PDA

View Full Version : Create Sym link to network share



dmoadab
2006-10-29, 23:25
Hello,

How would I link Slimserver running on a Linkstation to use "\\10.0.0.11\e$\MyFtp\MP3s" as amusic folder?
Right now it's set to /mnt/music with a Windows shortcut to "\\10.0.0.11\e$\MyFtp\MP3s" but it's not picking it up.

Thanks for your input.

mherger
2006-10-30, 00:43
> How would I link Slimserver running on a Linkstation to use
> "\\10.0.0.11\e$\MyFtp\MP3s" as amusic folder?
> Right now it's set to /mnt/music with a Windows shortcut to
> "\\10.0.0.11\e$\MyFtp\MP3s" but it's not picking it up.

Could you please give some more details about your setup? Where is
slimserver running? What is 10.0.0.11?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

dmoadab
2006-10-30, 06:48
Slimserver is running on a PPC linkstation.
10.0.0.11 is a Windows PC.
Trying to get slimserver to scan the Windows PC.

Thanks

mherger
2006-10-30, 07:12
> Slimserver is running on a PPC linkstation.
> 10.0.0.11 is a Windows PC.
> Trying to get slimserver to scan the Windows PC.

Before we invest any longer in this "problem"... are you sure this is the
right way to go?!? I'd rather run Slimserver on the PC with the files loft
on the linkstation than the other way around...

However... If you really want to use it that way, you'll have to mount the
PC's share on the linkstation (google around for smbmount), then use that
mount point in Slimserver as music folder. But I doubt you'll be happy
with the solution. Doesn't make sense to me.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

dmoadab
2006-10-30, 07:32
Well, I'm trying to keep the slimserver as the workhorse.
I also plan on keeping some music on it, but most on a Windows share.

Thanks

dmoadab
2006-10-30, 07:40
I don't seem to have smbmount.
Regular monut give me the following.
I will admit... I know VERY little about linux.

Thanks!

< mount -t smbfs //10.0.0.11/e$/myftp/mp3s /mnt/music
mount: fs type smbfs not supported by kernel
root@LINKSTATION:/usr/sbin#

mherger
2006-10-30, 07:52
> < mount -t smbfs //10.0.0.11/e$/myftp/mp3s /mnt/music
> mount: fs type smbfs not supported by kernel
> root@LINKSTATION:/usr/sbin#

You're out of luck then: samba client software does not seem to be
installed on your box.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

dmoadab
2006-10-30, 07:57
How do I install it?
Also, what version of linux is this running? I'm lost.
Is it possible to install something like webmin on it?

Thanks for your help.

slimpy
2006-10-30, 08:01
As Michael already pointed out your setup doesn't make much sense. Your windows pc is more powerful than the linkstation even if there's a ton of other programs running at the same time. People run slimserver on NAS devices because they don't want to have a pc running all the time. Having the audio files on the pc clearly defeats its purpose.

-s.

dmoadab
2006-10-30, 08:10
I think I found it, but..

root@LINKSTATION:/bin# ls
awk date groupmod mkdir readlink true
bash dd gunzip mknod rm umount
bdu df gzip mktemp rmdir uname
bunzip2 dmesg hostname more run-parts useradd
busybox dnsdomainname htpasswd mount sed userdel
bzcat domainname ifconfig mv sh usermod
cat echo initdconfig netstat sleep usleep
chgrp egrep kill newusers smbmnt vi
chk_ip expr ln nkf smbmount wc
chmod fgrep login pidof stty zcat
chown grep ls ping sync
cp groupadd mkcode ps tar
cpio groupdel mkcode.hglan_sjis pwd touch
root@LINKSTATION:/bin# smbmount
bash: smbmount: command not found

mherger
2006-10-30, 08:12
> How do I install it?

Don't know - google around for linux and linkstation.

> Also, what version of linux is this running? I'm lost.
> Is it possible to install something like webmin on it?

I don't think so. These little boxes just don't have to power and memory
to run anything you're used to using on a PC. I'm sure some freak would
find a way to do it, though...

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

slimpy
2006-10-30, 08:20
I think I found it, but..

root@LINKSTATION:/bin# ls
awk date groupmod mkdir readlink true
bash dd gunzip mknod rm umount
bdu df gzip mktemp rmdir uname
bunzip2 dmesg hostname more run-parts useradd
busybox dnsdomainname htpasswd mount sed userdel
bzcat domainname ifconfig mv sh usermod
cat echo initdconfig netstat sleep usleep
chgrp egrep kill newusers smbmnt vi
chk_ip expr ln nkf smbmount wc
chmod fgrep login pidof stty zcat
chown grep ls ping sync
cp groupadd mkcode ps tar
cpio groupdel mkcode.hglan_sjis pwd touch
root@LINKSTATION:/bin# smbmount
bash: smbmount: command not found
Usually the current directory is not in root's path.
Try it this way: ./smbmount

-s.

mherger
2006-10-30, 08:23
> I think I found it, but..
> chk_ip expr ln nkf smbmount wc
> root@LINKSTATION:/bin# smbmount
> bash: smbmount: command not found

run

/bin/smbmount

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR