PDA

View Full Version : Browse by custom tag ?

Lowrent
2006-10-06, 20:14
Hi all,

I have started re-ripping my cds in FLAC (it sounds way much better than my 192kbps mp3s).
I include extra tags in my files :

- LABEL
- SOURCE (vinyl or cd or live)

Would it be easy to program a plugin that would allow me to browse by label or source.
I would also like to add that information in the file information in Now Playing.

Thanks for giving me some clues.

L.

ps : i'm a programmer btw, not afraid to code it myself.

erland
2006-10-06, 21:55
Would it be easy to program a plugin that would allow me to browse by label or source.
I would also like to add that information in the file information in Now Playing.With the Custom Browse plugin you can create browse menus based on any information thats stored in the slimserver database. The problem with LABEL and SOURCE is that these tags will not be stored in the slimserver database. As I see it you have a number of solutions:

1. Store the information in one of the tags that slimserver is able to handle and use the Custom Browse plugin. You could for example use the COMMENT tag which is imported to the slimserver database.

2. Make a plugin that implements a custom scanning process. I'm not completely sure, but I think there is no way to hook in your code so its called for every scanned track. But I know you can make a custom scanner that scans all files by it self. To make it as simple as possible its probably best to make the scanner with an algoritm like:
- Read all tracks from the slimserver database
- For each file read the LABEL and SOURCE tags
- Store the information in the LABEL and SOURCE tag in a new separate table and use the track identifier (or url) as the key
When you have the information in the slimserver database you can use the Custom Browse plugin to make the browse menu.