PDA

View Full Version : APE files don't want to play



tyler_durden
2006-11-23, 14:39
I am running this stuff:
SlimServer Version: 6.5.0 - 9916 - Debian - EN - iso-8859-1
Server IP address: 192.168.1.101
Perl Version: 5.8.7 x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
MySQL Version: 4.1.15-Debian_1ubuntu5

When I go to the server-settings/file-types page and check any/all of the .ape file format options and then "change" any/all of the check boxes come back unchecked.

The following error message appears when I try to enable monkey's audio to flac conversion:
Required binary was not found: [mac] $FILE$ - -d | [flac] -cs --totally-silent --compression-level-0 -

Is .ape support not working yet or do I need to install something on machine?

TD

kdf
2006-11-23, 14:46
Quoting tyler_durden
<tyler_durden.2hqvwn1164318002 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I am running this stuff:
> SlimServer Version: 6.5.0 - 9916 - Debian - EN - iso-8859-1
> Server IP address: 192.168.1.101
> Perl Version: 5.8.7 x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
> MySQL Version: 4.1.15-Debian_1ubuntu5
>
> When I go to the server-settings/file-types page and check any/all of
> the .ape file format options and then "change" any/all of the check
> boxes come back unchecked.
>
> Is .ape support not working yet?

the support it there, but if the setting is coming back unchecked then
you will have a message at the top explaining what problem exists.
Likely this is due to the server being unable to find the required mac
(monkeys audio codec) binary on your system. On linux systems, you'd
need to compile one unless there is a .de package you can get. There
isn't one included with linux installed as the dynamic linking would
tie to one specific system.
-kdf


-kdf

tyler_durden
2006-11-23, 21:19
I see.

Is there someplace I have to tell SS where to find the binary, or does it find it when it does a music library scan?

I have some innate bias against monkey's audio anyway. One day I'll try to figure out why I dislike .ape. In the meantime I'll just convert to .flac.

Thanks,

TD

bikefright
2006-11-24, 03:53
Hi,

I have the same problem - however, the mac.exe that is included as part of the SS install is the latest 3.99 and is definately there. I get exactly the same error message.

here are my stats:
----------------------------
SlimServer Version: 6.5.0 - 9916 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252
Server IP address: 192.168.1.3
Perl Version: 5.8.7 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt
----------------------------

Check you have this file:
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\mac.exe

...assuming you chose the default location during SS install ;-)

This is the .exe used by SS to provide on-the-fly transcoding and transcoding options are configured inside the file:

C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\convert.conf

If you do have this file and SS is still coming back with the same message then it must be something else other than missing mac.exe, IMHO.

I've even tried installing the latest 3.99f mac.exe from the Monkey's Audio distro into the dir, but it doesn't fix the problem.

The reason I say it might be linked is that I replied to a previous post in here re transcoding problem as part of troubleshooting why some of my .ape's are no longer playing (work fine in foobar etc).

Think I've ruled out tagging as an issue - I've tried every combination of apev1/v2 and id3v1/2 re-tagging, but doesnt fix the problem.

Internet Exporer v7 has just sprawled it's way onto my pc running SS (my mistake!!) within the last 7 days and this is the time period during which I've perceived general problems. I had to explicitly re-configure the "intranet" security, as first up after upgrading IE, I could no longer effect changes to the SS config. Double-clicking or even triple-clicking on a <change> button in SS server config got round the problem before I changed "intranet" settings!

Maybe IE7 is the underlying problem? who knows - I continue to investigate this annoying problem!

If anyone finds the solution, I owe them a virtual beer!

ATB,

Rowland.

bikefright
2006-11-24, 04:03
Sorry, my mistake - you could be either missing:

flac.exe
or
mac.exe

Basically, in the error message you posted, the items [mac] and [flac] refer to the files flac.exe and mac.exe in the directory already mentioned. Check you have both.

If flac is missing, rectify this, likewise with mac.exe

Sorry for the confusion.

Rowland.

bikefright
2006-11-24, 05:29
I unchecked everything in the "file types" section.

I then checked ONLY the "built-in" stuff.

For Monkey's Audio, I then checked ONLY stream=WAV, decoder=mac.

These files have apeV2 tagging only.

I can now listen to my apes :-)

I ended up compeltely un-installing SS, deleting the program files\slimserver directory, then re-installing.

Interestingly, the default config under "file types" for a brand new install is "everything checked" other than "shorten".Hope this helps.

Rowland.

peter
2006-11-24, 06:15
I have the same dislike. I think it's mostly in the name. Who wants to
listen to Monkey's Audio?

Regards,
Peter

On Thu, 23 Nov 2006 20:19:24 -0800, "tyler_durden"
<tyler_durden.2hrefb1164342001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> said:
>
> I see. I have some innate bias against monkey's audio anyway. One day
> I'll try to figure out why I dislike .ape. In the meantime I'll just
> convert to .flac.
>
> Thanks,
>
> TD
>
>
> --
> tyler_durden
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> tyler_durden's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2701
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=29988
>
>

tyler_durden
2006-11-24, 13:03
I have the same dislike. I think it's mostly in the name. Who wants to listen to Monkey's Audio?


I think I have two problems with it. First, it doesn't do anything better than flac that's been around longer (AFAIK), forcing me to have yet another piece junk software cluttering up my machine and second, I get these files from usenet and they seem to mainly be posted by noobs who don't have a clue (well, at least they aren't mp3!) and usually ignore tags or have some combination of flaws like poor spelling, all caps, or incorrect info in the tags.

The flac posters seem to be a little more conscientious about tagging and file naming.

That stupid looking simian doesn't help...

I figured out my problem with transcoding the files. I am running SS in linux and there's no MA transcoder available. Yet another reason to dislike MA.

Thanks,

TD

peter
2006-11-25, 00:11
On Fri, 24 Nov 2006 12:03:26 -0800, "tyler_durden"
<tyler_durden.2hsm6b1164398701 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> said:
>
> Peter;157185 Wrote:
> > I have the same dislike. I think it's mostly in the name. Who wants to
> > listen to Monkey's Audio?
> >
>
> I think I have two problems with it. First, it doesn't do anything
> better than flac that's been around longer (AFAIK), forcing me to have
> yet another piece junk software cluttering up my machine and second, I
> get these files from usenet and they seem to mainly be posted by noobs
> who don't have a clue (well, at least they aren't mp3!) and usually
> ignore tags or have some combination of flaws like poor spelling, all
> caps, or incorrect info in the tags.

It has one saving grace in that it can losslessly be converted to flac.

> The flac posters seem to be a little more conscientious about tagging
> and file naming.

I hate those flac/cue combos in which all cd tracks are stuffed into
one file almost as much as the ape/cue combos. I wrote a little Perl
script that reads the cue file, splits the .flac or .ape file (or .wav
in theory) creates the tracks in flac format and tags and renames them
according to the info in the .cue file.

http://213.84.196.8/flacsplit.pl

So:
Blondie - Greatest Hits.cue
Blondie - Greatest Hits.flac

Becomes:
01 Dreaming.flac
02 Call Me.flac
03 One Way Or Another.flac
04 Heart Of Glass.flac
etc...

Requires the flac (for metaflac) and shntool (for shnsplit) and
Audio::Cuefile::Parser. Created and tested/used on Linux, but should
probably work on Windows.

Regards,
Peter

kafi
2008-01-03, 08:45
My case is a little bit different.
The thread is here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=253814#post253814

My configuration is like this:

SlimServer Version: 6.5.4 - 12568 - Debian - EN - utf8
Server IP address: 192.168.1.100
Perl Version: 5.8.4 powerpc-linux-thread-multi
MySQL Version: 4.1.11-Debian_4sarge8

Maybe I should re-install SS version 6.5.0?