PDA

View Full Version : Will listening to radio stations effect my monthly download allowance ???

SPC
2006-11-20, 08:02
I'm thinking about purchasing the new sqeezebox system to play my existing music collection and internet radio stations.

I'm new to this so please excuse me if this sounds like a stupid question !...... I have a 6gb monthly download limit from my ISP, will listening to internet radio stations from the squeezenetwork use this allowance ??

Any info would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks

Simon

benh
2006-11-20, 08:07
Yes, it will.

Since listening to an Internet Radio station involves you essentially "downloading" the audio stream, it will count against your monthly bandwidth limits.

bpa
2006-11-20, 08:10
Even having your squeezebox do nothing ehile connected to Squeezenetwork will use some allocation as Squeezenetwork will be continuously update the display.

SPC
2006-11-20, 08:17
Thanks for your help guys, i know 6Gb is not enough, but how could i work out how much (good quality) radio i could listen to before i use this allowance ??.... not much me thinks !

Mark Lanctot
2006-11-20, 08:33
Depends what you mean by "good quality".

About the highest bitrate you can achieve with free stations is 128 kbps. You'll find most are 96 kbps.

Add to that SqueezeNetwork overhead, say 50 kbps or so (a wild guess!)

6 gigabytes = 50 331 648 kilobits.

If you devoted all this to Internet radio through SqueezeNetwork, assuming a worst-case scenario of 128 kbps with 50 kbps overhead, that's 282762 seconds of playback = 78.5 hours of playback. But that's devoting the entire allocation - say you want to devote 50% to other use, that's 39 hours of playback or a little over an hour a day. Not too much but could be workable.

In a more typical scenario of 96 kbps + 50 kbps overhead, allocating 50% of your cap, it's 48 hours of playback or 1-1/2 hours playback per day.