PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver 6.5.1 plays no FLAC ?



Meganerd
2006-11-12, 17:21
Found out my slimserver is not playing FLAC anymore.....
Silence all the way. Playing ape (after a hack in convert.conf), mp3 etc.works just fine.
Playing FLAC on my Softsqueeze works fine as well. Found out that SoftSQ does eat native FLAC, no conversion on slimserver being done

that means digging into convert.conf..

FLAC is the only format with a $BEGIN$ and $END$ tag. In the flac.exe command line options you're able to give a start and cut-off point for your decoded file. (Partial decoding of a file)

Slimserver sends a begin of 0 and an end of -0

duration of flac file is detected by slimserver. Erasing the "--skip=$START$ --until=$END$ " part does not help, still no stream to my squeezebox.

When i paste the command executed by slimserver (eehh, displayed in the logfile..) to my command-line a playable wav file is being created...


HELP!! (i have *tons* of FLAC which i cannot play :-(

here's my debug info:

Slim::Player::TranscodingHelper::checkBin (142) Found command: [flac] -dcs --force-raw-format --endian=little --sign=signed --skip=$START$ --until=$END$ -- $FILE$
Slim::Utils::Prefs::maxRate (935) Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.29 to: 320
Slim::Utils::Misc::findbin (150) Didn't find binary for lame.exe
Slim::Player::TranscodingHelper::getConvertCommand (302) Matched Format: wav Type: flc Command: [flac] -dcs --force-raw-format --endian=little --sign=signed --skip=$START$ --until=$END$ -- $FILE$
Slim::Player::Source::openSong (1616) This is an flc file: file:///D:/Data/media/Classic/Handel/Messiah%20-%20Beecham/101%20-%20Part%20I,%20Overture.flac
Slim::Player::Source::openSong (1617) file type: flc format: wav inrate: 719.423 maxRate: 320
Slim::Player::Source::openSong (1618) command: [flac] -dcs --force-raw-format --endian=little --sign=signed --skip=$START$ --until=$END$ -- $FILE$
Slim::Player::TranscodingHelper::tokenizeConvertCo mmand (360) Using command for conversion: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\flac.exe" -dcs --force-raw-format --endian=little --sign=signed --skip=0 --until=-0 -- "D:\Data\media\Classic\Handel\Messiah - Beecham\101 - Part I, Overture.flac" |
Slim::Player::Pipeline::new (77) Launching process with command: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\socketwrapper.exe" -o 3143 -c "\"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\flac.exe\" -dcs --force-raw-format --endian=little --sign=signed --skip=0 --until=-0 -- \"D:\Data\media\Classic\Handel\Messiah - Beecham\101 - Part I, Overture.flac\" |"
Slim::Player::Source::openSong (1758) Streaming with format: wav
Slim::Player::Pipeline::acceptReader (183) Pipeline reader connected
Slim::Player::Source::readNextChunk (1988) Would have blocked, will try again later.
Slim::Player::Source::readNextChunk (2005) readlen undef: (Unknown error) 10054
Slim::Player::Source::readNextChunk (2034) end of file or error on socket, opening next song, (song pos: 0(tell says: . 0), totalbytes: 11662920)
Slim::Player::Source::gotoNext (985) Opening next song...

bpa
2006-11-12, 18:04
Could be AV or other security s/w preventing socketwrapper from working.

What AV or security s/w have you installed ?
Have you entered socketwrapper as a trusted app ?

Meganerd
2006-11-13, 03:22
Switched of the following:

- AVG
- win defender
- win firewall

when i play ape i get the following:

Matched Format: mp3 Type: ape Command: [mac] $FILE$ - -d | [lame] --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ --abr $BITRATE$ - -
openSong: this is an ape file: file:///D:/Data/media/Classic/Handel/Messiah%20-%20Hogwood/108%20-%20Chorus%20For%20unto%20us%20a%20child%20is%20bor n.ape
file type: ape format: mp3 inrate: 661.277 maxRate: 256
command: [mac] $FILE$ - -d | [lame] --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ --abr $BITRATE$ - -
Using command for conversion: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\mac.exe" "D:\Data\media\Classic\Handel\Messiah - Hogwood\108 - Chorus For unto us a child is born.ape" - -d | "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\lame.exe" --resample 44100 --silent -q 9 --abr 256 - - |
Launching process with command: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\socketwrapper.exe" -o 3570 -c "\"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\mac.exe\" \"D:\Data\media\Classic\Handel\Messiah - Hogwood\108 - Chorus For unto us a child is born.ape\" - -d | \"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\lame.exe\" --resample 44100 --silent -q 9 --abr 256 - - |"
openSong: Streaming with format: mp3
dc:cb:5e:fd:a2:18 New play mode: play
Transporter::play - setting DigitalInput to 0 for [file:///D:/Data/media/Classic/Handel/Messiah%20-%20Hogwood/108%20-%20Chorus%20For%20unto%20us%20a%20child%20is%20bor n.ape]
dc:cb:5e:fd:a2:18: Current playmode: play
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Pipeline reader connected
We need to send 0 seconds of silence...
sending 0 bytes of silence
We need to send 0 seconds of silence...
sending 0 bytes of silence
Got a track starting event
Song 0 has now started playing


when i play flac it gives:

openSong: this is an flc file: file:///D:/Data/media/Classic/Handel/Messiah%20-%20Davis/102%20-%20Comfort%20ye%20my%20people.flac
file type: flc format: mp3 inrate: 509.167 maxRate: 256
command: [flac] -dcs --skip=$START$ --until=$END$ -- $FILE$ | [lame] --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ --abr $BITRATE$ - -
Using command for conversion: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\flac.exe" -dcs --skip=0 --until=-0 -- "D:\Data\media\Classic\Handel\Messiah - Davis\102 - Comfort ye my people.flac" | "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\lame.exe" --resample 44100 --silent -q 9 --abr 256 - - |
Launching process with command: "C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\socketwrapper.exe" -o 3568 -c "\"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\flac.exe\" -dcs --skip=0 --until=-0 -- \"D:\Data\media\Classic\Handel\Messiah - Davis\102 - Comfort ye my people.flac\" | \"C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\lame.exe\" --resample 44100 --silent -q 9 --abr 256 - - |"
openSong: Streaming with format: mp3
dc:cb:5e:fd:a2:18 New play mode: play
Transporter::play - setting DigitalInput to 0 for [file:///D:/Data/media/Classic/Handel/Messiah%20-%20Davis/102%20-%20Comfort%20ye%20my%20people.flac]
dc:cb:5e:fd:a2:18: Current playmode: play
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Setting maxBitRate for 192.168.10.24 to: 256
Pipeline reader connected
We need to send 0 seconds of silence...
sending 0 bytes of silence
We need to send 0 seconds of silence...
sending 0 bytes of silence
readlen undef: (Unknown error)10054
end of file or error on socket, opening next song, (song pos: 0(tell says: . 0), totalbytes: 5368320)
Didn't stream any bytes for this song, so just mark it as played


Seems the flac decoder does not give any data to stdout (end of file/ err msg)

bpa
2006-11-13, 05:57
Unlikely to be the socketwrapper issue as it works for ape and looks to be identical use of socketwrapper.

How about minimising the decoding chain and try streaming FLAC to WAV to get rid of the mp3 part. This will also check out a different line in the convert.conf file in case that is part of the problem.

If that fails then the following would be my checklist

1. Check if the problem is there when slimserver is run from a command prompt. If problem goes away then issues is permission or paths.

2. get a copy of the original convert.conf file without the ape hack, install it and see Flac works.

3. Double check command line decode using flac using the command line from the FLAC->WAV test above (cut & paste). Make sure user id, default directory and paths are all the same as when run from slimserver.

Meganerd
2006-11-13, 15:40
Hi,

thanks for your attention.

I tried all of your suggestions (logic thinking, deduce the system in relevant parts, have a close look on each part)

It works when i run slim.exe on a command prompt. When i run the slimtray --start (starting the service) it doesn't work. i assigned an adminstrator-account to the service but that doesn't help.

Guess the paths (which?, full paths specified while converting, ape works fine) are not correct.

I run slim.exe with the same administrative user as a scheduled task (run on system startup), that works fine (good enough for me).
still thinking why the service doesn't work...

Thanks!

liamg
2006-11-14, 03:02
Hi,

I've had the exact same problem with streaming flac files to a remote client for the past couple of years and can only run slim.exe from the command line to resolve this.

I've made no changes to convert.conf in recent versions.

Playing flac directly to the SB2 (no conversion) is fine.

Curiously, I see the same issue when attempting to stream any files other than mp3 - i.e. anything that does conversion.

I can only assume that there is an O/S issue hidden away somewhere with permissions/paths when running as a service rather than command line. I've tried running as both SYSTEM and specifying a user for the service but still see the same issue.

If this has only just started happening for you then I would suggest that this is something that has been introduced by a change to something other than the slimserver itself.

I've had the same issue since the year dot - not quite sure of the the version number but would certainly by 5.x. I'm currently running with 6.5.1.

bpa
2006-11-14, 04:46
It looks like something to do with permissions and/or user id. The permission problem can be anywhere from the volume, directory down to the file with user groups and ACL. It also looks like it may be to do with how the "child" application FLAC is initiated and not slim.exe itself.

What version of Windows do you use ?
What userid runs the slimserver service ?
If you are using XP Pro or Server - do you have a domain controller ?
Is the drive where you have the media files NTFS formatted ?
Is the media drive internal, external USB/Firewire or something else (e.g. mapped drive from a NAS) ?
Do you have a FAT formatted drive (a USB memory stick may or may not work) - if so can you copy a flac file to the FAT drive and try to play it (you can use Tune with a file:// prefix). If it plays then it is definitely a permissions problem.