PDA

View Full Version : Browsing the right port



David Lawrence
2006-12-01, 05:07
Having changed the slimserver port to cope with conflicts on 9000 I now find that the browser interface still points initially to 9000 and I have to change it manually. How can I make it point to 9079 when it initializes?

bpa
2006-12-01, 05:36
The tray app is coded to pick up the port number from the prefs file - parameter "httpport:".

Either it doesn't work or you could try restarting the tray app as it may only be read on startup.

richidoo
2006-12-01, 05:50
You can create a shortcut in your browser with the port number added explicitly at the end. You can call any port you want and the browser will open it. I find having a shortcut on the links bar more convenient than the tray anyway. The only drawback is when a power outage takes away SS host's DHCP lease, and SS IP address changes making the link obsolete until I change it to the new IP manually. I probably need to take the SS host off DHCP.

Example, where 10.10.10.2 is the SS host IP address:
http://10.10.10.2:9079/

bergek
2006-12-01, 07:09
I probably need to take the SS host off DHCP.

Or, if your DHCP server supports it, use address reservations. That way, your DHCP server will give the client the same IP every time. I have so many small components on my home network that it would be tedious to configure all devices statically. By using reservations I have all IP configurations in one place.

Or, even better (but this requires that the SS box successfully registers its DNS name in your DNS server), use the computer name.

You could even fix it so that you don't have to type the port number at all. On my network I just surf to http://music to get the Slimserver web GUI.

David Lawrence
2006-12-01, 10:12
It seems the tray utility doesn't read the prefs file, because that clearly says 9079.

Intrigued by the idea of browsing to http://music. Is that some kind of variable set at system level?

David L

snarlydwarf
2006-12-01, 10:49
Or, even better (but this requires that the SS box successfully registers its DNS name in your DNS server), use the computer name.

Or run Samba on the server assuming it is a Unix-ish box (including MacOS), and you can do it from Windowsish clients since Windows loves propogating workstation names into its name service.