PDA

View Full Version : How can I keep aac and lossless files without showing duplication?



dgstrat
2006-12-19, 13:34
Hi there,

I'm still pretty new to the Squeezebox world. I currently have all my music ripped to 192 AAC and use Itunes to sych with my ipod. i also have slimserver set to use my Itunes settings. Here's the problem. i want to rip all my music to Apple Lossless for streaming to the Squeezebox and also keep the AAC files for my Ipod. There will be lots of duplication. Can i run 2 seperate Itunes applications? One for my ipod and one for my Squeezebox? If not, does anyone have a suggestion?

Thanks.

dgstrat
2006-12-19, 21:06
Bump. Anybody?

chaz
2006-12-19, 21:47
Rip all of the lossless files to a seperate location (ie. don't keep them in your itunes library) and then set up slimserver to use that location, rather than having slimserver use the itunes library.

SteveEast
2006-12-19, 22:17
Hi there,

I'm still pretty new to the Squeezebox world. I currently have all my music ripped to 192 AAC and use Itunes to sych with my ipod. i also have slimserver set to use my Itunes settings. Here's the problem. i want to rip all my music to Apple Lossless for streaming to the Squeezebox and also keep the AAC files for my Ipod. There will be lots of duplication. Can i run 2 seperate Itunes applications? One for my ipod and one for my Squeezebox? If not, does anyone have a suggestion?

Thanks.

I do exactly the same - Apple Lossless (ALAC) for the SB and 192 AAC for the iPod.

I use a single instance of iTunes. Within iTunes the ALAC songs are checked and the AAC songs are not checked. I configure a smart playlist for syncing to the iPod that explicitly excludes songs with Kind containing Lossless. And 'Match only checked items' is NOT selected.

I have the SlimServer iTunes configuration set to not include unchecked songs.

So the check marks are effectively ignored by iTunes when syncing to the iPod. And they're used by SS to decide what to import. If you don't have an ALAC version of a song, then you can check the AAC copy and SS will pick it up.

Steve.

Eric Seaberg
2006-12-19, 23:03
There is an app called MultiTunes at http://www.porkrind.org/multitunes/ that allows you to create MULTIPLE LIBRARIES and switch between them on-the-fly. This is what I use and it's GREAT!

I setup a library for my iPod (called iTunes) and one for Slim (called server). Each one points to a TOTALLY different hard-drive and set of preferences. This allows me to keep the server stuff Lossless (or whatever) and the iPod stuff at 128k or 192k AAC.

In fact, I only rip ONCE as Lossless, then re-encode that file to 192k AAC when I want to move it to the iPod. There's NO NEED to rip it TWICE.

dgstrat
2006-12-20, 08:40
This sounds perfect! Thanks, very much.



There is an app called MultiTunes at http://www.porkrind.org/multitunes/ that allows you to create MULTIPLE LIBRARIES and switch between them on-the-fly. This is what I use and it's GREAT!

I setup a library for my iPod (called iTunes) and one for Slim (called server). Each one points to a TOTALLY different hard-drive and set of preferences. This allows me to keep the server stuff Lossless (or whatever) and the iPod stuff at 128k or 192k AAC.

In fact, I only rip ONCE as Lossless, then re-encode that file to 192k AAC when I want to move it to the iPod. There's NO NEED to rip it TWICE.

dgstrat
2006-12-21, 09:16
Hi Eric,

I downloaded multitunes, but am not sure how to install. It shows as a .dmg file and i can't open it. I couldn't find any instructions on their website. Am I missing something?

Thx,

Darren


There is an app called MultiTunes at http://www.porkrind.org/multitunes/ that allows you to create MULTIPLE LIBRARIES and switch between them on-the-fly. This is what I use and it's GREAT!

I setup a library for my iPod (called iTunes) and one for Slim (called server). Each one points to a TOTALLY different hard-drive and set of preferences. This allows me to keep the server stuff Lossless (or whatever) and the iPod stuff at 128k or 192k AAC.

In fact, I only rip ONCE as Lossless, then re-encode that file to 192k AAC when I want to move it to the iPod. There's NO NEED to rip it TWICE.

dgstrat
2006-12-21, 11:46
OK. Looks like Multitunes is Mac only.........Anyone know of anything similar for Windows?

Wirrunna
2006-12-22, 13:35
Have a look at this article >>-> http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20061025105820390
Should work on PC as well as Mac.

Edit:
Here is another article >>-> http://playlistmag.com/secrets/2006/11/decemberplaylist/index.php