PDA

View Full Version : 6.5.0 is OK except for....



ncpl
2006-10-02, 05:58
Hi All,

6.5.0 seems generally OK for me so far...no crashes, random stops etc. However, I've 2 issues that I haven't seen any previous answers too on the forum...

1) when viewing my SS from another pc in my house, it doesn't refresh the page during playback. Previously, SS would click away and refresh right on time. I've tried different refresh time settings, but, only a manual refresh/F5 in IE6 seems to work. OS in XP Pro on SS and XP Home on the PC I'm viewing on. All files are .flac.

2) I now have a bunch of random no artist/no album tracks. I saw another poster mention this but couldn't spot the solution. I can't see them in mp3tag or in the file directory.

Any words of wisdom greatly appreciated.

cheers

jeffluckett
2006-10-02, 06:06
When I first went to 6.5 before it became an "official" beta I had similar problems.

It may be a simple matter of your browser cache needing to be refreshed. Either try ctrl+f5 to force a refresh, or go into your browser's menu item and manually clear the cache.

ncpl
2006-10-02, 07:03
Thanks Jeff,

Just before I picked up your response, I changed skin from default to dark, and it seems to refresh.

Changing back to default and it doesn't. Perhaps it's juyst an issue with the default skin. I know not to touch default 2 anyway now having been caught out by that last week.

Seems also that ctrl+F5 is the only way to fully change a skin also.

Any thoughts on no album/no artist ?

Cheers

jeffluckett
2006-10-02, 07:06
Thanks Jeff,

Just before I picked up your response, I changed skin from default to dark, and it seems to refresh.

Changing back to default and it doesn't. Perhaps it's juyst an issue with the default skin. I know not to touch default 2 anyway now having been caught out by that last week.

Seems also that ctrl+F5 is the only way to fully change a skin also.

Any thoughts on no album/no artist ?

Cheers

Sorry, no input on that I'm afraid. I'm not experiencing that issue.

ncpl
2006-10-02, 07:53
I've tracked the no name/no artist stuff down to .wavs that were from aborted rips. It seems that SS could see them but as they never picked up any tags, I couldn't see them in mp3tag. Without any tags, they showed up as no album,/no artist as you'd expect.
Probably explains why mp3tag and SS always had different stats.
6.5.0 must be behaving differently with the database.

I'm still not sure why default doesn't refresh and for some reason I can't see any option for artwork now on any skin?

cheers

Mark Lanctot
2006-10-02, 08:02
I'm still not sure why default doesn't refresh and for some reason I can't see any option for artwork now on any skin?

This is now in a "gallery view" and is available using a small button on the right side of the "Sort By" field in any view showing multiple artists, albums, etc.

You may have to rescan to see it:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=142002#post142002

joncourage
2006-10-02, 08:04
I'm having the same "no-automatic-refresh" problem.

Any word from Slim Support on this?

adhawkins
2006-10-02, 08:07
Hi,

In article <ncpl.2f22hn1159800901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
ncpl<ncpl.2f22hn1159800901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> for some reason I can't see any option for artwork now on any skin?

On the 'default' skin, go into 'Albums' and then there's an icon to go
'To Gallery View'

Andy

kdf
2006-10-02, 08:16
On 2-Oct-06, at 5:58 AM, ncpl wrote:

>
> Hi All,
>
> 6.5.0 seems generally OK for me so far...no crashes, random stops etc.
> However, I've 2 issues that I haven't seen any previous answers too on
> the forum...
>
> 1) I've tried different refresh time settings, but, only a
> manual refresh/F5 in IE6 seems to work. OS in XP Pro on SS and XP Home
> on the PC I'm viewing on. All files are .flac.
>
known issue, and known to be fixed in 6.5.1 nightly builds.
-k

James Dunn
2006-10-02, 10:33
Hi,

There were two causes on my machine for the no album no artist problem under
6.5.0....

1) Cover art embedded in the album. I went through the files with iTunes
and deleted the cover art and all the tracks but one were put back in the
database.
2) The track title was too long on the last track (something classical that
had a title that went on for probably more than 100-200 characters). I
shortened the title and the track was back in the database.

I found them all by browsing albums to "no album" and picked them off one by
one in iTunes. It soon became obvious that cover art was the problem
because I don't normally use it and tracks without cover art were OK.

Cheers,

James


> 2) I now have a bunch of random no artist/no album tracks. I saw
> another poster mention this but couldn't spot the solution. I can't
> see them in mp3tag or in the file directory.

ncpl
2006-10-03, 04:02
Thanks for the pointer to 6.5.1. for the refresh fix.

A full refresh also bought the gallery option back in.

cheers

edit:- 6.5.1 seems to fix the lack of refresh.

ncpl
2006-10-06, 02:29
Refresh is mostly working but why would the top right section above the playlist not refresh.

Most of the time it returns with IE standard message of

The page cannot be displayed
The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

F5 refreshes it. However, why would it not refresh automatically ? Is that a server setting ? Or is it a remnent of the previous issue ?

cheers

ezkcdude
2006-10-06, 06:43
It's o.k., except I can't get MusicMagic to work.

mherger
2006-10-06, 07:12
> It's o.k., except I can't get MusicMagic to work.

I don't know what issues you have with MIP, but there's a new beta which
solved my non latin character issues with MIP.

http://music.predixis.com/beta.html

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

GrahameP
2006-10-06, 16:41
I'm having problems with albums not listing tracks in the correct order (but not all albums do this).

I have a folder called Music.flac which contains artist/album/tracks folders. This worked OK under 6.3.1, but is non-browsable under 6.5.0 - it thinks Music.flac is a track.

I get spurious freezes of the track title/progress on any player (SB2 & softsqueeze 3.0).

I have also suffered freezes of the player menu - scrolls up or down or left or right but then stops for about 10-20 seconds every 10 or so steps before continuing again with some of the key presses whilst frozen buffered up to be actioned when it un-freezes.

All on Slimserver 6.5.0 under W2003 SBS.

Grahame.

shaboyi
2006-10-06, 19:04
I can't seem to get MusicIP to work either under 6.5.1. it is ver 1.7. The
API is running. SS recognizes it insofar as the option to use it on the
main Server Setting page is there (it is not if the API is not running). I
have tried the usuall - shutting both applications down, starting MIP, then
starting SS. Usually that works....no luck. It's an XP Pro machine.

I also tried the complete uninstall of everyhing and reinstall (i had
upgraded on top of 6.3). same result.
Are others having this issue? Any suggestions? Thanks.


On 10/6/06, ezkcdude <ezkcdude.2f9dx01160142302 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> It's o.k., except I can't get MusicMagic to work.
>
>
> --
> ezkcdude
>
> DIY projects page:
> http://www.cellandtissue.com/diy.html
>
> System:
> SB3->Derek Shek TDA1543/CS8412 NOS DAC->MIT Terminator 2
> interconnects->Endler Audio 24-step Attenuators (RCA-direct)->Parasound
> Halo A23 125W/ch amplifier->Speltz anti-cables->DIY 2-ways + Dayton
> Titanic 10" subwoofer
>
> He's not hi-fi, he's my stereo.
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> ezkcdude's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2545
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=28183
>
>

mherger
2006-10-06, 23:34
> I can't seem to get MusicIP to work either under 6.5.1. it is ver 1.7.

MIP has never been working better for me than with yesterday's 1.7rc2

> API is running. SS recognizes it insofar as the option to use it on the
> main Server Setting page is there (it is not if the API is not

Did you do a complete rescan of your collection? This can take a
considerable amount of time.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Dougal
2006-10-07, 01:01
Hi,
I don’t use MusicIP all that often but it is useful to have around, so my solution is to skip slimserver integration and use the “send to” option and I use the remote desktop feature of WinXP Pro to drag the desktop of my server machine to a laptop in the lounge to effect remote control.
Doug.

shaboyi
2006-10-07, 07:27
yes rescanned a couple of times. read elsewhere that it works in 6.5 but
has issues in 6.5.1 depending on the nightly. what nightly are you
using? Where do you get 1.7rc2? Can't find it on their site - the download
is just 1.7. thanks.

On 10/7/06, Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:
>
> > I can't seem to get MusicIP to work either under 6.5.1. it is ver 1.7.
>
> MIP has never been working better for me than with yesterday's 1.7rc2
>
> > API is running. SS recognizes it insofar as the option to use it on the
> > main Server Setting page is there (it is not if the API is not
>
> Did you do a complete rescan of your collection? This can take a
> considerable amount of time.
>
> --
>
> Michael
>
> -----------------------------------------------------------------
> http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
> http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR
>

mherger
2006-10-08, 12:08
> what nightly are you using?

SlimServer_6.5_v2006-10-06

> Where do you get 1.7rc2? Can't find it on their site - the download is
> just 1.7. thanks.

http://music.predixis.com/beta.html

As the name says: this is still beta. Know that there are still some bugs
to be fixed. But this is the best build (for my needs) I've ever used.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

ncpl
2006-10-24, 04:11
For the last few weeks I've given up on the IE refresh failing most of the time. It was only a pain when I wanted to see where I was upto on a playlist.

However, I've just moved onto IE7 and the refresh seems to work 100% (at least so far).

Not sure what that means about SS or the version or installation of IE 6 I had, but, it's a fix nonetheless.

Tarn
2006-10-24, 10:04
Has IE 7 worked around the playlist refresh bugs for others?

I had been delaying changing over to IE 7, but this could be a good reason to do so.

Tarn
2006-11-08, 16:37
I tried out IE7. It didn't work around the playlist not refreshing bug.