PDA

View Full Version : Amplifier that SqueezeBox can turn on?



tharrison
2006-11-19, 08:24
I am looking for an amplifier that can be turned on automatically by SqueezeBox for my bedroom. I have in-wall speakers of modest size and an unpowered subwoofer, currently attached to a stereo receiver. To use my SqueezeBox as an alarm, I need to keep the receiver on all night.

As a second alternative, anything that would power on my receiver when the SB needed it, and off when not would be great (although I doubt it has a soft-power-switch/standby mode).

I have kind of a similar hope for my Bose Wave Radio, which we have in the kitchen. It would be nice to have the SB remote control that, at least power, and perhaps the Aux button.

Any help.

merc4a2
2006-11-19, 22:07
I am looking for an amplifier that can be turned on automatically by SqueezeBox for my bedroom.
I'll pass on to you the same recommendation someone else on here gave me. Go with a Parasound Zamp amplifier. The amplifier senses for an audio signal to turn on power. It sounds great with my in-wall speakers and I never have to touch the amp. THe small size allows me to keep it hidden out of sight to up the WAF. The price is decent as well.

The only drawback I've had with that amplifier is that even with the signal detection at it's highest sensitivity, if I listen to music at a very low volume (quiet background music level), the amp will shut off thinking there's no signal even though the music is perfectly audible. I got around that by turning up the volume on the squeeze box to a decent level, and then just turn down the speaker volume on the wall-mounted volume knob.

Schindler
2006-11-20, 03:06
here something...

http://www.apart-audio.com/Products/productDetails.aspx?id=81

christian

TechHome
2006-11-20, 07:28
I use the IR Blaster plugin to turn a conventional receiver on & off via the Squeezebox, works great. This plugin requires a mini IR emitter be connected to the squeezebox geek port and positioned over the IR receiver of your amp/receiver. Works best if your receiver has discrete on & off IR codes (rather than a single toggle power code).

If desired, the squeezebox can also be locked at a fixed output level and the plugin configured to re-route volume up/down commands to control the volume on your amp/receiver.

TechHome

shadowboxer
2006-11-20, 09:11
I have been looking for the same thing. That apart amp is a beaut but I can't find a US dealer.

I found something here for 100 bucks, Audosource AMP 100, that looks pretty decent for what I am looking for, a low cost auto-on amp that can run some speakers in the bedroom.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/customer-reviews/B00026BQJ6/ref=cm_cr_dp_pt/102-3073320-5449738?ie=UTF8&n=172282&s=electronics


For anyone interested, here is the pdf of the product manual on this amp:

ftp://208.187.38.55/Audiosource/Manuals/amps/Amp100.pdf

Russound makes one as well, but it is, in my mind, a bit more complicated than needed and runs over $200:

http://www.russound.com/pdf/MANUALS/DPA-1.2%20manual.pdf

verbatone
2006-11-20, 12:51
I have an Audiosource AMP200, which sounds good and I got it cause I wanted to install it into an old audio console from the 60s where it's not that accessable to turn on or off. It has the audio sensing feature, but I find that I have the same problem as merc4a2, if I turn the volume too low, the amp turns off.

My pre-amp has a remote AC switch, so I just plugged the Audiosource into that outlet and use the power on the pre-amp to turn on or off the Audiosource. So I'd like to find out how to turn on my pre-amp with my SB remote. I've thought about the IR-blaster route, but it doesn't seem worth it, it's just another button press (remote or on the pre-amp itself)

I also opened up the unit to see if there was a way to tweak the audio sense threshold level, but couldn't find anything. Short answer, the audio level sensing isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Using the geek port, is there a way to send a litteral voltage state change? My pre-amp has a wired remote conn. on the back which I could potentially use.

geoffb
2006-11-20, 13:50
On 11/19/06, tharrison wrote:
>
> I am looking for an amplifier that can be turned on automatically by
> SqueezeBox for my bedroom. I have in-wall speakers of modest size and
> an unpowered subwoofer, currently attached to a stereo receiver. To
> use my SqueezeBox as an alarm, I need to keep the receiver on all
> night.
>
> As a second alternative, anything that would power on my receiver when
> the SB needed it, and off when not would be great (although I doubt it
> has a soft-power-switch/standby mode).

One solution would be to go X10 - there has been some discussion on
this on the forums, so a search would might help. I think this will
allow SlimServer to issue off/on commands to a X10 appliance module,
which the amp would be plugged into.

Cheers,
Geoff

Schindler
2006-11-20, 13:57
The apart amp is not only a beauty but it is also expensive. It will be about 610 CHF = 490 USD.

Christian

TiredLegs
2006-11-21, 11:48
I second the motion for the Parasound Zamp. I've got one in my workroom. It sounds great, and should be an ideal amp for bedroom use.

The sensitivity adjustment to trigger it from an incoming signal should work OK, but if you tend to listen at really low volumes, just leave the Zamp powered on 24/7. The thing barely trickles a few watts when there's no signal to it, and it's not even warm to the touch.

They run about $299 new, but used ones go on eBay for around $150.

Carl W. Irving
2006-11-21, 15:42
If you are looking for a sub-$300 power amplifier that turns on automatically with an audio signal...

I used one in my living room setup where the SB3 is on the wall, driving JBL HTI-8 in-wall speakers via the MT-282 in a concealed location.

Some pics of the wall-mounted SB3 can be found at: http://albums.scroogieboy.com/House/06-10-20%20Squeezebox%20goes%20up%20on%20wall/index.html and http://albums.scroogieboy.com/House/06-10-30%20More%20Squeezebox%20pictures/index.html

notanatheist
2006-11-21, 20:51
That is pure geek. I love the wall mounting! One thing to note, I've noticed much better sound using the RCA plugs vs. the headphone jack using any sort of small amp. (me using a Sonic T-amp)

peter
2006-11-23, 03:07
I had the same problem in my kitchen and bedroom. I now use two Sonic
Impact T-Amp's there, they're very cheap and they sound good to me. They
use very little power and don't hum or hiss so I just leave them on all
the time.

In my living room I use two powered studio monitors that I switch on and
off with the AmpSwitch plugin and a little circuit that hangs off the IR
port, that could be another option for you.

Regards,
Peter

Mark Lanctot
2006-11-23, 07:10
In my living room I use two powered studio monitors that I switch on and
off with the AmpSwitch plugin and a little circuit that hangs off the IR
port, that could be another option for you.

Would that be this circuit?

http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/dev_hard_and_software.htm#ampswitch

I noticed it last night when I was playing around with IR Blaster.

peter
2006-11-23, 07:54
On Thu, 23 Nov 2006 06:10:16 -0800, "Mark Lanctot"
<Mark.Lanctot.2hqbaz1164291301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> said:
>
> Peter;156885 Wrote:
> > In my living room I use two powered studio monitors that I switch on
> > and
> > off with the AmpSwitch plugin and a little circuit that hangs off the
> > IR
> > port, that could be another option for you.
>
> Would that be this circuit?
>
> http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/dev_hard_and_software.htm#ampswitch
>
> I noticed it last night when I was playing around with IR Blaster.

That's the one.

My powered monitors have an auto switch on/off feature, but
unfortunately it's not sensitive enough (or too sensitive). When I
played music at low volume the speakers tend to switch off
automatically. Ampswitch saved the day. It's been a long time since I
soldered anything, but when I figured out which way the transistor
fitted in it turned out to be pretty easy. I built the whole thing in a
box that I placed in between an extension cord.

Regards,
Peter

Balthazar_B
2007-04-07, 14:24
There's also this little baby at less than $200:

http://www.emotiva.com/bpa1.html

Cheers!

sleepysurf
2007-04-07, 19:21
I'm using a Russound RS235LS, 35W (~$180), powering in-ceiling speakers in my bedroom. It has a sensitivity switch to control the auto-sensing power, and works perfectly with a Squeezebox. Further, I have it mounted inconspicuously on the BACK of my dresser.

http://www.russound.com/amplifiers.htm

peter
2007-04-07, 23:45
sleepysurf wrote:
> I'm using a Russound RS235LS, 35W (~$180), powering in-ceiling speakers
> in my bedroom. It has a sensitivity switch to control the auto-sensing
> power, and works perfectly with a Squeezebox. Further, I have it
> mounted inconspicuously on the BACK of my dresser.
>
> http://www.russound.com/amplifiers.htm
>

Looks interesting. Am I correct that you can also connect a TV set to it
and it will switch to whatever source (SB/TV) is supplying audio at that
time?

And the sensitivity is such that it won't turn off the amp if you're
playing music at a low volume?

Regards,
Peter

dcote
2007-04-08, 03:48
i also use the amp-switch at:
http://www.gwendesign.com/slimserver/dev_hard_and_software.htm#ampswitch

it works GREAT for me! with it, my SB3 wakes me up every morning to soft music - fantastic.

it controlls a cayin A-55T tube amp, which fortunately switches directly in to "play mode".
i also have to have my SB3 plugged in to the "CD" input on my A-55T, because it is the "default power-on input".

unfortunately, my BOSE companion speakers for the office dont do that - when power is switched on, they go to "stand by mode".

so when selecting an external amp to use with amp-switch, make sure it comes to life directly, and not to "standby" or "mute".
also check for "default power-on inputs".

if all that is not agreeable to you, than amp-switch is not your product!

dom

sleepysurf
2007-04-08, 04:24
Yes, the Russound has sufficient sensitivity adjustments to turn on even at low volumes. I also use Slimservers "Preamp Volume Control" option for further fine-tuning. The Russound also has TWO inputs with auto-switching to whichever source is active. I haven't tried that feature yet, but do plan on eventually feeding my TV audio thru it.

peter
2007-04-08, 05:44
sleepysurf wrote:
> Yes, the Russound has sufficient sensitivity adjustments to turn on even
> at low volumes. I also use Slimservers "Preamp Volume Control" option
> for further fine-tuning. The Russound also has TWO inputs with
> auto-switching to whichever source is active. I haven't tried that
> feature yet, but do plan on eventually feeding my TV audio thru it.
>

Sounds like a nice little amp. That would be my preferred setup just an
SB, a TV and two hifi speakers that produce all the sound. Unfortunately
my current TV doesn't have volume control on its line out. I already use
Felix' Amp-Switch, and I'm quite happy with it, but it doesn't help with
the TV sound...

Regards,
Peter

Schindler
2007-04-08, 16:42
Does anybody have the Emotiva BPA-1?

@sleepysurf what is "I also use Slimservers "Preamp Volume Control""?

Christian

Mark Lanctot
2007-04-08, 16:58
@sleepysurf what is "I also use Slimservers "Preamp Volume Control""?

I assume he means Player Settings - Audio - Preamp Volume Control.

Balthazar_B
2007-04-08, 19:24
Does anybody have the Emotiva BPA-1?

@sleepysurf what is "I also use Slimservers "Preamp Volume Control""?

Christian

You may want to try at the AVSforum site if you don't get many replies...there's a large contingent of Emotiva owners there.

sleepysurf
2007-04-08, 20:35
I assume he means Player Settings - Audio - Preamp Volume Control.

Yep, exactly.

Schindler
2007-04-09, 01:24
Isn't the "Preamp Volume Control" not only for digital output? Does the Russound have a digital input?

I was not able to find a (online)shop where they sell the Russound RS235LS. Does anybody has a link?

Christian

sleepysurf
2007-04-09, 06:28
Isn't the "Preamp Volume Control" not only for digital output? Does the Russound have a digital input?

I was not able to find a (online)shop where they sell the Russound RS235LS. Does anybody has a link?

Christian

Preamp Volume Control works on the analog output (not sure about the digital outputs). The Russound has analog inputs only. Amazon lists it for ~$200, and other online vendors for less, but I don't know if any of them are authorized dealers (the Russound website says they do NOT sell via online dealers).

I bought mine locally from the same dealer who installed my in-ceiling speakers (pricing was for the whole package).

peter
2007-04-09, 06:40
sleepysurf wrote:
> Schindler;193612 Wrote:
>
>> Isn't the "Preamp Volume Control" not only for digital output? Does the
>> Russound have a digital input?
>>
>> I was not able to find a (online)shop where they sell the Russound
>> RS235LS. Does anybody has a link?
>>
>> Christian
>>
>
> Preamp Volume Control works on the analog output (not sure about the
> digital outputs). The Russound has analog inputs only. Amazon lists it
> for ~$200, and other online vendors for less, but I don't know if any of
> them are authorized dealers (the Russound website says they do NOT sell
> via online dealers).
>
> I bought mine locally from the same dealer who installed my in-ceiling
> speakers (pricing was for the whole package).
>

I'm in Holland so I figured there might be a problem there. Turns out
the only place that sells them here is in my home town. The e-mail
address listed on the Russound site is from an old schoolmate.

Regards,
Peter

sleepysurf
2007-04-09, 06:58
Must be a good omen!

geoffb
2007-04-09, 13:58
On 4/8/07, Peter wrote:
> Looks interesting. Am I correct that you can also connect a TV set to it
> and it will switch to whatever source (SB/TV) is supplying audio at that
> time?
>
> And the sensitivity is such that it won't turn off the amp if you're
> playing music at a low volume?

I needed to use my amp for several sources (including TV and the SB),
so I got the Harmony 880 universal remote. This lets you turn the amp
on and off with the SB, automatically, as well as set the input on the
TV.
Unless, that is, the amp is an NAD, which doesn't allow power
switching via remote (at least, mine doesn't).

I used X10 to solve that for a very low cost by buying:
- infra-red receiver (IR543)
- infra red remote to program the Harmony, although you might not
need this (UR19A)
- one appliance module (AM466, I think)
These were each about $10 each including shipping, on eBay.

Downside: you need to already own a universal remote, or it becomes
expensive (but the Harmony is well worth the money, IMHO). Powering
off and on also produces an audible 'click' that some might find
irritating.

Upside: you get a one-button-on for any of your amp sources. You also
get to control other devices with your Harmony, if you want to buy
more modules; think light dimming, projector screen motors, etc.

Cheers,
Geoff

cparker
2007-04-10, 07:44
Can anybody give some figures on the power consumption of these amps when in standby ie. waiting for a signal to wake up.

I've looked around on the websites of the manufacturers and cant find anything :(

Cheers

Schindler
2007-04-15, 10:01
I may be blind or not good using Google - but I don't find a online shop selling the Russound RS235...

Christian