PDA

View Full Version : Wrong power adapter



Thorphin
2006-11-22, 13:45
Hi all-
I received my Squeezebox, but it came to me in the US with a... European? power adapter. It claims to accept an input of 100-240v, but it has two cylindrical prongs instead of the standard US plug. I'm having trouble getting a hold of SlimDevices... I haven't been at it long, so I will continue to try to get an answer from them, but I was just wondering if I could simply use one of those Universal Plug Adapters:

(http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103573&cp=&origkw=plug+adapter&kw=plug+adapter&parentPage=search)

to get it to work? Or would that damage the SB3?

Thanks....

Mark Lanctot
2006-11-22, 14:56
Keep trying to contact support before going that route.

You should still be able to get them today, they're on PST so their time is now 1:56 PM.

Thorphin
2006-11-22, 15:19
FYI, I finally got a hold of Slim after trying for about 4 hours. I talked to Tech Support (apparently their operator was out today because they never answered until I went to tech support directly). Anyway, they were helpful and will be sending out a new adapter today. For anyone whose interested, he said that a Universal Plug adapter would be just fine in the meantime. So, if you get the urge to travel abroad, consider taking your SB3 with you... ;)

mgraves
2006-11-22, 15:28
Yes, this sort of mechanical adapter will work well if the PSU is truly
100-240vac capable.

Michael

On Wed, 22 Nov 2006 12:45:39 -0800, Thorphin wrote:

>
>Hi all-
>I received my Squeezebox, but it came to me in the US with a...
>European? power adapter. It claims to accept an input of 100-240v, but
>it has two cylindrical prongs instead of the standard US plug. I'm
>having trouble getting a hold of SlimDevices... I haven't been at it
>long, so I will continue to try to get an answer from them, but I was
>just wondering if I could simply use one of those Universal Plug
>Adapters:
>
>(http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103573&cp=&origkw=plug+adapter&kw=plug+adapter&parentPage=search)
>
>to get it to work? Or would that damage the SB3?
>
>Thanks....
>
>
>--
>Thorphin
>------------------------------------------------------------------------
>Thorphin's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=8601
>View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=29954
>
>

adamslim
2006-11-22, 16:03
So, if you get the urge to travel abroad, consider taking your SB3 with you.

Wow I never knew wifi had such a range. The things they can do nowadays...

Thorphin
2006-11-22, 19:58
Wow I never knew wifi had such a range. The things they can do nowadays...

Oh yeah.. I saw this response coming... :) But who knows, someone might just be crazy enough to transport their music collection with them too. Anyway, whatever, I just wanted to get the info on the board so that if SD mispackages again, some other impatient soul will have the option of using a connector. I got one at Radio Shack, and am now using the SB3 a good week or so sooner than I would have if I just put it back in the box and waited for the replacement power adapter from SD. It's all pretty trivial, really, but this whole SB3 thing is all so fascinating!

skyedog
2006-11-27, 07:20
Yes, this sort of mechanical adapter will work well if the PSU is truly
100-240vac capable.



I've used my 230v UK power supply through a plug adapter in the US and it's fine. I'd assume the European one is electrically the same with different connectors on the outside to fit the wall outlets.