PDA

View Full Version : can anyone explain this?



monkeydust
2006-11-01, 16:20
So far very happy with the SB3 - a great little product and hopefully it stays that way under Logitech -- HOWEVER -- today I noticed a) the remote being very slow to respond and b) massive dropouts - the network tests came back bad however nothing had changed - so I simply pulled the plug on the SB3 and it was all working again??

Is this something I will have to do frequently, a known issue?? Help pls!

Cheers
MD

azinck3
2006-11-01, 16:25
So far very happy with the SB3 - a great little product and hopefully it stays that way under Logitech -- HOWEVER -- today I noticed a) the remote being very slow to respond and b) massive dropouts - the network tests came back bad however nothing had changed - so I simply pulled the plug on the SB3 and it was all working again??

Is this something I will have to do frequently, a known issue?? Help pls!

Cheers
MD

I've occasionally had this experience with virtually every networked device I've ever owned. Networking's not trivial and is dependent upon lots of pieces of the puzzle working properly together. Unfortunately, this flakiness seems to just come with the territory for the time being. That being said, my SB's tend to be very reliable. They might have some sort of hiccup like that once every few months.

MrSinatra
2006-11-01, 17:30
local music or net streams?

probedb
2006-11-02, 03:43
Not had any problems since I got it.

Is your network wired or wireless? Mine's running on a 10MBps wired network and has never dropped out once. Never experienced the remote being slow either.

What's PC setup is slimserver running etc, any more detail on the problem as in exactly what is it you're doing.

jku
2006-11-02, 03:45
I've occasionally had this experience with virtually every networked device I've ever owned. Networking's not trivial and is dependent upon lots of pieces of the puzzle working properly together.

My thoughts exactly with one addition:

I've occasionally had this experience with virtually every wireless device I've ever owned. Wireless networking's not trivial and is dependent upon lots of pieces of the puzzle working properly together.

Stick to wires if you want to get as close as possible to 24/7, no-administration networking... That's my experience.

monkeydust
2006-11-02, 04:04
My thoughts exactly with one addition:

I've occasionally had this experience with virtually every wireless device I've ever owned. Wireless networking's not trivial and is dependent upon lots of pieces of the puzzle working properly together.

Stick to wires if you want to get as close as possible to 24/7, no-administration networking... That's my experience.



wireless - so yea I guess this will just happen now and again the pain is everytime you reset the SB box you have to re-enter network Ids again - anyway only happened once - overally love this thing!

peejay
2006-11-02, 04:18
wireless - so yea I guess this will just happen now and again the pain is everytime you reset the SB box you have to re-enter network Ids again - anyway only happened once - overally love this thing!

If you mean by factory resetting the SB, then, yes, you need to re-enter network information again. If you merely mean a powercycle, then, no, that's not true. The Squeezebox will recall previous network connection settings if the power is removed from the device and then re-applied.