at the instructions.... however, with this, I am completely and utterly lost! There seems to be so many variables and settings and jargon that I simply do not understand, at this moment in time, the task seems impossible.
I'll give you a few details to go off.
1. Model name on back of unit - DG834v2
2. Modem/Router/Firewall
3. Assume I'm retarded when talking acronyms etc
4. No Driver software or CD included in box. Should there have been one included?
5. Downloaded set up instructions PDF from Netgear site (but this pdf seemed to be geared towards wireless version)
6. Got as far as connecting to http://192.168.0.1 I was then presented with set up wizzard which I tried to follow but only got as far as the second page where there was an option to 'check status' - when selecting check status, a box appears with various data and tells me that connection has failed.
7.I am in the Uk and my service provider is Virgin.My phone provider is BT
8. When 'ISP address' is referred to, does this mean mine or my service providers? I have no record of, and do not know how to find out my ISP address or my service providers ISP address.
9. I have connected the DG834 to the ethernet port on my PC.
10.I have removed old speedtouch modem and connected DG834 to excisting filter.
11. I have done a hard reset on the DG834 in case any settings wre altered during my first set up attempt.
12. All the appropriate lights on the DG834 seem to work so far, in accordance with the set up instructions.
13. The ethernet cable from my PC is connected to the first ehternet port on the DG 834 nearest to the the DSL port (next to the hard reset button)
PLEASE HELP!
Many thanks.
Rob