PDA

View Full Version : Transporter input button?



JJZolx
2006-12-08, 10:00
Is it conceivable that one of the front buttons on the Transporter could be mapped to step through the digital inputs? I suppose one of the steps would need to be 'Now Playing' in order to get back to the connected SlimServer.

When using the Transporter as a DAC, it would be convenient to be able to drop a CD in my player and simply select the digital input like you'd do with a typical preamp or multi-input DAC, instead of having to go through the menu hierarchy.

kdf
2006-12-08, 10:28
Quoting JJZolx <JJZolx.2iib6b1165597501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> Is it conceivable that one of the front buttons on the Transporter could
> be mapped to step through the digital inputs?

certainly, thought at this time would require something beyond a
simple .map file change to handle the toggle, an input_toggle function
in the DigitalInput plugin.

you can, however, with much less effort map any button to a specific
digital input.

in the custom.map, or whatever you want to call it, map your button to:
modefunction_PLUGIN.DigitalInput::Plugin->toslink

the 4 inputs are named:
aes-ebu
bnc-spdif
rcs-spdif
toslink

-kdf

JJZolx
2006-12-08, 10:54
certainly, thought at this time would require something beyond a
simple .map file change to handle the toggle, an input_toggle function
in the DigitalInput plugin.

you can, however, with much less effort map any button to a specific
digital input.

in the custom.map, or whatever you want to call it, map your button to:
modefunction_PLUGIN.DigitalInput::Plugin->toslink

the 4 inputs are named:
aes-ebu
bnc-spdif
rcs-spdif
toslink
Thanks. That would work. I'd probably just need to map one button to bnc-spdif. I could then map another button to 'Now Playing' to get back, correct?

Here's one I probably already know the answer to:

Can buttons on the Transporter's faceplate be remapped without affecting the function of the corresponding button on the remote?

radish
2006-12-08, 11:28
Thanks. That would work. I'd probably just need to map one button to bnc-spdif. I could then map another button to 'Now Playing' to get back, correct?

There's already one mapped to Now Playing :)



Can buttons on the Transporter's faceplate be remapped without affecting the function of the corresponding button on the remote?
I don't see why not, they're seperate control paths and treated as seperate mappings.

kdf
2006-12-08, 11:28
Quoting JJZolx <JJZolx.2iidhn1165600501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> I could then map another button to 'Now Playing' to get
> back, correct?

yup, or just start playing something else. the digital inputs are
simply playable urls like anything else.

> Here's one I probably already know the answer to:
>
> Can buttons on the Transporter's faceplate be remapped without
> affecting the function of the corresponding button on the remote?

mostly. look at front_panel.ir for the front panel functions. some
match the slim_devices_remote.ir button names, but not all. It should
also work if you rename the ir button you want to use, and then use
that button name to function mapping in your custom.map

-kdf