PDA

View Full Version : Sychronization SB to SB3 issue



wesg
2006-10-14, 08:57
Is it possible to synchronize a first generation SB to a SB3? When a tell them to synch via the player setting interface the SB plays the music about 1 sec. behind the SB3. Seems fairly steady.

Is there a trick I'm missing, or is this a known bug, or any suggested trouble shooting techniques.

These are both wired, connected to the same network, playing individual flac files. Server is 6.5.0.

I'd appreciate any suggestions that could get this to work.

Thanks for everyones help.

Wes G.

stinkingpig
2006-10-14, 09:28
On 10/14/06, wesg <wesg.2fodhz1160841601 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> Is it possible to synchronize a first generation SB to a SB3? When a
> tell them to synch via the player setting interface the SB plays the
> music about 1 sec. behind the SB3. Seems fairly steady.
>
> Is there a trick I'm missing, or is this a known bug, or any suggested
> trouble shooting techniques.
>
> These are both wired, connected to the same network, playing individual
> flac files. Server is 6.5.0.
>
> I'd appreciate any suggestions that could get this to work.
>
> Thanks for everyones help.
>
> Wes G.
>
>
Play MP3 and they'll sync fine. The SB1 doesn't do FLAC natively, so it's
incurring a transcode lag:
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?HardwareComparison You might be able
to get some results by entering a bug or voting on an existing one; the
fine-grained network clock should be able to solve this problem, that's bug
259.

Sniff... shouldn't have sold my SliMP3, that was a cool looking little
device :) I hope SDI has room in future product plans for a retro revival.
--
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin,
So across the Western ocean I must wander" -- traditional

Mark Lanctot
2006-10-14, 10:03
the
fine-grained network clock should be able to solve this problem, that's bug
259.

Don't let the developers hear you say that, you'll get reamed:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=131885&postcount=10

wesg
2006-10-14, 11:40
Thanks for the clarity. Even if it doesn't work better at this point it is comforting to know what the issue is.

Wes G

radish
2006-10-15, 08:27
Don't let the developers hear you say that, you'll get reamed:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showpost.php?p=131885&postcount=10

KDF wasn't saying that bug wouldn't fix syncing, he was saying that it was a bit of a stretch to promise it for some future release when no-one's started work on it yet.