PDA

View Full Version : Open Ports ... Security Issue?

jonheal
2006-12-12, 15:07
I've read through a number of posts that vaguely hint at the security risks of opening ports 3483 and 9000 on your firewall so that you can access your music from outside your local network.

My question is what are the REAL risk(s) of doing so? I'm not a networking expert, but I don't see how someone is going to be able to browse my hard drives (Windows) unless I have ports 137, 138, 139 and/or 445 open. What can a nefarious person really do with port 3483? It seems that I actually don't even need 9000 open to use SoftSqueeze.

Gregory Hamilton
2006-12-12, 15:15
They can control your squeezboxes. Think of sudden loud music in the middle
of the night!
They can download music from your server. There is a download link for each
song.
They can display text messages on your Squeezeboxes.

byKnight
2006-12-12, 15:20
The risk is that someone finds a weakness in the way SlimServer is implemented that they can use to comandeer it for purposes nefarious.

jonheal
2006-12-12, 15:21
They can control your squeezboxes. Think of sudden loud music in the middle
of the night!
They can download music from your server. There is a download link for each
song.
They can display text messages on your Squeezeboxes.

But not if 9000 is closed, right?

jonheal
2006-12-12, 15:22
The risk is that someone finds a weakness in the way SlimServer is implemented that they can use to comandeer it for purposes nefarious.

I'll accept that risk if there are no KNOWN issues.

Mark Lanctot
2006-12-12, 15:23
SlimServer was not really designed for high security. With its ports wide open, who knows what a determined hacker can do with it?

Plus an open port puts up a red flag to all the bots out there looking for interesting IPs. A hacker may come back and do some further investigation - finding other things that may be much more dangerous and that he can exploit immediately.

Browny
2006-12-12, 15:23