PDA

View Full Version : High bandwidth useage when only displaying the clock



Psychophylaxis
2006-12-01, 08:45
I recently installed the latest SlimServer 6.5.0, upgrading from an old 6.0.x beta version (which worked great). Now when my Squeezebox 2 is idling (i.e. just showing the clock, no streaming music) it consume a lot of bandwidth noticably slowing down internet access.
Shutdown the SlimServer service and the network traffic drops right down, restart the service and it sky rockets again.

Last night it transfered 35 meg in 40 minutes, I can't believe that amount of data is required to maintain the clock display.

Anyone else seen this and is there anywhere I can download older releases of the software (can't find the old installer)?

Siduhe
2006-12-01, 08:50
Older versions of software are here:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/

That sounds like way too much for just the clock display. My consumption with 6.5.1. is nowhere near that. Someone posted about a similar problem recently and it turned out that he had a lot of RSS feeds regularly downloading (for use as a screensaver). Any chance it could be something like that for you ?

P.S. I would definitely try 6.5.1 not 6.5.0. - it's stable and there are a lot of bug fixes in it...

Psychophylaxis
2006-12-01, 08:59
That sounds like way too much for just the clock display. My consumption with 6.5.1. is nowhere near that. Someone posted about a similar problem recently and it turned out that he had a lot of RSS feeds regularly downloading (for use as a screensaver). Any chance it could be something like that for you ?

Nope, my PC is clean and I didn't have this problem until I upgraded. Even tried running Spybot over it, but didn't help. Stopping and restarting the service proves to me at least that the slimserver is at fault. I'll try the nightly build, if not downgrade back to 6.0.x.

bergek
2006-12-01, 09:05
Using tcpdump I can see one IP packet every second (of size 1330 bytes) going to my TP and my SB3 respectively (with small ACKs going the other way) while the devices are idling and only showing the time.

That would amount to about 80kB/min or a little more than 3MB in the time you mention. I run SS 6.5.0 on Ubuntu 6.06 Server.

stinkingpig
2006-12-01, 09:06
On 12/1/06, Psychophylaxis
<Psychophylaxis.2i59hz1164988801 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Siduhe;158945 Wrote:
> > That sounds like way too much for just the clock display. My
> > consumption with 6.5.1. is nowhere near that. Someone posted about a
> > similar problem recently and it turned out that he had a lot of RSS
> > feeds regularly downloading (for use as a screensaver). Any chance it
> > could be something like that for you ?
>
> Nope, my PC is clean and I didn't have this problem until I upgraded.
> Even tried running Spybot over it, but didn't help. Stopping and
> restarting the service proves to me at least that the slimserver is at
> fault. I'll try the nightly build, if not downgrade back to 6.0.x.
>

Why would spybot tell you that you've configured too many RSS
screensavers in Slimserver?

This is not behavior that anyone else is seeing with any version of
the software, so there's gotta be something different in your
configuration. If you keep that configuration, downgrading and
upgrading probably won't make any difference. If you're lucky,
upgrading or downgrading might erase the preference that's causing the
problem, which would cause yet another spurious "6.5 ATE MY CHILDREN"
complaint.

--
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
So across the Western ocean I must wander" -- traditional

Triode
2006-12-01, 09:09
Does the clock have seconds on the display? If so it requires a display frame very second [the display is created in the server and sent to the player]

SB1 and SLIMP3 required an display update very second and so there is a display frame update at that rate all the time. SB2/3/Transporter don't need this, so should only send display updates when the display is changed.

dborn
2006-12-01, 09:32
I host my slimserver (V6.3.1) on a Linkstation and since it has a network activity led on the front panel, I can see that displaying the clock even with just HH:MM format, still sends data every second to my SB2... As always, YMMV.

Daniel

Triode
2006-12-01, 09:49
There is still network traffic if you display HH::MM, but the packets are small keepalives each way to confirm to the client that the server is still there. I think they are once every 2 seconds.

radish
2006-12-01, 10:36
The other thing to point out is that when using a local slimserver the traffic for displaying the clock is entirely within the LAN - it will cause no external (internet) traffic. The OP mentioned that internet access was slowed, indicating external traffic, and further indicating that there's something else going on. RSS or some other screensaver/plugin sounds very likely.

Siduhe
2006-12-01, 10:48
Also, any UPnP servers like Rhapsody on / attached to the box that is running Slimserver ? I can see how that might have some kind of process running in the background which would push up download rates, and AFAIK, that functionality was only introduced in 6.5.0.

snarlydwarf
2006-12-01, 10:51
Or port 9000 is open through the firewall and some spider found it. Someone could either download/stream from that (wasting bandwidth), or just a misbehaved spider could be spamming it.