PDA

View Full Version : Using static IP address - now can't connect to internet radio or Squeezenetwork



boybees
2006-12-14, 22:06
When I was using DHCP, I had no problems getting internet radio, but my laptop kept getting bumped of the network due to IP address conflicts.

Now I'm using a static IP which seems to have solved the problem just mentioned. But now I can't connect to any internet radio stations or squeezenetwork. There must be some setting on my router than needs changing, but I haven't a clue.

Any ideas?

mherger
2006-12-14, 23:05
> There must be some setting on my router than needs
> changing, but I haven't a clue.

Routers usually aren't affected by such changes as long as you're choosing
addresses out of the same range as the router's DHCP range. What's your IP
configuration on router, PC and SB?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

boybees
2006-12-14, 23:14
> There must be some setting on my router than needs
> changing, but I haven't a clue.

Routers usually aren't affected by such changes as long as you're choosing
addresses out of the same range as the router's DHCP range. What's your IP
configuration on router, PC and SB?


What exactly do you mean by IP configuration? Please clarify, and I'll get the information. Thanks.

mherger
2006-12-15, 00:03
> What exactly do you mean by IP configuration? Please clarify, and I'll
> get the information. Thanks.

What IP address, gateway, dns did you set when configuring the static IP
settings on your devices?

If you don't know what this means, there's a good chance your
configuration isn't correct. On Windows you can run "ipconfig /all" from a
command window. On the SB go to the main menu, press and hold LEFT until
you're back in the player's setup screen, then go to "current network
settings" or something.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

boybees
2006-12-15, 00:26
> What exactly do you mean by IP configuration? Please clarify, and I'll
> get the information. Thanks.

What IP address, gateway, dns did you set when configuring the static IP
settings on your devices?

If you don't know what this means, there's a good chance your
configuration isn't correct. On Windows you can run "ipconfig /all" from a
command window. On the SB go to the main menu, press and hold LEFT until
you're back in the player's setup screen, then go to "current network
settings" or something.


That's what I thought you meant.

The SB3 is the only device on the network with a static IP. Here are the settings

IP address: 192.168.001.111
Default Gateway: 071.106.041.001
DNS server: 068.238.064.012


PC settings (DHCP):
IP address: 192.168.001.100
Default Gateway: 192.168.001.100
DNS server: 068.238.064.012

Router settings:
IP Address: 071.106.041.176
Default Gateway: 071.106.041.001
DNS server: 068.238.064.012

With these settings, the SB3 can access Slimserver just fine, but not internet access (e.g., internet radio, Squeezenetwork)

mherger
2006-12-15, 00:49
You very probably gave us the external (WAN) IP address of your router
instead of the local (LAN) address. The latter should be something like
192.168.001.xyz. Put that latter as your SB's gateway.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

boybees
2006-12-15, 07:28
You very probably gave us the external (WAN) IP address of your router
instead of the local (LAN) address. The latter should be something like
192.168.001.xyz. Put that latter as your SB's gateway.

You nailed it. Using:

Default Gateway: 192.168.001.001

solves the problem. Thanks so much!