PDA

View Full Version : QNAP lock ups



2pods
2006-12-19, 06:34
For the second time my TS-101 has locked solid, requiring me to cut the power to it via the plug as it was not responding to the power switch.

I've checked the last log, which reports only that on two occasions it couldn't sync to the time server (?).
I hadn't even been using it at the time.

After restarting everything seems OK
On trying to run "Check disk", or "Check Bad Blocks" from the administration page gave me a message saying "the disk cannot be unmounted"
Wha ?

I am more than a bit worried as it would appear to have had a disk crash, but I can't check it ?

Peter

davidcotton
2006-12-19, 14:38
How hot was the unit when it locked up? Do you have it in a sensibly ventilated area?

Good luck getting this sorted, my original one had to go back due to similar lock ups, it wouldn't make it through a song never mind album...

2pods
2006-12-19, 14:53
How hot was the unit when it locked up? Do you have it in a sensibly ventilated area?

Good luck getting this sorted, my original one had to go back due to similar lock ups, it wouldn't make it through a song never mind album...

it's in a old hifi unit with a glass door, but its open at the back.

It's done it twice so far.

Did you get an explanation with your replacement ?

Peter

davidcotton
2006-12-20, 12:11
Nope, just a replacement.

2pods
2006-12-20, 13:30
Have you managed to use the disk check on it ?

Peter

2pods
2006-12-31, 08:27
Locked again last night.
This morning it seems to have a different IP address.

I've changed the settings in IE7 to access it, but there is nothing of note in the log.

The only thing I could say was that it felt very warm.

I think I will have to try and contact Paul at progressive ......sigh.

Peter

2pods
2007-01-07, 13:47
Locked again last night.
This morning it seems to have a different IP address.

I've changed the settings in IE7 to access it, but there is nothing of note in the log.

The only thing I could say was that it felt very warm.

I think I will have to try and contact Paul at progressive ......sigh.

Peter

And again !
It wouldn't be so bad if it responded to the on/off switch...........grr !