PDA

View Full Version : Suitable router.....



EasilyConfused
2006-12-11, 11:48
Thinking of buying wired SB. I want internet radio without PC being on. Mp3s streamed to my hi fi.... that's all. Would either of the following be suitable for the wired SB ?

Netgear DG 632
Netgear DG 834

...as far as I can tell, with my narrow attention span, they both do the same job - maybe one has more ports or serves you coffe or something, I don't know. They both seem to have a built in adsl modem and split my internet connection - to my PC and to my SB (with a cable) ?? Am I right?

Could I get away with anything simpler....cheaper?

jeffmeh
2006-12-11, 13:11
Thinking of buying wired SB. I want internet radio without PC being on. Mp3s streamed to my hi fi.... that's all. Would either of the following be suitable for the wired SB ?

Netgear DG 632
Netgear DG 834

...as far as I can tell, with my narrow attention span, they both do the same job - maybe one has more ports or serves you coffe or something, I don't know. They both seem to have a built in adsl modem and split my internet connection - to my PC and to my SB (with a cable) ?? Am I right?

Could I get away with anything simpler....cheaper?

I believe the 632 has one USB and one ethernet output, so you could connect one device of each type without buying a switch. It's very limited and gets pretty mediocre to bad reviews.

The 834 has a four ethernet ports, so it is more flexible.

Both products have a built-in ADSL modem. If you already have a working ADSL modem you do not need that feature. In that case, just go with a 4-port router.

If you like Netgear, try http://www.netgear.com/Products/RoutersandGateways/WiredRouters/RP614.aspx

Linksys sells http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1122062340941&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper

Belkin sells http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=136521

You can also look for something used if you want to save some money. These devices are pretty basic and are likely to be available. If you search Ebay for "4 port router" you will likely get many pages returned.

slimpy
2006-12-12, 01:49
Both products have a built-in ADSL modem. If you already have a working ADSL modem you do not need that feature. In that case, just go with a 4-port router.

Only if your modem has an ethernet port. If it is usb-only you need a router with built-in modem and multiple ethernet ports.

-s.

ceejay
2006-12-12, 02:17
Easily - this is what happens when you crosspost!

All - in another thread Easily has said his modem has a USB output to the PC (this is unfortunately "standard" in the cheap UK broadband services).

So - Easily, you need a router, with at least a couple of wired LAN connections (one for PC, one for SB). You've said you don't want wireless.

A Netgear DG834 will do nicely - at 37 thats not expensive.

Don't get a DG632, it only gives you one USB and one ethernet port and although it could certainly be made to work, it is not so expandable and could cause you complications later that you don't need.

Alternatives: http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3NNZ

Or if *cheap* is your priority this might work: http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx?Quicklinx=44PJ

HTH

Ceejay

EasilyConfused
2006-12-12, 09:11
Would a Bt Voyager 210 do the Job? Can get one of these new for 20
It has 1 usb (which I assume will connect the voyager and my PC) and 1 ethernet (which I assume will 'route' my internet connection to the SB) .......am I getting the hang of this? Eh, Eh? ! P.S...not bothered about about expandability etc. Just wanna get the SB up and running.

Ramage
2006-12-12, 09:23
It would probably do the job you require if your ISP is BT. I believe that the Voyagers are locked to that ISP. Google it and you will see a number of entries about it being locked up.

Good luck

jeffmeh
2006-12-12, 09:53
My apologies. I assumed his ADSL modem had an ethernet port (a modem without an ethernet port, who would ever buy that). :-P

ceejay
2006-12-12, 10:40
My apologies. I assumed his ADSL modem had an ethernet port (a modem without an ethernet port, who would ever buy that). :-P

No-one - they're given away here! I have one in a cupboard I don't ever intend to use...

Ceejay

azinck3
2006-12-12, 11:54
Would a Bt Voyager 210 do the Job? Can get one of these new for 20
It has 1 usb (which I assume will connect the voyager and my PC) and 1 ethernet (which I assume will 'route' my internet connection to the SB) .......am I getting the hang of this? Eh, Eh? ! P.S...not bothered about about expandability etc. Just wanna get the SB up and running.

I don't know if modems support connecting via USB and ethernet simultaneously. That would be a highly unconventional setup and I doubt your PC would be able to "talk to" your SB, even if interne access managed to work. You're making this so hard on yourself! Just get a modem with a router and a 4 port switch built in (like the netgear DG834 or one of the other of hundreds of devices like this). Don't connect the modem to your PC via USB--connect it via ethernet.

Ramage
2006-12-13, 02:15
I don't know if modems support connecting via USB and ethernet simultaneously. That would be a highly unconventional setup and I doubt your PC would be able to "talk to" your SB, even if interne access managed to work. You're making this so hard on yourself! Just get a modem with a router and a 4 port switch built in (like the netgear DG834 or one of the other of hundreds of devices like this). Don't connect the modem to your PC via USB--connect it via ethernet.

I have a Voyager 220 which I use with an ethernet switch, but I don't use the USB port. There is no indication in the handbook that it is able to make a connection between the ethernet port and a PC on USB. I believe it is designed to connect both the USB and ethernet ports to the internet only. Squeezebox would therefore not be able to connect to a slimserver running on the PC but would be able to connect to Squeezenetwork.

A Voyager 210 would be a risky venture and I would recommend an ADSL router such as a DG834G or similar - not expensive.

adamslim
2006-12-13, 07:24
I second (actually third or fourth, I think) getting an ADSL modem-router with a 4-port switch. I've bought cheap stuff in the past and you just have to bin it when your needs change.

However, you might want to get a wireless one too. You'll buy some wi-fi products soon, so you may as well spend the 60-odd now and get it over with. One product to configure - much the best way.

Adam

EasilyConfused
2006-12-13, 15:39
At last I hear you sigh.... yep, I gone and done it and got me one of them Netgear DG 834 Modem Router type things for 25. Now all I have to do is find somewhere that has a Squeezebox in stock! Come to think of it.... what EXACTLY is a Squeezebox? ...had you goin for a moment thre guys did I not ? !!

Jeffmeh,Ceejay,Anzick3,JJZolx,Ramage thanks a million fellas for your guidance and expertise - very very much appreciated.
EasilyConfused.

....Ooops, sorry Ceejay Sir, went and 'crossposted' again !