PDA

View Full Version : How to edit Slimserver database?

Cirieno
2006-10-29, 08:42
I've been using Slimserver for a few months now to power a diverse range of Winamp- and Softsqueeze-driven PCs and PDAs around my house and work. I've transferred Slimserver's database into my own MySQL instance. I've searched the forums and the web for some answers to what seems to me to be a fundamental question:

How do you edit the data that the Slimserver software saves in the database after scanning a music collection?

My example is that I have two collections: one of MP3s that haven't been tagged properly (many have all-capital tags) and a collection of Flacs that have been tagged properly. Slimserver will scan the bad collection first and take the band name (ie "METALLICA") and store it, but when it then reaches "Metallica" in the Flac collection it simply (and logically) uses the original record to match against. So is there a tool that would let a user edit the all-caps artist record?

Naturally I am *able* to go into the mySQL instance and edit records by hand but it would seem to be more intuitive to have "edit this artist" and "edit this album" functionality built into the SlimServer software?

If it helps, I'm using the Fishbone skin only. Do other skins have additional functionality that I've not found? Or have I missed a skin-based plugin?

-Ciri

erland
2006-10-29, 08:56
Why don't you just update the tags in the MP3 files ?

There is no tool available that I am aware of that makes it easy to edit the data in the slimserver database, you can of course do it with an SQL tool but you already know that.

As SlimServer works today you don't want to change stuff in the database, because slimserver will still re-read the "bad" information from the tags in some situations.

gharris999
2006-10-29, 08:58