PDA

View Full Version : Firmware / Software update for an old slimp3 ?



Kornelis Sietsma
2003-12-07, 20:04
Hi there,

I finally got around to updating my slimp3 to the latest slimserver, and while the
new server software seems to work fine, the slimp3 display, and the remote control
interface, seem to not be functioning.[1]

I assume I have to update my firmware - I'm still running an ancient version.
My questions are :

1. Is the firmware that comes with the latest (5.01) slimserver ok for a good ol'
slimp3? I ask because the only firmware I can see in the file is called
'squeezebox.bin' ... Or should I be using a different version of the server
software?

2. Where do the instructions on how to update the firmware reside? I can probably
work it out from the on-line FAQ, but I'm sure there used to be some mention of it
elsewhere? It doesn't seem to be anywhere in the downloadable manual, or indeed in
the old copy of the slimp3 manual I have on my hard disk, or anywhere in the on-line
help.

3. On that subject - wouldn't it be good to keep an 'old' version of the manual
available somewhere for those of us with the original hardware? I still have the
original remote control (mainly as the cost of postage of a new remote to Australia
seemed prohibitive), but the new manual, naturally, only shows the shiny new remote,
and it assumes everywhere that you have a squeezebox. Which is fine for new users,
but not much good for old users, or anyone who gets a second hand slimp3 ...

- Korny (who has broken the golden "only ask one question per e-mail" rule)[2]
[1] The remote works in the initial setup menus, but not thereafter, and the display
shows "now playing..." and nothing else.
[2] The theory is that people will only ever answer one question per e-mail, so
posting a list of question means that only one of them ever gets answered...
[3] There is no footnote three.
--
Kornelis Sietsma korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com ph: 0421 079 693

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-12-07, 23:02
Quoting Kornelis Sietsma <korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com>:

> Hi there,
>
> I finally got around to updating my slimp3 to the latest slimserver, and
> while the
> new server software seems to work fine, the slimp3 display, and the remote
> control
> interface, seem to not be functioning.[1]
>
> I assume I have to update my firmware - I'm still running an ancient
> version.
> My questions are :

This is probably a very valid assumption :)

> 1. Is the firmware that comes with the latest (5.01) slimserver ok for a good
> ol'
> slimp3? I ask because the only firmware I can see in the file is called
> 'squeezebox.bin' ... Or should I be using a different version of the server
> software?

That is the wrong firmware. This is the file for squeezebox. What you are
looking for is found in the slimp3 directory. The file is MAIN.HEX and the tool
for upgrading is upgrade.pl (for linux). OSX and Windows, I believe, have an
upgrade button in the server window. To upgrade, unplug the slimp3, then plug
back in while pressing and hold a button on the remote. You should then see the
MAC address displayed on the slimp3. You can now use upgrade.pl or the server
application to do your upgrade. This should be the same imstructions you have
seen before. This proceedure is much easier for squeezebox

>
> 2. Where do the instructions on how to update the firmware reside? I can
You can find them in the HELP section of your server, under Frequently Asked
Questions: Troubleshooting.
>
> 3. On that subject - wouldn't it be good to keep an 'old' version of the
> manual
> available somewhere for those of us with the original hardware? I still have

its here:
http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/SLIMP3.pdf

-kdf

Kornelis Sietsma
2003-12-08, 22:39
On Sun, 07 Dec 2003 22:02:38 -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:

>Quoting Kornelis Sietsma <korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com>:
<snip>
>> 1. Is the firmware that comes with the latest (5.01) slimserver ok for a good
>> ol'
>> slimp3? I ask because the only firmware I can see in the file is called
>> 'squeezebox.bin' ... Or should I be using a different version of the server
>> software?
>
>That is the wrong firmware. This is the file for squeezebox. What you are
>looking for is found in the slimp3 directory. The file is MAIN.HEX and the tool
>for upgrading is upgrade.pl (for linux). OSX and Windows, I believe, have an
>upgrade button in the server window. To upgrade, unplug the slimp3, then plug
>back in while pressing and hold a button on the remote. You should then see the
>MAC address displayed on the slimp3. You can now use upgrade.pl or the server
>application to do your upgrade. This should be the same imstructions you have
>seen before. This proceedure is much easier for squeezebox

Thank you - that worked fine! And, as seemed pretty likely, my problems were with my
old firmware. Everything works now.

>> 2. Where do the instructions on how to update the firmware reside? I can
>You can find them in the HELP section of your server, under Frequently Asked
>Questions: Troubleshooting.
>>
>> 3. On that subject - wouldn't it be good to keep an 'old' version of the
>> manual
>> available somewhere for those of us with the original hardware? I still have
>
>its here:
>http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/SLIMP3.pdf

Nope - this isn't the old manual, it's the old spec sheet.

And the above link isn't anywhere on the slimdevices web site that I can see...

It's ok for me, I still have the original manual on disk - but it might be a hassle
for people who don't.

- Korny
--
Kornelis Sietsma korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com ph: 0421 079 693

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-12-08, 22:48
Quoting Kornelis Sietsma <korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com>:

> On Sun, 07 Dec 2003 22:02:38 -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
>
> >Quoting Kornelis Sietsma <korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com>:
> <snip>
> >> 1. Is the firmware that comes with the latest (5.01) slimserver ok for a
> good
> >> ol'
> >> slimp3? I ask because the only firmware I can see in the file is called
> >> 'squeezebox.bin' ... Or should I be using a different version of the
> server
> >> software?
> >
> >That is the wrong firmware. This is the file for squeezebox. What you are
> >looking for is found in the slimp3 directory. The file is MAIN.HEX and the
> tool
> >for upgrading is upgrade.pl (for linux). OSX and Windows, I believe, have
> an
> >upgrade button in the server window. To upgrade, unplug the slimp3, then
> plug
> >back in while pressing and hold a button on the remote. You should then see
> the
> >MAC address displayed on the slimp3. You can now use upgrade.pl or the
> server
> >application to do your upgrade. This should be the same imstructions you
> have
> >seen before. This proceedure is much easier for squeezebox
>
> Thank you - that worked fine! And, as seemed pretty likely, my problems were
> with my
> old firmware. Everything works now.

cool!

> >> 2. Where do the instructions on how to update the firmware reside? I can
> >You can find them in the HELP section of your server, under Frequently
> Asked
> >Questions: Troubleshooting.
> >>
> >> 3. On that subject - wouldn't it be good to keep an 'old' version of the
> >> manual
> >> available somewhere for those of us with the original hardware? I still
> have
> >
> >its here:
> >http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/SLIMP3.pdf
>
> Nope - this isn't the old manual, it's the old spec sheet.
>
> And the above link isn't anywhere on the slimdevices web site that I can
> see...
>
the older manuals should be made available. dean?

-kdf

dean
2003-12-08, 22:58
The original manual is here:

http://www.slimdevices.com/documentation/SLIMP3-User-Guide.pdf

-dean


On Dec 8, 2003, at 9:39 PM, Kornelis Sietsma wrote:

> On Sun, 07 Dec 2003 22:02:38 -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
>
>> Quoting Kornelis Sietsma <korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com>:
> <snip>
>>> 1. Is the firmware that comes with the latest (5.01) slimserver ok
>>> for a good
>>> ol'
>>> slimp3? I ask because the only firmware I can see in the file is
>>> called
>>> 'squeezebox.bin' ... Or should I be using a different version of
>>> the server
>>> software?
>>
>> That is the wrong firmware. This is the file for squeezebox. What
>> you are
>> looking for is found in the slimp3 directory. The file is MAIN.HEX
>> and the tool
>> for upgrading is upgrade.pl (for linux). OSX and Windows, I believe,
>> have an
>> upgrade button in the server window. To upgrade, unplug the slimp3,
>> then plug
>> back in while pressing and hold a button on the remote. You should
>> then see the
>> MAC address displayed on the slimp3. You can now use upgrade.pl or
>> the server
>> application to do your upgrade. This should be the same imstructions
>> you have
>> seen before. This proceedure is much easier for squeezebox
>
> Thank you - that worked fine! And, as seemed pretty likely, my
> problems were with my
> old firmware. Everything works now.
>
>>> 2. Where do the instructions on how to update the firmware reside?
>>> I can
>> You can find them in the HELP section of your server, under
>> Frequently Asked
>> Questions: Troubleshooting.
>>>
>>> 3. On that subject - wouldn't it be good to keep an 'old' version of
>>> the
>>> manual
>>> available somewhere for those of us with the original hardware? I
>>> still have
>>
>> its here:
>> http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/SLIMP3.pdf
>
> Nope - this isn't the old manual, it's the old spec sheet.
>
> And the above link isn't anywhere on the slimdevices web site that I
> can see...
>
> It's ok for me, I still have the original manual on disk - but it
> might be a hassle
> for people who don't.
>
> - Korny
> --
> Kornelis Sietsma korny (AT) sietsma (DOT) com ph: 0421 079 693
>

depeche
2003-12-08, 23:07
So what IS the latest version of firmware for the slimp3?

Andrew
d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net


> > 1. Is the firmware that comes with the latest (5.01) slimserver ok for a
good
> > ol'
> > slimp3? I ask because the only firmware I can see in the file is called
> > 'squeezebox.bin' ... Or should I be using a different version of the
server
> > software?
>
> That is the wrong firmware. This is the file for squeezebox. What you
are
> looking for is found in the slimp3 directory. The file is MAIN.HEX and
the tool
> for upgrading is upgrade.pl (for linux). OSX and Windows, I believe, have
an
> upgrade button in the server window. To upgrade, unplug the slimp3, then
plug
> back in while pressing and hold a button on the remote. You should then
see the
> MAC address displayed on the slimp3. You can now use upgrade.pl or the
server
> application to do your upgrade. This should be the same imstructions you
have
> seen before. This proceedure is much easier for squeezebox

Kevin Deane-Freeman
2003-12-08, 23:39
Quoting depeche <d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net>:

> So what IS the latest version of firmware for the slimp3?
>
> Andrew
> d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net
>

2.2

David Sheldon
2003-12-15, 11:40
On Sun, Dec 07, 2003 at 10:02:38PM -0800, Kevin Deane-Freeman wrote:
> That is the wrong firmware. This is the file for squeezebox. What
> you are looking for is found in the slimp3 directory. The file is
> MAIN.HEX and the tool for upgrading is upgrade.pl (for linux). OSX
> and Windows, I believe, have an upgrade button in the server window.
> To upgrade, unplug the slimp3, then plug back in while pressing and
> hold a button on the remote......

Having just got a squeezebox I upgraded my server from 3.0 to 5.0.1,
which made my Slimp3 stop responding to the remote as this poster said.
Well, now it still doesn't respond to the remote, but I get a stacktrace
as reproduced below each time I press a button on (either the old or
new) remote. I appears to play music selected from the web interface OK
though.

Is this a known problem?

David

--
Cordelia: So does looking at guns make you wanna have sex?
Xander: I'm 17. Looking at *linoleum* makes me wanna have sex.
-- "Buffy The Vampire Slayer"

David Sheldon
2003-12-15, 11:43
On Mon, Dec 15, 2003 at 06:40:16PM +0000, David Sheldon wrote:
> Well, now it still doesn't respond to the remote, but I get a stacktrace
> as reproduced below each time I press a button on (either the old or
> new) remote.

Sorry, forgot the stacktrace:


Use of uninitialized value in hash element at Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 251, <SRC> line 67320.
Use of uninitialized value in hash element at Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 251, <SRC> line 67320.
2003-12-15 18:41:13 OOPS! An error has occurred in the SlimServer which may cause
2003-12-15 18:41:13 incorrect behvior or an eventual crash. The information below
2003-12-15 18:41:13 indicates where the error occurred. For help, please contact
2003-12-15 18:41:13 support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com, and include the following error message:
2003-12-15 18:41:13 Backtrace:

frame 0: Slim::Utils::Misc::assert (Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 247)
frame 1: Slim::Hardware::IR::lookupFunction (Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 231)
frame 2: Slim::Hardware::IR::lookup (Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 416)
frame 3: Slim::Hardware::IR::releaseCode (Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 318)
frame 4: Slim::Hardware::IR::checkRelease (Slim/Utils/Timers.pm line 50)
frame 5: Slim::Utils::Timers::checkTimers (slimserver.pl line 373)
frame 6: main::idle (slimserver.pl line 342)
frame 7: main::main (slimserver.pl line 748)

Here's the problem. Slim/Hardware/IR.pm, line 247:

237
238
239 sub lookupFunction {
240 my $client = shift;
241 my $code = shift;
242 my $mode = shift;
243
244 $mode = Slim::Buttons::Common::mode($client) unless defined($mode);
245 my $map = Slim::Utils::Prefs::clientGet($client,'irmap');
246 assert($client);
247 assert($map);
248 assert($mode);
249 # assert($code); # FIXME: somhow we keep getting here with no $code.
250
251 if (defined $irMap{$map}{$mode}{$code}) {
252 $::d_ir && msg("found function " . $irMap{$map}{$mode}{$code} . " for button $code in mode $mode from map $map\n");
253 return $irMap{$map}{$mode}{$code};

David

--
Random female: "Oh my god!"
Lord Flashart: "Yes, I suppose I am."

David Sheldon
2003-12-15, 11:54
On Mon, Dec 15, 2003 at 06:43:31PM +0000, David Sheldon wrote:
> On Mon, Dec 15, 2003 at 06:40:16PM +0000, David Sheldon wrote:
> > Well, now it still doesn't respond to the remote, but I get a stacktrace
> > as reproduced below each time I press a button on (either the old or
> > new) remote.
>
> Sorry, forgot the stacktrace:

Ok, it appears I was wrong. I get the stacktrace, and it works. Hmm,
well, at least it works, though I am not impressed with syncing a
Squeezebox with a slim. 15 seconds silence from the Squeezebox when it
wraps to a new track.

David

--
"Strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a
system of government! Supreme executive power is derived by a mandate
from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony!"