PDA

View Full Version : Basic Playlist Question

BBobley
2006-12-03, 19:18
I've been using Slimserver and Squeezeboxes for a few years now, but am only now trying out the playlists. Forgive me if these questions are a bit basic.

In the SlimServer server config, I have my playlist folder set to "E:\playlists" (Windows is the OS). Today I added some songs to one of my Squeezeboxes and used the web-based interface to save the playlist. I can now "browse" and see and play the playlist. Oddly, though, if I look in "E:\playlists" there is nothing there. I had expected to see a .M3U file in there or something similar. Where is the playlist actually stored? I had been hoping to see how Slim formatted the playlist file so that I could create more of them in a text editor and then drop them into the playlist folder. Am I missing something here?

thanks

Brett

ceejay
2006-12-04, 01:06
Something odd here... if you have created and can see a playlist called "foo" then there should be a file "foo.m3u" in your playlists directory, as you suggested. Have you tried doing a "Search" from Windows Explorer for "*.m3u" in case there is some confusion about locations?

Ceejay

peter
2006-12-04, 03:02
BBobley wrote:
> I've been using Slimserver and Squeezeboxes for a few years now, but am
> only now trying out the playlists. Forgive me if these questions are a
> bit basic.
>
> In the SlimServer server config, I have my playlist folder set to
> "E:\playlists" (Windows is the OS). Today I added some songs to one
> of my Squeezeboxes and used the web-based interface to save the
> playlist. I can now "browse" and see and play the playlist. Oddly,
> though, if I look in "E:\playlists" there is nothing there. I had
> expected to see a .M3U file in there or something similar. Where is
> the playlist actually stored? I had been hoping to see how Slim
> formatted the playlist file so that I could create more of them in a
> text editor and then drop them into the playlist folder. Am I missing