PDA

View Full Version : Flakey forum searches



RainmanRam
2006-10-31, 07:45
Sometimes when I search the forums, I get flakey results. For example, I was just searching the forums using "sql server" and when I hit the "go" button, the page can't be displayed. When I shorten the search to "sql" the results page shows up. Back to "sql server" and the results can't be displayed. This happens with the search dropdown as well as the advanced search.

Makes it kind of hard to find answers...

- Ray

jeffluckett
2006-10-31, 08:04
I've been having an issue where Firefox tries to "download" the search result rather than display them.

The file download is search.php. Very strange.

bpa
2006-10-31, 08:15
Search terms must be at least 4 letters so use sql* and not sql

slimpy
2006-10-31, 08:36
For some strange reason the forum software doesn't like the word 'server' in the search string. 'serve', 'servers', 'server=' all work.
Search terms can be as short as 2 characters, 'sql', even 'sq' produce search results.

-s.

bpa
2006-10-31, 09:14
I think it has a list of words to be ignored and since server is part of slimserver it would probably hit every message and I think the search engine may also stop a search if there are too many matches.

slimpy
2006-10-31, 09:43
I think it has a list of words to be ignored and since server is part of slimserver it would probably hit every message and I think the search engine may also stop a search if there are too many matches.
But the search should return gracefully in any case. When using 'server' (even with other search terms) an internal server error (HTTP 500) occurs. This is certainly not the intended behaviour.

The search term 'slim' returns 500 messages without throwing an error and so does 'ss' and 'sb'. 500 seems to be the maximum number of messages to return for any search.
-s.

mherger
2006-10-31, 09:56
> But the search should return gracefully in any case.

It does for me: I get the search page.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

slimpy
2006-10-31, 10:02
It does for me: I get the search page.

With 'server' as the search term? What browser do you use?

-s.

SteveEast
2006-10-31, 10:51
I get a blank page when I search for "server" (no quotes) using FF 1.5.0.7.

With IE6 I get "page cannot be displayed".

With Opera 8.54 I get "Connection closed by remote server".

Steve.

mherger
2006-10-31, 11:32
> With 'server' as the search term? What browser do you use?

Opera 9.01 or something. Just tested with Firefox 1.5: it does not work :-/

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

radish
2006-10-31, 11:34
Searching for "server" gets me a 503 (Service Unavailable) with IE6.

mherger
2006-10-31, 11:54
> Searching for "server" gets me a 503 (Service Unavailable) with IE6.

This must be about the first time Opera does work where (almost?) all the
others fail :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

JJZolx
2006-10-31, 12:06
I see the same thing quite often, using mostly IE.

Probably the HTTP server timing out whenever page generation time exceeds some set maximum. So forum queries that return a lot of results lead to the 50x server errors and blank pages. My guess would that theres a page generation threshold somewhere designed to keep the load on the server under control.

mherger
2006-10-31, 12:42
> I see the same thing quite often, using mostly IE.

Use Opera instead :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

RainmanRam
2006-11-19, 09:02
I can't search on "Music" either -- using IE6. I get "page cannot be displayed."

- Ray