PDA

View Full Version : Audio input to Squeezebox possible?



Tim Long
2003-12-07, 20:17
But then, you would be connecting the audio source to the _server_ and
not the Squeezebox, surely? So, still no need for an audio input on the
Squeezebox, right? These boxes only receive audio, they don't transmit
it.

--Tim

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Sean Graham [mailto:grahams (AT) gti (DOT) net]
> Sent: Monday 8 December 2003 01:20
> To: SlimDevices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Audio input to Squeezebox possible?
>
> On Mon, Dec 08, 2003 at 12:12:41AM -0000, Tim Long wrote:
>
> > I may have missed the point here, but if your audio source is close
> > enough to connect to the Squeezebox, then why can't you
> just connect
> > it to the amplifier?
>
> As was mentioned several times in this thread already, this
> would be useful for when you wanted to distribute
> live/broadcast audio across an entire house using multiple
> Slim Devices.
>
> sean
> --
> Sean M. Graham - grahams (AT) gti (DOT) net
> http://www.pobox.com/~grahams/
>

Sean Graham
2003-12-07, 23:00
On Mon, Dec 08, 2003 at 03:17:39AM -0000, Tim Long wrote:

> > As was mentioned several times in this thread already, this would be
> > useful for when you wanted to distribute live/broadcast audio across an
> > entire house using multiple Slim Devices.
>
> But then, you would be connecting the audio source to the _server_ and
> not the Squeezebox, surely? So, still no need for an audio input on the
> Squeezebox, right? These boxes only receive audio, they don't transmit
> it.

No, the person who started this thread requested this functionality in the
Squeezebox. It was quickly pointed out to them that this wasn't possible
with the current hardware, and then the conversation turned to the "next
generation" slim device beyond the squeezebox.

sean
--
Sean M. Graham - grahams (AT) gti (DOT) net
http://www.pobox.com/~grahams/