PDA

View Full Version : SqueezesoftHeadless.exe



socialxray
2006-10-19, 11:03
Hello All,

I like the SlimServer web interface idea except for the fact that there is no integrated player. I have worked around this by creating a script that will call Squeezesoft in headless mode:

@ECHO OFF
START C:\PROGRA~1\SOFTSQ~1\softsqueezeHeadless.exe
START http://localhost:9000/

The only problem I have is that when I kill the web interface, squeezesoft is left still running. No a really big issue but if I come back and run the script again I will have 2 instances of squeezesoft running in headless mode.

Is there a way to either kill squeezesoft when I kill the web interface or only have one instance of squeezesoft running at a time?

Thanks

Paul_B
2006-10-19, 11:50
kill.exe, pskill.exe, rkill.exe, will all kill a process by name

socialxray
2006-10-19, 23:46
Damn. I was hoping someone would show me how to do it. I guess I am going to have to learn how to write .bat files.

dborn
2006-10-20, 03:14
in your batch file, simply kill any possibly running softsqueezeheadless.exe before starting up the current one.

I'm not sure windows has a command-line "kill" command available but search for the sysinternals website (THEY were bought out by Microsoft, so hurry...), they have some command-line tools that will do what you want.

Daniel

Paul_B
2006-10-20, 05:25
kill.exe and rkill.exe are Resource Kit utilities
taskkill.exe maybe natively available under Windows XP just try "taskkill.exe /?" from the command-line

PSKill is available from Sysinternals. All will allow you to kill a task / process from a batch file but the command-line syntax will probably be different for each one.

socialxray
2006-10-20, 08:49
So this is why I am not a programmer! Thanks for giving me the tip guys. taskkill is native to XP. I guess we will see how it works.

socialxray
2006-10-20, 09:36
Well the saga continues.

Looks like Squeezesoft 3.2 has been completely revamped. All the documentation I could find is outdated.

Anyone know how to make Squeezesoft 3.2 run in headless mode?

Philip Meyer
2006-10-20, 12:39
>Anyone know how to make Squeezesoft 3.2 run in headless mode?
Instead of running Softsqeeze (not Squeezesoft!) run in headless mode, you could try Squeezeslave. This was written by the same author of Softsqueeze, as a windows console application.

I haven't tried to use it for a while - I'm not sure if it works with 6.5. I'm also not sure where you get it from - you'll have to search around.

Phil

shabbs
2006-10-20, 13:01
Well the saga continues.

Looks like Squeezesoft 3.2 has been completely revamped. All the documentation I could find is outdated.

Anyone know how to make Squeezesoft 3.2 run in headless mode?
Ummm... I'm running Sofsqueeze v3.2.1 and I simply double click on the softsqueezeheadless.exe executable. Works fine with my SS 6.5.1.

Cheers.

JJZolx
2006-10-20, 13:36
Well the saga continues.

Looks like Squeezesoft 3.2 has been completely revamped. All the documentation I could find is outdated.

Anyone know how to make Squeezesoft 3.2 run in headless mode?
Easiest way is to download and install the Softsqueeze 3.2.1 Windows installer from:

https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=105169&package_id=113211

Then just run softsqueezeHeadless.exe.

JJZolx
2006-10-20, 13:41
BTW, there's no good reason to approach this as if launching the web page connecting to SlimServer is launching Softsqueeze (or SlimServer, for that matter).

Just start up Softsqueeze headless, perhaps by putting a shortcut to it in your Windows Start > Programs > Startup folder and let Softsqueeze run 24/7. It won't hurt anything. When you want to get to the web interface, use a browser bookmark instead of that batch file.

dstrickler
2006-10-21, 08:04
I have been using my SD3 for 9 months on a v6.2 Slimserver running under SuSE Linux. I recently switched to Ubuntu, and used their package installer to grab Slimserver 6.5.0 and MySQL (and integrate the two). It was perfect - easy - and working great for about 30 days.

Recently, I have been having trouble with the SD3, and it asked for a firmware upgrade today after I restarted the Ubuntu server (and thus restarted Slimserver in the process). Now the SD3 sees the Slimserver, can browse music, playlists, etc, but can't actually play a tune. No errors at all. It all looks fine on the web interface, except that I see "Stopped 1 of 1" when I try and select a song to play. Additionally, sometimes the Slimserver doesn't see the SD3 at all and needs to have the Slimserver restarted to see it.

I suspect this was caused by a firmware upgrade I did. How can I go back to 'factory defaults', and then upgrade to the firmware that Slimserver 6.5 need?

Or if I'm going down the wrong path, let me know! I have already tried to reload the library, and it works fine to stream to iTunes, etc, just not the SD3.

Thanks,


Dave Strickler
MailWise LLC
617-933-5810 (direct)
www.mailwise.com ( http://www.mailwise.com/ )
"Intelligent E-mail Protection"




This message has been certified virus-free by MailWise Filter - The real-time, intelligent, e-mail firewall used to scan inbound and outbound messages for SPAM, Viruses and Content.

For more information, please visit: http://www.mailwise.com

kdf
2006-10-21, 13:43
On 21-Oct-06, at 8:04 AM, Dave Strickler wrote:
>
> I suspect this was caused by a firmware upgrade I did. How can I go
> back to 'factory defaults', and then upgrade to the firmware that
> Slimserver 6.5 need?
>
The firmware is closely tied to the installed build. if you have been
updating the builds, then firmware updates will come along from time to
time. A more recent one added gapless support for mp3 playback. This
requires a full clear and rescan of your music library. Did you try
that?

Factory reset returns all player settings (ip address, server choice,
etc) to blank. This is triggered by holding the ADD button while you
power up the squeezebox (unplug and plug back in, as opposed to using
the "off" button)

> Or if I'm going down the wrong path, let me know! I have already tried
> to reload the library, and it works fine to stream to iTunes, etc,
> just not the SD3.
>
just make sure it was a complete wipe and not just a look for new and
changed. what format is your music-? go into server
ssettings->debugging and turn on d_source. you can then check the logs
for the playback information. something in there should hint at why
the music isn't playing
-kdf

dstrickler
2006-10-22, 12:26
(thanks for the tips!)

I have done a "rescan everything" from the web interface a few times, but I am trying it again - just to make sure.

I will also try the factory reset on the SlimDevice, just to make sure there as well.

Setting the d_source on didn't give me any clues. It looked like it was reading in the MP3, and playing it out just fine. I guess that's more of a hint that it's the device itself.

I'll keep you posted - thanks!

Dave Strickler
MailWise LLC
617-933-5810 (direct)
www.mailwise.com ( http://www.mailwise.com/ )
"Intelligent E-mail Protection"





>>> On 10/21/2006 at 4:43 PM, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:

On 21-Oct-06, at 8:04 AM, Dave Strickler wrote:
>
> I suspect this was caused by a firmware upgrade I did. How can I go
> back to 'factory defaults', and then upgrade to the firmware that
> Slimserver 6.5 need?
>
The firmware is closely tied to the installed build. if you have been
updating the builds, then firmware updates will come along from time to
time. A more recent one added gapless support for mp3 playback. This
requires a full clear and rescan of your music library. Did you try
that?

Factory reset returns all player settings (ip address, server choice,
etc) to blank. This is triggered by holding the ADD button while you
power up the squeezebox (unplug and plug back in, as opposed to using
the "off" button)

> Or if I'm going down the wrong path, let me know! I have already tried
> to reload the library, and it works fine to stream to iTunes, etc,
> just not the SD3.
>
just make sure it was a complete wipe and not just a look for new and
changed. what format is your music-? go into server
ssettings->debugging and turn on d_source. you can then check the logs
for the playback information. something in there should hint at why
the music isn't playing
-kdf

This message has been certified virus-free by MailWise Filter - The real-time, intelligent, e-mail firewall used to scan inbound and outbound messages for SPAM, Viruses and Content.

For more information, please visit: http://www.mailwise.com

dstrickler
2006-10-22, 12:41
I cleared out the library (I am using MySQL, so I assume it did what I asked it to do). I also reset the Remote to factory defaults, and that didn't help either.

The log I am getting from a random file chosen from the lib is included below. Do you see anything strange? The software says it's playing, but I don't see the "in progress bar" like usual, and the "VU Meter" on the Slimdevice doesn't show any tunes playing.

TIA,

Dave

2006-10-22 15:33:36.1332 Adding song index 0 to song queue
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1337 Clearing out song queue first
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1341 Song queue is now 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1348 00:04:20:06:1a:7c: Switching to mode stop from play
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1353 00:04:20:06:1a:7c New play mode: stop
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1357 Stopping and clearing out old chunks for client 00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1373 Resetting song queue
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1380 Song queue is now 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1391 00:04:20:06:1a:7c: Current playmode: stop
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1793 00:04:20:06:1a:7c: Switching to mode stop from stop
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1798 Already in playmode stop : ignoring mode change
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1802 jumping to 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1805 Adding song index 0 to song queue
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1808 Clearing out song queue first
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1812 Song queue is now 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.1819 00:04:20:06:1a:7c: Switching to mode play from stop
2006-10-22 15:33:36.2578 openSong on: file:///media/music/Billy%20Joel/52nd%20Street/Big%20Shot.mp3
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3095 openSong: duration: [241.868] size: [3869884] endian [] offset: [2048] for file:///media/music/Billy%20Joel/52nd%20Street/Big%20Shot.mp3
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3103 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3108 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3131 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3136 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3139 undermax = 1, type = mp3, squeezebox2 = 00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3143 checking formats for: mp3-wma-squeezebox2-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3147 checking formats for: mp3-wma-*-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3150 checking formats for: mp3-wma-squeezebox2-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3161 checking formats for: mp3-wma-*-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3165 checking formats for: mp3-ogg-squeezebox2-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3168 checking formats for: mp3-ogg-*-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3171 checking formats for: mp3-ogg-squeezebox2-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3175 checking formats for: mp3-ogg-*-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3178 checking formats for: mp3-flc-squeezebox2-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3181 checking formats for: mp3-flc-*-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3184 checking formats for: mp3-flc-squeezebox2-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3187 checking formats for: mp3-flc-*-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3191 checking formats for: mp3-aif-squeezebox2-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3194 checking formats for: mp3-aif-*-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3197 checking formats for: mp3-aif-squeezebox2-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3200 checking formats for: mp3-aif-*-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3204 checking formats for: mp3-wav-squeezebox2-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3207 checking formats for: mp3-wav-*-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3210 checking formats for: mp3-wav-squeezebox2-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3213 checking formats for: mp3-wav-*-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3216 checking formats for: mp3-mp3-squeezebox2-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3220 checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-00:04:20:06:1a:7c
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3223 checking formats for: mp3-mp3-squeezebox2-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3226 checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-*
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3229 Checking to see if mp3-mp3-*-* is enabled
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3232 enabled
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3236 Found command: -
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3240 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3244 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3247 Matched Format: mp3 Type: mp3 Command: -
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3251 openSong: this is an mp3 file: file:///media/music/Billy%20Joel/52nd%20Street/Big%20Shot.mp3
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3254 file type: mp3 format: mp3 inrate: 128 maxRate: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3257 command: -
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3262 openSong: opening file /media/music/Billy Joel/52nd Street/Big Shot.mp3
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3266 openSong: seeking in 2048 into /media/music/Billy Joel/52nd Street/Big Shot.mp3
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3272 openSong: Streaming with format: mp3
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3370 00:04:20:06:1a:7c New play mode: play
2006-10-22 15:33:36.3487 00:04:20:06:1a:7c: Current playmode: play
2006-10-22 15:33:36.4687 We need to send 0 seconds of silence...
2006-10-22 15:33:36.4692 sending 0 bytes of silence
2006-10-22 15:33:36.8176 songTime: rate:1 -songtime:0 -startStream:0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.8776 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.8782 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:36.9819 songTime: rate:1 -songtime:0 -startStream:0
2006-10-22 15:33:37.0178 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0
2006-10-22 15:33:37.0184 Setting maxBitRate for Slimdevice Bedroom to: 0


>>> On 10/21/2006 at 4:43 PM, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:

On 21-Oct-06, at 8:04 AM, Dave Strickler wrote:
>
> I suspect this was caused by a firmware upgrade I did. How can I go
> back to 'factory defaults', and then upgrade to the firmware that
> Slimserver 6.5 need?
>
The firmware is closely tied to the installed build. if you have been
updating the builds, then firmware updates will come along from time to
time. A more recent one added gapless support for mp3 playback. This
requires a full clear and rescan of your music library. Did you try
that?

Factory reset returns all player settings (ip address, server choice,
etc) to blank. This is triggered by holding the ADD button while you
power up the squeezebox (unplug and plug back in, as opposed to using
the "off" button)

> Or if I'm going down the wrong path, let me know! I have already tried
> to reload the library, and it works fine to stream to iTunes, etc,
> just not the SD3.
>
just make sure it was a complete wipe and not just a look for new and
changed. what format is your music-? go into server
ssettings->debugging and turn on d_source. you can then check the logs
for the playback information. something in there should hint at why
the music isn't playing
-kdf

This message has been certified virus-free by MailWise Filter - The real-time, intelligent, e-mail firewall used to scan inbound and outbound messages for SPAM, Viruses and Content.

For more information, please visit: http://www.mailwise.com

socialxray
2006-10-22, 23:36
BTW, there's no good reason to approach this as if launching the web page connecting to SlimServer is launching Softsqueeze (or SlimServer, for that matter).

Just start up Softsqueeze headless, perhaps by putting a shortcut to it in your Windows Start > Programs > Startup folder and let Softsqueeze run 24/7. It won't hurt anything. When you want to get to the web interface, use a browser bookmark instead of that batch file.


Sometimes you cannot see the forest for the trees. Thanks JJZ for the simplest of resolutions. Brilliant!

dstrickler
2006-10-24, 15:56
Another interesting nugget: I can play all the music through Softsqueeze 3.0, and through a 2nd (older) SB1.

Also, when I say "Forget this player", the server seems to remember the name of player. I wonder if there is some setting the server is remembering about the SB2 ?

Do you know how I get the server to 'forget' the SB2 completely, and see it as a new SB ?

Dave Strickler
MailWise LLC
617-933-5810 (direct)
www.mailwise.com ( http://www.mailwise.com/ )
"Intelligent E-mail Protection"





>>> On 10/21/2006 at 4:43 PM, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:

On 21-Oct-06, at 8:04 AM, Dave Strickler wrote:
>
> I suspect this was caused by a firmware upgrade I did. How can I go
> back to 'factory defaults', and then upgrade to the firmware that
> Slimserver 6.5 need?
>
The firmware is closely tied to the installed build. if you have been
updating the builds, then firmware updates will come along from time to
time. A more recent one added gapless support for mp3 playback. This
requires a full clear and rescan of your music library. Did you try
that?

Factory reset returns all player settings (ip address, server choice,
etc) to blank. This is triggered by holding the ADD button while you
power up the squeezebox (unplug and plug back in, as opposed to using
the "off" button)

> Or if I'm going down the wrong path, let me know! I have already tried
> to reload the library, and it works fine to stream to iTunes, etc,
> just not the SD3.
>
just make sure it was a complete wipe and not just a look for new and
changed. what format is your music-? go into server
ssettings->debugging and turn on d_source. you can then check the logs
for the playback information. something in there should hint at why
the music isn't playing
-kdf

This message has been certified virus-free by MailWise Filter - The real-time, intelligent, e-mail firewall used to scan inbound and outbound messages for SPAM, Viruses and Content.

For more information, please visit: http://www.mailwise.com

kdf
2006-10-24, 16:07
Quoting Dave Strickler <dstrickler (AT) mailwise (DOT) com>:

> Another interesting nugget: I can play all the music through
> Softsqueeze 3.0, and through a 2nd (older) SB1.
>
> Also, when I say "Forget this player", the server seems to remember
> the name of player. I wonder if there is some setting the server is
> remembering about the SB2 ?

the prefs file still keeps the player info. "forget" simply dumps the
player from the server client list. When the player connects anew, the
MAC address matches what is stored in the prefs file and you get the
old prefs back.

> Do you know how I get the server to 'forget' the SB2 completely, and
> see it as a new SB ?

Delete that client from the prefs file. You can edit it in any text
editor. On windows, the file is called slimserver.pref, and should be
located in c:\program files\slimserver\server\

If you don't care about any of your current server prefs, you could
just save time and delete the entire prefs file.

-kdf

dstrickler
2006-10-24, 17:04
Amazing - it works ! Many, many thanks !

I renamed the /etc/slimserver/slimserver.prefs file under Ubuntu, restarted the SB2, and it now works like a champ. The funny thing is that I edited that file and took out the reference to the SB2, and it didn't work. There must have been a typo that I introduced.

Again, many, many thanks !

Dave Strickler
MailWise LLC
617-933-5810 (direct)
www.mailwise.com ( http://www.mailwise.com/ )
"Intelligent E-mail Protection"





>>> On 10/24/2006 at 7:07 PM, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
Quoting Dave Strickler <dstrickler (AT) mailwise (DOT) com>:

> Another interesting nugget: I can play all the music through
> Softsqueeze 3.0, and through a 2nd (older) SB1.
>
> Also, when I say "Forget this player", the server seems to remember
> the name of player. I wonder if there is some setting the server is
> remembering about the SB2 ?

the prefs file still keeps the player info. "forget" simply dumps the
player from the server client list. When the player connects anew, the
MAC address matches what is stored in the prefs file and you get the
old prefs back.

> Do you know how I get the server to 'forget' the SB2 completely, and
> see it as a new SB ?

Delete that client from the prefs file. You can edit it in any text
editor. On windows, the file is called slimserver.pref, and should be
located in c:\program files\slimserver\server\

If you don't care about any of your current server prefs, you could
just save time and delete the entire prefs file.

-kdf