PDA

View Full Version : Still having MusicMagic Problems



ezkcdude
2006-10-04, 19:17
So, last week I upgraded to SlimServer v.6.5. Since then, I have not been able to get MusicMagic to work correctly. I've reinstalled SlimServer a couple of times. I have no idea what the deal is. It's surprising to me that I'm the only one with this problem. Also, there seems to be a lot of duplicate song entries according to Slim Server. At this point, I feel like backing up to a previous version. Does anyone know where I can get v6.3?

kdf
2006-10-04, 19:37
On 4-Oct-06, at 7:17 PM, ezkcdude wrote:
>
> anyone know where I can get v6.3?
>
not hard to find now that we have a nifty search feature on the forum.

but, here it is anyway:
http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads

-k

ezkcdude
2006-10-04, 19:42
Thanks! I'll try this and see what happens.

ezkcdude
2006-10-05, 05:52
I uninstalled SlimServer, and then reinstalled 6.5 (after trying 6.3 which didn't work). Now, I don't see any MM icons in the SS GUI. However, I can send MM playlists to SlimServer from the MM executable. So, for now, I guess that's good enough. I just don't understand why I lost the ability to make playlists from within SS itself.

kdf
2006-10-05, 08:14
On 5-Oct-06, at 5:52 AM, ezkcdude wrote:

>
> I uninstalled SlimServer, and then reinstalled 6.5 (after trying 6.3
> which didn't work). Now, I don't see any MM icons in the SS GUI.
> However, I can send MM playlists to SlimServer from the MM executable.
> So, for now, I guess that's good enough. I just don't understand why I
> lost the ability to make playlists from within SS itself.
>
c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_musicmagic

-kdf

Simon Still
2006-10-05, 15:43
Musicmagic is not working for me either - hitting the mm icons in the
webinterface generates an empty list. I'll try to find time to look into
it.

ezkcdude
2006-10-05, 17:20
Musicmagic is not working for me either - hitting the mm icons in the
webinterface generates an empty list. I'll try to find time to look into
it.

That's exactly what was happening to me at first. Now, after trying several different things, I can even get the MM icons back. In a way, I'm sort of glad to hear I'm not the only one having difficulty.

Simon Still
2006-10-08, 03:08
the log is showing

MusicMagic: read cacheid of 0MusicMagic: got status - idle

and i get a blank page when i try to create a mix

What does that mean?

kdf
2006-10-08, 11:53
well, for one, the cacheid shouldn't ever be zero. there should also be a carriage return after it (at least with latest nightly builds).


If you run from command line with --d_musicmagic does is say anything bad?


also, when you try to create a mix, there should be more messages about "creating a mix" or "no type specified" etc, so this log snippet is not enough info to make any conclusions about mising problems
-kdf

ob_kook
2006-10-16, 07:30
Hi guys,

I have the same problem as you and am wondering if you have been able to resolve yours? After upgrading to 6.5, I was getting empty play lists. Tried rescans etc, and finally to resolve a different issue, I upgraded to the 10-15 nightly.

Now I do not even have the little mix icons on my library listings. I do have the "Use MusicMagic" option checked.

I'm not sure where to go next - maybe try the beta which was listed from Predixis website, but if you have found a way to solve the problem already, I would be most interested in hearing it!

Kook

Simon Still
2006-10-16, 11:46
When i create a mix slimserver throws up the message
MusicMagic Mix
<http://localhost:9000/plugins/MusicMagic/musicmagic_mix.html?song=HASH%280x5c2a2e4%29&artist=&album=&genre=&player=192.168.0.5>
------------------------------
*Note:* SlimServer is still scanning your music library, so some items may
not appear in this area yet.


Running from the command line slimserver detects musicmagic:musicip mixer
when it looks for the API then displays
get filters list/
get moods list/
get filters list
read cache id of 11602200952006-10-10 19:44
got status - idle.

and then repeats that message periodically

kdf
2006-10-16, 13:07
Make sure you have the latest nightly. Also make sure that you check
Plugins/MusicMagic/HTML and delete anything but the EN folder. Then
clear the caches.
-k

pc4ever1
2006-10-16, 13:31
I've had similar problems in the past. Here's what I did to resolve:
Go into Slimserver's "Server|Plugins" and disable "musicmagic"
Then actually shut down the MusicIP Mixer program
Re-start MusicIP Mixer with the following command
..../musicmagicmixer.exe -slim
Note: The "-slim" will make slimserver the default program for sent mixes within MusicIP Mixer . As a double check go into MusicIP Mixer "Options" to make sure this is true, plus check to see if the MusicIP Server & API Services are enabled.

Then start slimserver. Go to "server|plugins" to enable "musicmagic"
Then doublecheck that MusicIP Mixer is enabled by going into "server settings" and make sure that "Use Musicmagic" is enabled/checked.

You should be good to go after this ( at least that is what has worked for me in the past)

Good Luck

Dougal
2006-10-16, 14:35
I have been using MusicIP with the "send to" option, but out of curiosity I thought I would have a go at getting slimserver to use the MusicIP database.

1. Following the instructions here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=24457&highlight=musicip+service
to run MusicIP as a service on WinXP Pro sp2.

2. Reboot machine and check that "MusicMagicServer.exe" is running as a service.

3. Check "Use MusicMagic"

4. Clear "Music Folder" of all information.

5. Do a clear and rescan.

The above seems to work OK, All tracks have "MM" after and appear to create mixes OK.

Win XP Pro sp2
slimserver 6.5.1 2006-10-16
MusicIP 1.7

This info may help someone.

Doug.

Simon Still
2006-10-16, 23:52
On 10/16/06, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> Make sure you have the latest nightly. Also make sure that you check
> Plugins/MusicMagic/HTML and delete anything but the EN folder. Then
> clear the caches.
> -k
>