PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded to 6.5 an hour ago



Zten
2006-11-04, 17:54
And the rescan of my library has been going ever since and is consuming 100% of my CPU power. Is this normal? How long will this take?

Zten
2006-11-05, 06:36
for over 12 hours now. There must be something wrong. Anyone have advice on what I should do?

jeffluckett
2006-11-05, 08:16
Did you un-install your previous version of SS before installing 6.5?

6.5 does not play well with older versions. Try doing a clean install.

Zten
2006-11-05, 08:25
I was getting frustrated so I went back to 6.3.0. It is doing a rescan now. will post back on how things are going. Thanks again for the reply.

Zten
2006-11-05, 08:59
and all is well. I think I will just stay here and follow the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" philosphy and NOT go to 6.5.0

fingers
2006-11-05, 09:22
Good choice. I have attempted 6.5.1 5 different times now and each time it completely chokes the machine. I finally after using a big hammer got back to 6.3.1 and all is working perfectly.

stinkingpig
2006-11-05, 09:27
On 11/5/06, Zten <Zten.2gsxon1162734001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> for over 12 hours now. There must be something wrong. Anyone have advice
> on what I should do?
>
>

how about looking in the log file? There should be a message that's
been repeating regularly for twelve hours, and whatever it is might be
indicative of the problem.

--
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
So across the Western ocean I must wander" -- traditional

matt24
2006-11-06, 07:07
I'm sticking with 6.3.1 also - 6.5 meant some of my various artists weren't grouped, 6.5.1 added digital bleeps to the start of every MP3 track. I upgraded for the sake of it, big mistake, how much time have I wasted! So I'm back to 6.3.1 and happy.

And how I wish slimdevices would do more QA on their software...